Electrics Obd2 - Civinfo
 6Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 11th October 2016, 11:39 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
civic s's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 1.8 Executive
Join Date: 23rd July 2014
Location: Apeldoorn Holland NL
Posts: 161
Thanks: 49
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Obd2

Is this OBD2 module any good,i want to use it with Torque app.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg obdlink lx.jpg (6.6 KB, 46 views)
civic s is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 11th October 2016, 17:21
Supporter
 
MiguelSanchezDiMarco's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 2.2 EX NHB
Join Date: 10th June 2013
Location: Darlington GB
Posts: 168
Thanks: 6
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader: (3)
I'm not aware of that one specifically, however i have tried two completely different models with the Torque app and both worked well.

As long as it connects to your car and the Bluetooth device then you should be fine.
MiguelSanchezDiMarco is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 12th October 2016, 15:25 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
civic s's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 1.8 Executive
Join Date: 23rd July 2014
Location: Apeldoorn Holland NL
Posts: 161
Thanks: 49
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
obd2

Thank you this module has a wake up ,don't need the power on button and won't drain the battery.
civic s is offline  
 
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 13th October 2016, 00:22
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
The current draw on these is very low so it wont flatten your battery.
I kept my old unit plugged in all the time.
Grayfox is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 13th October 2016, 11:02 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
civic s's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 1.8 Executive
Join Date: 23rd July 2014
Location: Apeldoorn Holland NL
Posts: 161
Thanks: 49
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hello Grayfox after you start the car DO you have to power on the obd2 module?

Last edited by civic s; 13th October 2016 at 11:14.
civic s is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 13th October 2016, 11:09 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
civic s's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 1.8 Executive
Join Date: 23rd July 2014
Location: Apeldoorn Holland NL
Posts: 161
Thanks: 49
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
obd2 location

OBD2 location left driver center console Honda Civic FN 2006
Attached Images
File Type: jpg thumbnail_IMG_20161012_173903_resized_20161013_105521458.jpg (59.5 KB, 94 views)

Last edited by civic s; 13th October 2016 at 11:14.
civic s is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 13th October 2016, 13:03
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by civic s View Post
Hello Grayfox after you start the car DO you have to power on the obd2 module?
The module is powered 24/7 as it takes power from pin16 which is battery power.

on those cheap ELM327s I had to remove and reinsert and pair mutliple times because it was one of those cheap ones.


I currently have a icar3 Vgate(Black) and it does come in multiple colors too.
With this one I have to remove and reinsert but my phone just connects to it and it is easier to remove and reinsert whilst driving and have it connect instantly
Grayfox is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 18th October 2016, 12:22 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
civic s's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 1.8 Executive
Join Date: 23rd July 2014
Location: Apeldoorn Holland NL
Posts: 161
Thanks: 49
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Drain

Ahh this module OBDlink has drained the battery after 4 days so i wil return it.
Is it possible to buy a module what can stay in the car without draining the battery?
civic s is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 18th October 2016, 14:33
Supporter
 
cosmicma's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th August 2013
Location: bolton uk ENGLAND
Posts: 1,189
Thanks: 62
Thanked 196 Times in 186 Posts
iTrader: (4)
i use one of these with the off / on switch

ELM327 Bluetooth ODB2 OBDII Car Auto Diagnostic Scanner Scan Tool ON/OFF Switch | eBay

switching on and off isn't any trouble and it's been pretty reliable over the last couple of years since buying it
Farqui and civic s like this.
cosmicma is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 18th October 2016, 15:11
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,907
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,165 Times in 3,861 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
I also have one with an on/off switch and it stays in place powered down with no issues.

Occasionally it gets flicked on and is easily within reach.
cosmicma and civic s like this.
Farqui is offline  
post #11 of 23 (permalink) Old 19th October 2016, 12:55 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
civic s's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 1.8 Executive
Join Date: 23rd July 2014
Location: Apeldoorn Holland NL
Posts: 161
Thanks: 49
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Is it also possible to to interrupt with a switch pin 16+
Attached Images
File Type: jpg obd2.jpg (5.5 KB, 32 views)
civic s is offline  
post #12 of 23 (permalink) Old 28th October 2016, 17:51
Supporter
 
Philtor's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 Alabaster Silver
Join Date: 3rd June 2015
Location: UK GB
Posts: 223
Thanks: 24
Thanked 37 Times in 32 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Is the OBD port permanently powered then even when the ignition is off?
Philtor is offline  
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 28th October 2016, 17:56
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,907
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,165 Times in 3,861 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philtor View Post
Is the OBD port permanently powered then even when the ignition is off?
Yes
Farqui is offline  
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 28th October 2016, 18:00
Supporter
 
Philtor's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 Alabaster Silver
Join Date: 3rd June 2015
Location: UK GB
Posts: 223
Thanks: 24
Thanked 37 Times in 32 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Makes sense to have one with an on/off switch then Have ordered the one linked above to use with Torque. Just to satisfy my curiosity lol!
Farqui likes this.
Philtor is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 28th October 2016, 18:21 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
civic s's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 1.8 Executive
Join Date: 23rd July 2014
Location: Apeldoorn Holland NL
Posts: 161
Thanks: 49
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Yes it is,but now i cut the 12 volt line( pin 16) and tapped the 12 volt from the sigaret lighter ...
civic s is offline  
post #16 of 23 (permalink) Old 31st October 2016, 10:52
CTR
 
Scottie1911's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR, Milano Red
Join Date: 20th April 2015
Location: Chapelhall SCOTLAND
Posts: 538
Thanks: 44
Thanked 38 Times in 38 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
What's the best app to use with these?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Scottie1911 is offline  
post #17 of 23 (permalink) Old 31st October 2016, 11:10 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
civic s's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 1.8 Executive
Join Date: 23rd July 2014
Location: Apeldoorn Holland NL
Posts: 161
Thanks: 49
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottie1911 View Post
What's the best app to use with these?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Torque i like.
civic s is offline  
post #18 of 23 (permalink) Old 31st October 2016, 11:27
CTR
 
Scottie1911's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR, Milano Red
Join Date: 20th April 2015
Location: Chapelhall SCOTLAND
Posts: 538
Thanks: 44
Thanked 38 Times in 38 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Nice one, thanks
Scottie1911 is offline  
post #19 of 23 (permalink) Old 1st November 2016, 21:15
 
CraigW30's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2i-CTDI Sport- Silver
Join Date: 19th August 2014
Location: Dover, UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 251
Thanks: 0
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Garage
Has anyone managed to get the ELM327 bluetooth modules to pair with an iPhone?
CraigW30 is offline  
post #20 of 23 (permalink) Old 4th November 2016, 11:54
Supporter
 
Philtor's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 Alabaster Silver
Join Date: 3rd June 2015
Location: UK GB
Posts: 223
Thanks: 24
Thanked 37 Times in 32 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigW30 View Post
Has anyone managed to get the ELM327 bluetooth modules to pair with an iPhone?
The iPhone won't work over Bluetooth with an OBD reader, only Wifi so a specific adapter is needed.
Farqui likes this.
Philtor is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obd2 matty.h95 Any non Civic chat here please! 4 12th October 2015 16:41
Computer OBD2 Protocol? Tricky-Ricky Electronics (8G) 5 13th February 2013 20:27
Other obd2 markvirgo Electronics (8G) 7 22nd September 2010 16:57
Computer obd2 interface??????? nstergi Electronics (8G) 21 9th October 2006 18:25

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome