Other Speaker Options.??? - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 5th February 2010, 13:25 Thread Starter
 
ian 182's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd February 2010
Location: telford,shropshire SCOTLAND
Posts: 308
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Speaker Options.???

What are the speakers like in the type-r.?
Was just wondering as i do like my music.Has anyone upgrgraded theres.
When i get mine i will be considering changing the speakers for direct replacement/component ones.I dont want to rip the car appart,just enhance whats already there and maybe a small amp under my seat...
Also just realised this is in the wrong place.Sorry

What are your opinions?

Cheers

ian

Last edited by ian 182; 5th February 2010 at 13:26. Reason: I am inept...
ian 182 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 5th February 2010, 13:37
BoInG BoInG
 
Luke_WBA's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 Milano CTR GT
Join Date: 3rd October 2009
Location: Birmingham, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,370
Thanks: 168
Thanked 92 Times in 92 Posts
iTrader: (9)
To be 100% honest, i dont think the speakers in the type r are that good. If you want any "bass" get a sub / amp or what ever. I dont generally blast my music, so i just make do. But that was one thing that surprised me with this car was that the speakers in my fiesta were better then in the type r. But hey, thats just my opinion, im sure someone out there will say the exact opposite.
Luke_WBA is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 5th February 2010, 13:50
ON A STEEL WOK I FRY
 
Kimotherapy's Avatar
 
Car: S2000
Join Date: 23rd May 2009
Location: Ho Chi Minh VN
Posts: 2,460
Thanks: 187
Thanked 302 Times in 277 Posts
iTrader: (2)
They are pitiful, truth be told. The magnets are weasly and the range is poor.

I would strongly advise that IF you do upgrade the speakers - also consider upgrading the head unit, you will not see a great difference if you upgrade the speakers alone.
Kimotherapy is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 5th February 2010, 20:30 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
ian 182's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd February 2010
Location: telford,shropshire SCOTLAND
Posts: 308
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
How do you change the head unit on a new shape type-r,i thought they were all built in.
ian 182 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 5th February 2010, 20:46
Supporter
 
rawwu's Avatar
 
Car: Civic Type-Red
Join Date: 25th July 2009
Location: behind a barn FI
Posts: 136
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ian 182 View Post
How do you change the head unit on a new shape type-r,i thought they were all built in.
Changing the head unit - Civinfo Wiki

and for more use "search"
rawwu is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 5th February 2010, 21:02
Aye Aye....
 
DPG87's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 CTR, Milano
Join Date: 1st July 2009
Location: Glasgow SCOTLAND
Posts: 7,098
Thanks: 740
Thanked 1,210 Times in 1,056 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Yeh the speakers are poor mate my wee corsa had better speakers than the ctr
DPG87 is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 5th February 2010, 23:04
 
mbase's Avatar
 
Car: M200
Join Date: 10th August 2007
Location: bristol ENGLAND
Posts: 332
Thanks: 0
Thanked 42 Times in 36 Posts
iTrader: (1)
the speakers are crap,this is what i did in mine i changed the speakers in the front for focal 165a1s kept speakers in back put a jl audio 12" sub and jl audio g2250 amp in the boot kept original head unit had the front doors dynamated,
this combination sounds superb all this cost me £420,when i had it fitted last year.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 006.jpg (3.7 KB, 199 views)
File Type: jpg 007.jpg (3.2 KB, 197 views)
mbase is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 6th February 2010, 19:32 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
ian 182's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd February 2010
Location: telford,shropshire SCOTLAND
Posts: 308
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rawwu View Post
Changing the head unit - Civinfo Wiki

and for more use "search"
Holy mother of god.Theres nothing left of the car in the one picture.

I would struggle wiring a plug to be honest...lol
ian 182 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 6th February 2010, 20:36
Supporter
 
Terry H's Avatar
 
Join Date: 20th September 2008
Location: UK Cleveland ENGLAND
Posts: 2,301
Thanks: 129
Thanked 107 Times in 91 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Does anyone do a drive in drive out service changing the standard head unit to the double din type ??
Terry H is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 6th February 2010, 21:00
Supporter
 
MattJ10's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR, BLACK
Join Date: 6th September 2008
Location: Bournemouth ENGLAND
Posts: 273
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbase View Post
the speakers are crap,this is what i did in mine i changed the speakers in the front for focal 165a1s kept speakers in back put a jl audio 12" sub and jl audio g2250 amp in the boot kept original head unit had the front doors dynamated,
this combination sounds superb all this cost me £420,when i had it fitted last year.
Did you get this installed in Bristol or was it a DIY job???

Is it easy enough to wire an amp to the headunit???
MattJ10 is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 7th February 2010, 00:47
Supporter
 
scofair1968's Avatar
 
Car: 10 Plate Focus RS
Join Date: 17th December 2009
Location: Poulton-le-Fylde, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,236
Thanks: 9
Thanked 100 Times in 98 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Dynamated???
scofair1968 is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 7th February 2010, 01:11
 
doofus4000's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th August 2008
Location: Down GB
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 27
Thanked 81 Times in 81 Posts
iTrader: (3)
sound proofing material mate - google it and you will see
doofus4000 is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 7th February 2010, 18:27
 
mbase's Avatar
 
Car: M200
Join Date: 10th August 2007
Location: bristol ENGLAND
Posts: 332
Thanks: 0
Thanked 42 Times in 36 Posts
iTrader: (1)
the install was by western car radio in bristol they done a great job.
mbase is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Options Which Options? rgreening Buying, Dealers and Servicing 24 19th June 2008 17:09
Options Options Kremmen Buying, Dealers and Servicing 6 8th March 2008 12:37
Options What options? FWH Buying, Dealers and Servicing 18 9th June 2007 20:23
Options What options? smb09_1999 Buying, Dealers and Servicing 2 2nd March 2007 15:07
2.2 EX options dondon Introduce yourself 13 21st February 2007 02:36

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome