Mounts Small LCD..where to install? - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 31st January 2007, 12:28 Thread Starter
 
Jani's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th October 2006
Location: Finland FI
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Small LCD..where to install?

Has anyone installed 7" lcd somewhere in 5D Civic? Any ideas where should it be placed and how? I was wondering the small box in front of the gearstick....what do you think?
Jani is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 31st January 2007, 14:16
Super Moderator
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
7" by ??" ?

I guessing this is for DVD playback?

No idea on the laws over there, but over here it can mean big trouble if the driver can see the screen whilst driving...
TTDegs is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 31st January 2007, 18:42
King of the rodeo
 
czechplastik's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th October 2006
Location: Belfast IE
Posts: 4,824
Thanks: 5
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to czechplastik
Risky ground there. By small box do you mean the silver lidded one in the dash? Surely anyones view (in the rear at least) would be obscured by the gear stick?
czechplastik is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 4th March 2007, 17:06 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Jani's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th October 2006
Location: Finland FI
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Yep..

Quote:
Originally Posted by czechplastik View Post
Risky ground there. By small box do you mean the silver lidded one in the dash? Surely anyones view (in the rear at least) would be obscured by the gear stick?
That's what I have been thinking..,but like you said..it's really not the gratest place to install lcd. I bought 7" lcd allready..the mounting clip is huge. So only way to install it is to put it in front of the time/radio-screen. What do you say about that?
Jani is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 4th March 2007, 17:18
King of the rodeo
 
czechplastik's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th October 2006
Location: Belfast IE
Posts: 4,824
Thanks: 5
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to czechplastik
Problem with that then is that you won't be able to see the time or Radio stations. To be honest though I can't really think of anywhere you could put it
czechplastik is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 4th March 2007, 17:46 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Jani's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th October 2006
Location: Finland FI
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
...it might be....

You might be right. There is no place to install without having some kind of negative side. If I install it in front of the time/radio-screen... it just won't work. If I install it behind the gearstick..yep..what the hell. It won't work either. I still got few ideas..
1. Brodit makes these kind of clips.. http://www.brodit.com/productinforma...sortiment=null and http://www.brodit.com/productinforma...sortiment=null
First one could be solution. I red somewhere here (civinfo forum) that centre vents do not blow hot air..just cold.. so it is good for the electronics inside the lcd, I think.
2. Second idea is to buy lcd back view mirror. Size is something like 6". Any experiences or thoughts?

Last edited by Jani; 4th March 2007 at 21:12.
Jani is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 5th March 2007, 18:24
 
Join Date: 15th December 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I have bought a 7" rearview mirror monitor with clip on system, but it shakes al lot even with the engine on and the car not running
I don't like vibrating images!
I'm searching other solutions.
14idsi is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 5th March 2007, 19:39 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Jani's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th October 2006
Location: Finland FI
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 14idsi View Post
I have bought a 7" rearview mirror monitor with clip on system, but it shakes al lot even with the engine on and the car not running
I don't like vibrating images!
I'm searching other solutions.
Where did you attach this clip-on system in car?
Jani is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 5th March 2007, 19:59
 
klaasbakker99's Avatar
 
Join Date: 6th February 2007
Location: netherlands
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
jani,

Maybe this http://www.kuda-phonebase.de/start.php?id=2 is better then a brodit, it is placed above the vent and looks better.
I heard that you can make a little hole in it for the cables so you can put them inside the dash
klaasbakker99 is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 5th March 2007, 20:08
Administrator
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Location: noitacoL
Posts: 3,005
Thanks: 3
Thanked 178 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via MSN to basegreen
The center vents do blow hot air
basegreen is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 5th March 2007, 20:29 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Jani's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th October 2006
Location: Finland FI
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Thanks for the links klaasbakker99. Never heard Kuda before, and I checked prize for that center mount..it costs 47 euro here in Finland. Quite an expensive piece of plastic. I didn't found picture how is it attached in the console, and I am wondering is it just some kind of normal clip that can be found somewhere at half prize. Brodit's clip costs 25 euro, so that's not also the worlds cheapest clip.
An for the Basegreen comment about the hot air coming from the center vent I tested it too, but I didn't get really hot air..but it was warm though. Then it's propably not good idea to go for brodit, because most of the lcd-panel will be in front of the vent. Kuda might be good...but still wondering the clip mecanism and etc.
Jani is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 5th March 2007, 20:46
 
klaasbakker99's Avatar
 
Join Date: 6th February 2007
Location: netherlands
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Jani,

Kuda is high quality and can be placed easily, you can get it in real teather too, brodit is pushed into the dash plastic and getting it out of its form.
When you remove the kuda you never see that it was there, I do not know why it is so expensive at your place, here it costs 36 euro.
Maybe you can find it on ebay.
klaasbakker99 is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 5th March 2007, 21:29 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Jani's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th October 2006
Location: Finland FI
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by klaasbakker99 View Post
Jani,

Kuda is high quality and can be placed easily, you can get it in real teather too, brodit is pushed into the dash plastic and getting it out of its form.
When you remove the kuda you never see that it was there, I do not know why it is so expensive at your place, here it costs 36 euro.
Maybe you can find it on ebay.
..Or maybe someone can send me one

Well, got to think about this. Everything else is ready to be installed, but only the clip is missing. Well anyways..I have to wait couple of days until I get it, I mean if I order it somewhere. This is quite ****** place this Finland. Last time I ordered brodit mobilephoneclip it had to be ordered from Sweden (our neighbour) because there is only two places to buy Brodit in Finland...and of course they aren't keeping that kind of stuff in their shops. So it takes one week...
After all I might be the only person in our sweet country who uses brodit in civic. Well that is something to be proud of!!

Well..I should go to sleep now.. it's allready 10.30pm
Jani is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 6th March 2007, 12:02
 
Join Date: 15th December 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jani View Post
Where did you attach this clip-on system in car?
I put it on the existing rear view mirror.
14idsi is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Went to the zoo last week and there was only one small dog.. Maldax Any non Civic chat here please! 2 6th September 2007 20:28
Technical Wiring a Amp & Small sub Typerkid Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 3 3rd February 2007 01:55
Ok its a moan (but a small one) Topcat General Discussion (8G) 3 2nd February 2007 19:06
Hi! ..... and a small question Trekker308 Buying, Dealers and Servicing 2 29th July 2006 14:20

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome