Satnav Sat nav screen swap - Civinfo
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By Jay_civic
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 29th January 2017, 21:45 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 27th March 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Sat nav screen swap

Hi all,

Got a none sat nav mk8 civic, been reading up about swapping the system out to the sat nav version. Now i understand that it is a full loom swap and such, im not actually bothered about the satnav what i want is a working screen in the dashboard.

So, my question is, can i swap the standard stereo to the sat nav stereo and the heater/radio screen to the sat nav version?

I know the standard stereo does not work with the sat nav screen version and i dont want a double din screen stereo. I want a stealthy screen for a project and want to keep the radio functions working and standard.

Hope thats enough info, thanks!
Jay_civic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 29th January 2017, 21:56
Supporter
 
Jamesoxborrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th April 2016
Location: Weymouth, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 903
Thanks: 7
Thanked 104 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (0)
You can, it's a ball ache but yes. In fact I think someone opened up a thread today where they have just ripped the sat nav, loom and head unit out of theirs. Snap it up quick mate as this is the first time I've ever seen someone with the whole kit ready in one package.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Jamesoxborrow is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 29th January 2017, 22:16 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 27th March 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
sorry, i think i should of explained what i hoped to do.

I was hoping to buy the sat nav radio and the sat nav screen/heater screen combo and just plug them both in, in place of mine, would this work? are the plugs the same? without messing with the loom.

I read somewhere that just replacing the stereo with the sat nav version will cause the radio display to display garbage as its a smaller screen.

I basically want a working stereo and screen, with a blank sat nav screen i can use for something else
Jay_civic is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 29th January 2017, 22:17 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 27th March 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
ive pulled the stereo before, its easy, as is the screen by the way
Jay_civic is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 29th January 2017, 22:23
Supporter
 
Jamesoxborrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th April 2016
Location: Weymouth, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 903
Thanks: 7
Thanked 104 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Sorry now I see what u mean. No I don't think it's that easy without the loom as the output from the sat nav unit incorporates the sat nav screen, not the standard clock/heater screen.

Yes pulling it all out is easy, but you need a specific loom as the non sat nav civics don't have the correct wirring to link the new screen u would need to put in the dash in order to see the actual sat nav display.

Yes the process of putting sat nav head unit and display into a civic which does not have it is possible, but it's not an easy job and the wirring is the main difficulty.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Last edited by Jamesoxborrow; 29th January 2017 at 22:25.
Jamesoxborrow is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 29th January 2017, 22:26
Supporter
 
ante00's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Sport MT (Vivid)
Join Date: 18th April 2007
Location: Zagreb, Croatia HR
Posts: 1,467
Thanks: 76
Thanked 140 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Eco display
Send a message via MSN to ante00
I opened thread to see if there is any intereset. Loom is same for audio part and clima control on display; addition is navigation screen and dash is bit diffrenet on satnav car. Hole for display is deeper so not sure if it will fit without any cutting on nonsat nav car. I Know you can swap from satnav to non satnav without any problem. Dvd unit in glovebox controls satnav screen. Hope this helps
ante00 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 29th January 2017, 22:35 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 27th March 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
ah i might of misread but lets ignore the sat nav screen, the actual screen itself. id imagine there are 2 plugs, one for sat nav display and one for radio? im not fussed about the wiring for the sat nav display, just the radio. would my loom plug into this radio display? i kinda believe it would since people have said that garbage is displayed on the screen from a none sat mav head unit.

so, if i replace my head unit with a sat nav headunit then the new sat nav radio screen should display ok? again, the satnav screen can have no loom, i just want it as project screen

hope this make sense.
Jay_civic is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 29th January 2017, 22:36 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 27th March 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
yes that was what i was after! thanks ante00

so replace stanrdard headunit with sta nav one and standard radio screen with sat nav one and my radio and heater controls will work fine.

Then i will have a blank screen i can play with seperately

Last edited by Jay_civic; 29th January 2017 at 22:39.
Jay_civic is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 29th January 2017, 22:42
Supporter
 
ante00's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Sport MT (Vivid)
Join Date: 18th April 2007
Location: Zagreb, Croatia HR
Posts: 1,467
Thanks: 76
Thanked 140 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Eco display
Send a message via MSN to ante00
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay_civic View Post
yes that was what i was after! thanks ante00

so replace stanrdard headunit with sta nav one and standard radio screen with sat nav one and my radio and heater controls will work fine.

Then i will have a blank screen i can play with seperately
In fact yes. You can see in wiki, diy section what is what on satnav and audio. I have all except dvd unit for screen. Also have dash from satnav car.
ante00 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 29th January 2017, 22:49 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 27th March 2016
Location: Stoke-on-Trent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Top man, ill check out the wiki
ante00 and Jamesoxborrow like this.
Jay_civic is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 30th January 2017, 17:36
Supporter
 
ante00's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Sport MT (Vivid)
Join Date: 18th April 2007
Location: Zagreb, Croatia HR
Posts: 1,467
Thanks: 76
Thanked 140 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Eco display
Send a message via MSN to ante00
Just to say dash is same on satnav and non satnav car (hole is same for display) only plastic bit is different which is in front of display
ante00 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satnav sat nav screen creambun2006 Electronics (8G) 6 11th July 2015 00:33
Satnav Using built in sat nav screen for something else?.. Rich__88 Electronics (8G) 9 6th April 2012 15:04
Technical Honda Sat Nav screen parsco Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 3 2nd December 2011 21:59
Satnav Sat Nav disclaimer screen johnbrennan Electronics (8G) 2 12th January 2011 20:47
Sat Nav Screen Brightness Mario Claeys Wiki Article Discussion 3 8th October 2009 07:52

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome