Electrics What's happening with my dash display? - Civinfo
 6Likes
  • 1 Post By GT3
  • 2 Post By Farqui
  • 1 Post By sakib
  • 1 Post By GT3
  • 1 Post By kevven
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 17th February 2017, 23:13 Thread Starter
GT3
Supporter
 
GT3's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th November 2014
Location: Crewe ENGLAND
Posts: 38
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
What's happening with my dash display?

Hi all,

Whilst driving last night my dash display started to look like this, with every function lit up...



Shortly after, the radio cut out. It then switched back on around 20 seconds later, then cut out again. This cycle repeated a few times until the radio finally stayed on for the rest of the journey.

Any ideas what the problem is?
slavislav likes this.
GT3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 17th February 2017, 23:26
Supporter
 
p7jox's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 type s
Join Date: 24th December 2016
Location: west midlands
Posts: 136
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader: (2)
hi there sounds like it could be a voltage problem in the electrical system
check the alternator output is within limits between 13to 14 volts at battery with engine running
it might be worth disconnecting the battery for 10 mins and see if it resets itself
p7jox is offline  
Thanks to p7jox from:
GT3
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 17th February 2017, 23:47
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,910
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,165 Times in 3,861 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Oh, this has been reported in numerous threads before. This one even has a fix http://www.civinfo.com/forum/how/313...pop-sound.html
Farqui is offline  
Thanks to Farqui from:
GT3
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 18th February 2017, 01:08
 
sakib's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 CTR bronze/black
Join Date: 23rd June 2016
Location: Haslingden, UK GB
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to sakib
You could try the display test technique? car off, switch to 1st stage ignition, press and hold down number 1 & 6 in the cd player buttons, then press the power on/off button at then let go of all three at the same time. / To turn off display check simply push the off button. Sometimes holding 1 & 6 then tapping the on/off button twice also works. Give it a go. It might trip it back to normal again. If I'm right 1&3 is for speaker check diagnostics but 1&6 is fro the full display check. If that doesn't work then disconnect the neg battery for 10 mins then reconnect. Clock and dash brightness will reset. Hope the 1&6& on/off button technique works for you.
Jamesoxborrow likes this.
sakib is offline  
Thanks to sakib from:
GT3
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 18th February 2017, 01:16 Thread Starter
GT3
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
GT3's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th November 2014
Location: Crewe ENGLAND
Posts: 38
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks for that link Farqui. Sounds exactly like the issue, but the repair seems a little beyond my electrical skill!

Problem is intermittent, screen was fine again today with a black background - I'll give the resetting procedure a go!
Farqui likes this.
GT3 is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 19th February 2017, 08:53
Supporter
 
ante00's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Sport MT (Vivid)
Join Date: 18th April 2007
Location: Zagreb, Croatia HR
Posts: 1,467
Thanks: 76
Thanked 140 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Eco display
Send a message via MSN to ante00
Quote:
Originally Posted by GT3 View Post
Thanks for that link Farqui. Sounds exactly like the issue, but the repair seems a little beyond my electrical skill!

Problem is intermittent, screen was fine again today with a black background - I'll give the resetting procedure a go!
I might help with repair mate if your interested. I have one refurbished unit.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
ante00 is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 20th February 2017, 10:42
 
civlove's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th February 2017
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GT3 View Post
Hi all,

Whilst driving last night my dash display started to look like this, with every function lit up...



Shortly after, the radio cut out. It then switched back on around 20 seconds later, then cut out again. This cycle repeated a few times until the radio finally stayed on for the rest of the journey.

Any ideas what the problem is?
Mine does this all the time. I have an EX so I have the sat nav and what not. Only really seems to "pop" I call it when I am doing journeys for longer than an hour and a half, so It's not really a massive deal until I'm on the motorway blasting my tunes and suddenly all I can hear is my own God awful singing 😂 been meaning to get it fixed but worried it will be a pain to fix (and I'm tight!)

Sent from my SM-A310F using Tapatalk
civlove is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 20th February 2017, 17:16
 
Car: 2008 CTR, Milano Red.
Join Date: 10th January 2015
Location: Norway NO
Posts: 302
Thanks: 67
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: (1)
this was my excuse for finally upgrading to a double din unit. the original head unit is overheating and messes up the signal to the display. my oem radio was going on and off at its own will before I took the plunge and ripped it out!

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Jamesoxborrow likes this.
kevven is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 20th February 2017, 21:39
Guest
 
Car: 2007 2.2 diesel SE 5 door
Join Date: 15th February 2017
Location: Norfolk ENGLAND
Posts: 31
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevven View Post
this was my excuse for finally upgrading to a double din unit. the original head unit is overheating and messes up the signal to the display. my oem radio was going on and off at its own will before I took the plunge and ripped it out!

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
What double din unit did you install?
184209 is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 20th February 2017, 21:43
 
Car: 2008 CTR, Milano Red.
Join Date: 10th January 2015
Location: Norway NO
Posts: 302
Thanks: 67
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by burchy182 View Post
What double din unit did you install?
http://www.pioneer-car.eu/uk/products/avh-x3800dab

I got this. happy with it, but I wish it was a bit "snappier" going through the menu's. the audio quality is good though, and a massive improvement over the oem radio

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
kevven is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 20th February 2017, 22:22
Guest
 
Car: 2007 2.2 diesel SE 5 door
Join Date: 15th February 2017
Location: Norfolk ENGLAND
Posts: 31
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevven View Post
AVH-X3800DAB | Pioneer

I got this. happy with it, but I wish it was a bit "snappier" going through the menu's. the audio quality is good though, and a massive improvement over the oem radio

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Was it an easy install and does it look ok? I'm gonna be looking at a double din shortly but unsure which to go for 😔
184209 is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 20th February 2017, 22:30
 
Car: 2008 CTR, Milano Red.
Join Date: 10th January 2015
Location: Norway NO
Posts: 302
Thanks: 67
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by burchy182 View Post
Was it an easy install and does it look ok? I'm gonna be looking at a double din shortly but unsure which to go for 😔
if you do a bit of read up before you start, it's an easy enough job. couple of hours of work I recon. you'll find some good how to guides if you search It looks really good you'll see pictures in the how to's mate!

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
kevven is offline  
Thanks to kevven from:
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 20th February 2017, 23:40
Guest
 
Car: 2007 2.2 diesel SE 5 door
Join Date: 15th February 2017
Location: Norfolk ENGLAND
Posts: 31
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
I'll have a look for the how to. Be nice to see what it would look like
184209 is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 22nd February 2017, 16:26
 
Friddy82's Avatar
 
Car: Bronze Type R GT
Join Date: 28th October 2016
Location: LCFC ENGLAND
Posts: 102
Thanks: 37
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Garage
I've had the same problem recently but the sound has been fine. I have the Sat nav version which I take it will cost more to replace because of the nav screen. I don't want to change the head unit to an aftermarket one as I like it all as it is.

Sent from my HTC One_** using Tapatalk
Friddy82 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrics mad dash display man shed Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 9 14th November 2013 20:55
Speedo Dash info display? AM1NUL Electronics (8G) 11 14th April 2013 17:32
Electrics where did my dash display go phil99 Electronics (8G) 6 1st June 2010 14:27
Electrics No Dash Display !!! levitronix Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 14 10th July 2008 17:28
Visibility dash/display THX1138 Type-R 7 18th April 2007 10:42

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome