Electrics satnav stereo to double din android stereo - Civinfo
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By jameslro
  • 2 Post By Jamesoxborrow
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 15th January 2017, 14:43 Thread Starter
 
jameslro's Avatar
 
Car: 07 22ictdi Type s gt Sat/Nav
Join Date: 12th April 2011
Location: valletta, malta MT
Posts: 304
Thanks: 137
Thanked 27 Times in 21 Posts
iTrader: (0)
satnav stereo to double din android stereo

Hi I installed a double din android stereo in a satnav using the connects2 harness. It all works fine including the steering controls. The only thing is the clock temperature display it came all scrambeled, any lead on how to fix it or what to search please. regards James
jameslro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 15th January 2017, 14:50
Supporter
 
ante00's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Sport MT (Vivid)
Join Date: 18th April 2007
Location: Zagreb, Croatia HR
Posts: 1,467
Thanks: 76
Thanked 140 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Eco display
Send a message via MSN to ante00
Think no mate. Satnav clock dispaly is different from non satnav (different chip) only thing maybe sorce 2nd hand non satnav display
ante00 is offline  
Thanks to ante00 from:
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 15th January 2017, 15:30
Supporter
 
Jamesoxborrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th April 2016
Location: Weymouth, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 903
Thanks: 7
Thanked 104 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ante00 View Post
Think no mate. Satnav clock dispaly is different from non satnav (different chip) only thing maybe sorce 2nd hand non satnav display
I'm afraid even this won't work. I don't believe there is any way to get the sat nav spec clock screen working now that u have removed the sat nav. Even putting in a non sat nav spec screen would involve removing your entire dash, hours of wire finding and soldering then probably would end up throwing the steerwheel controls out in the process anyway. Your best bet would be to try and either disable it altogether so u don't have the flickering or stick a nice photo of your family over it instead

Sadly yr not the first person to have this unsolvable problem and won't be the last. There are many threads on this forum exactly the same.

Sorry bud.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Jamesoxborrow is offline  
Thanks to Jamesoxborrow from:
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 15th January 2017, 16:59
Supporter
 
ante00's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Sport MT (Vivid)
Join Date: 18th April 2007
Location: Zagreb, Croatia HR
Posts: 1,467
Thanks: 76
Thanked 140 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Eco display
Send a message via MSN to ante00
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamesoxborrow View Post
I'm afraid even this won't work. I don't believe there is any way to get the sat nav spec clock screen working now that u have removed the sat nav. Even putting in a non sat nav spec screen would involve removing your entire dash, hours of wire finding and soldering then probably would end up throwing the steerwheel controls out in the process anyway. Your best bet would be to try and either disable it altogether so u don't have the flickering or stick a nice photo of your family over it instead

Sadly yr not the first person to have this unsolvable problem and won't be the last. There are many threads on this forum exactly the same.

Sorry bud.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Satnav one won't work without satnav hu. Are you sure mate about non satnav? Dash doesn't need to come out if needs rewiring; only HU, display and speedo.

Last edited by ante00; 15th January 2017 at 17:14.
ante00 is offline  
Thanks to ante00 from:
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 15th January 2017, 17:46
Supporter
 
Jamesoxborrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th April 2016
Location: Weymouth, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 903
Thanks: 7
Thanked 104 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (0)
U may be absolutely right there mate, it was just my understanding that accessing the speedo and display involves taking everything else out aswell. Plus as I have learnt to my own cost, he will need to get the wirring perfect first time as the black connects box which is the analogue/digital converter is massively sensitive to incorrect fitting and would need to be replaced. There is little room for good old fashioned trial and error unfortunately.

Fingers crossed your right, I'm guessing it would be quite a job and I'm not sure of many others around who have done this successfully yet.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Jamesoxborrow is offline  
Thanks to Jamesoxborrow from:
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 16th January 2017, 01:56 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
jameslro's Avatar
 
Car: 07 22ictdi Type s gt Sat/Nav
Join Date: 12th April 2011
Location: valletta, malta MT
Posts: 304
Thanks: 137
Thanked 27 Times in 21 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamesoxborrow View Post
U may be absolutely right there mate, it was just my understanding that accessing the speedo and display involves taking everything else out aswell. Plus as I have learnt to my own cost, he will need to get the wirring perfect first time as the black connects box which is the analogue/digital converter is massively sensitive to incorrect fitting and would need to be replaced. There is little room for good old fashioned trial and error unfortunately.

Fingers crossed your right, I'm guessing it would be quite a job and I'm not sure of many others around who have done this successfully yet.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
I figured out how to make averything work including steering wheel controls, factory satnav with all its display features and climate on screen but the only thing is the small display there I just need the time and climate temp or at least the temp. Haven`t got time at the moment due work but I tried a bit to find the problem and it goes to the green plugs when I disconnect the big green plug the display stops working and everything else works fine.
ante00 likes this.
jameslro is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 16th January 2017, 03:04
Supporter
 
Jamesoxborrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th April 2016
Location: Weymouth, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 903
Thanks: 7
Thanked 104 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Buddy if u do find a way to do it, make a little 'how to' thread with some pictures, many folks on here would be very grateful. Fair play to u

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
ante00 and jameslro like this.
Jamesoxborrow is offline  
Thanks to Jamesoxborrow from:
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 21st January 2017, 22:28
more torque than the mrs
 
deni.babe's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 type s gt blusilver
Join Date: 7th February 2010
Location: west midlands GB
Posts: 6,606
Thanks: 1,325
Thanked 1,803 Times in 1,572 Posts
iTrader: (22)
Garage
found this info! The screens on the non sat nav models are wider with more areas to display information. The screens on the satnav model are only designed for basic information so is missing the extra areas of display so what you have is the display merging the information as there is no room for it . I don't think this is a faulty display. Its just not designed for this purpose.

i'd try and find a non satnav screen and see what happens, i'm sure someone done this a few years back on here i can't find it..

Last edited by deni.babe; 21st January 2017 at 22:30.
deni.babe is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head Unit Double Din Stereo Gourmetgaz Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 5 4th May 2015 18:36
Head Unit which double din stereo gazrobbo Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 0 4th April 2011 15:36
Double Din Satnav/Stereo info Pingu Honda CR-V 8 20th May 2009 17:22

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome