Satnav tried a new satnav now mine is messed up? - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 8th November 2009, 18:22 Thread Starter
 
sonicm's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22nd November 2006
Location: England ENGLAND
Posts: 52
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
tried a new satnav now mine is messed up?

Hi,

Don't know if anyone can help but my Civic EX is now 3 years old and my brother has just got a brand new one, looking at his SatNav he has a lot on there that i dont so asked if I could see if it worked in my car we tried it. All seems ok but when I put my old 3 year old disc back in it says something like "The firmware for this device is newer than the disc" and just sits there?

I've read here that you should be able to re-flash the old disc, anyone know how its done?

Also, anyone know if there is a place on the internet where you can see the price of newer discs as i might go for one anyway, depending on the price?

Thanks in adance
Mike
sonicm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 8th November 2009, 18:37 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
sonicm's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22nd November 2006
Location: England ENGLAND
Posts: 52
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Sorry fixed it can't workout how to delete my thread.

I forgot about the old 3-fingered menu on the SatNav select version then download... all is fine again now!

Mike
sonicm is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 8th November 2009, 18:43
Administrator
 
Dimplyred's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th August 2007
Location: Staffordshire, Cheshire & Shropshire ENGLAND
Posts: 24,216
Thanks: 229
Thanked 1,835 Times in 1,604 Posts
iTrader: (15)
Good to hear you got it sorted Mike.

I assume this is the method you used.

How to revert to a previous satnav version - Civinfo Wiki
Dimplyred is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 8th November 2009, 18:55 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
sonicm's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22nd November 2006
Location: England ENGLAND
Posts: 52
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi,

Thanks for the reply yes that was the method I used (phew!) Was trying to work out what extras (if any) he gets over me. He has a Type R with a SatNav and his comes on 2 discs over my one. Also, noticed his blue tooth phone stuff comes up on his dashboard with who's calling phone book import etc.. These options are also selectable under the "info" tab on the sat-nav. I know that it includes a firmware update but am not exactly sure what you get for your buck other than newer maps?

Thanks again
Mike
sonicm is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 10th November 2009, 15:52
 
aquascape's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th October 2009
Location: Birmingham, UK GB
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Presumably telling you who is calling etc only comes up beacuse his car is teh latest 2009 model, not because it is a newer disk? Is that correct?
aquascape is offline  
Thanks to aquascape from:
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 10th November 2009, 16:20
Supporter
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
That is correct. The 09+ cars have new hardware.
Pottsy is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 10th November 2009, 19:13 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
sonicm's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22nd November 2006
Location: England ENGLAND
Posts: 52
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Yeah thanks, in the end I emailed Honda and they confirmed that the newer sat nav discs just update the software and maps for the satnav nothing else. Shame as it's sooo much nicer to see whos calling when the phone rings
sonicm is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 11th November 2009, 01:01
Supporter
 
Join Date: 27th October 2009
Location: leicester, uk GB
Posts: 762
Thanks: 6
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
iTrader: (1)
can you upgrade the pre 09 honda with a sat nav unit from a 09 one? and have all the new features?
or is there anyway of getting the number of whos calling you with a Dension gateway or other device
rborhara is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's mine! Mine, I tells ya! NickW Introduce yourself 23 4th May 2009 15:22
R-Red Mine lxf2442 Gallery (8G) 4 5th May 2008 20:36
R-Black Mine all mine R-2 Gallery (8G) 55 10th December 2007 14:34
My car I got mine! funkyfraz Buying, Dealers and Servicing 2 15th January 2007 14:33
Was it mine? Maldax General Discussion (8G) 0 1st September 2006 11:51

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome