Electrics Need help with electronics problem! Car cutting out! - Civinfo
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Jamesoxborrow
  • 1 Post By cooke
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 13th December 2016, 18:46 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
cooke's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR, Silver
Join Date: 1st December 2015
Location: Northern Ireland NORTHIRELAND
Posts: 54
Thanks: 24
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Unhappy Need help with electronics problem! Car cutting out!

My FN2 is on the wobbly at the moment.
The other day in a queue of traffic the car cut out on me and even the hazard lights wouldn't come on! After 15-30 seconds the car "woke up" again and started when I pressed the ignition. On the same evening the VSA came on and wouldn't go off and the car was almost cutting out again, lights where dimming...

Today I had the same issue. Went to park in my space at work and the lights dimmed and it almost felt like the steering lock clicked on for a split second.


I recently replaced my OEM battery for a Halfords one. I suspected this was the issue but I have taken it out since and checked all the connections which seem fine.
I also have an amp in the boot.

Having looked through some threads I am suspicious that it could be a grounding or earthing problem but perhaps some of you guys have experienced this or have an idea?
cooke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 13th December 2016, 20:39
Supporter
 
Jamesoxborrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th April 2016
Location: Weymouth, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 903
Thanks: 7
Thanked 104 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Whilst u were at halfords, did they do a proper check of the alternator??

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Jamesoxborrow is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 13th December 2016, 20:48
 
Join Date: 29th March 2016
Location: Netherlands NL
Posts: 12
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
It's easy and quick to just check all the ground cables and see if they have no corrosion etc. Also check if the battery is connected properly with no corrosion or anything between the battery and the cable connection.
Hellsau is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 13th December 2016, 20:49 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
cooke's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR, Silver
Join Date: 1st December 2015
Location: Northern Ireland NORTHIRELAND
Posts: 54
Thanks: 24
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
James, No I didn't but I will stop at halfords tomorrow afternoon and get them to check that too.

I went out this evening and sanded down the grounding point on the chassis to the bare metal and cleaned up the connector.
Will go on a test run shortly.
cooke is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 13th December 2016, 21:06
Supporter
 
Jamesoxborrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th April 2016
Location: Weymouth, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 903
Thanks: 7
Thanked 104 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I had a simular problem with my 2.2 cdti, after getting the alternator checked, I brought a 12 inch long extra earth/negative cable which halfords sold and put a second earth to the chassis from the negative battery terminal, no problems since.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
scaramanga likes this.
Jamesoxborrow is offline  
Thanks to Jamesoxborrow from:
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 13th December 2016, 21:10 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
cooke's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR, Silver
Join Date: 1st December 2015
Location: Northern Ireland NORTHIRELAND
Posts: 54
Thanks: 24
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hopefully this is all it is and it will be an easy fix.
Didn't have any of these problems before I replaced the battery.
I guess the amp could be drawing a lot of power along with fans blowing, wipers going etc.

Thanks for your info bud much appreciated.
cooke is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 15th December 2016, 22:11 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
cooke's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR, Silver
Join Date: 1st December 2015
Location: Northern Ireland NORTHIRELAND
Posts: 54
Thanks: 24
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
An update gents.

Car was still having problems this morning. Limped it to Halfrauds tonight and they done a test and it was only 150 Amps (supposed to be 380 Amps)
Maybe sat on the shelf for a while who knows...

They instantly replaced it and I decided to go for the Yuasa for the extra 20.
Hopefully this should see the end of my problems.
Farqui likes this.
cooke is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Tags
battery , cut out , failure , lights , type r

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Massive shout out for Impulse Car Electronics! TH3DOCTOR General Discussion (8G) 53 4th July 2013 12:25
Handy car electronics :D Unknownsoldier Any non Civic chat here please! 0 9th August 2009 17:15

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome