Electrics Radio/Aircon Display problem - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 4th May 2010, 11:49 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 9th February 2009
Location: Athens GR
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Radio/Aircon Display problem

Hello,
Last six months I'm facing a problem with my Radio/Aircon display. Some times I can't read nothing on it because everything is on. I saw that the problem is frecuently when the weather is cold
We change the display in warranty but the problem remains.
At the photo you can see the problem, the radio and the aircon is off!!!!!!!!!!!!
Had anyone the same problem?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC01455.jpg (37.8 KB, 690 views)
pkef is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 13th May 2010, 20:27 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 9th February 2009
Location: Athens GR
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
No one?
pkef is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 13th May 2010, 20:37
Administrator
 
Dimplyred's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th August 2007
Location: Staffordshire, Cheshire & Shropshire ENGLAND
Posts: 24,216
Thanks: 229
Thanked 1,835 Times in 1,604 Posts
iTrader: (15)
I've not read of anyone having the same fault with their Civic.

Good luck getting it sorted.
Dimplyred is offline  
 
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 13th May 2010, 21:08
Unofficial Trader
 
dablink's Avatar
 
Car: CRV Urban Titanium
Join Date: 7th August 2009
Location: London, UK GB
Posts: 1,295
Thanks: 207
Thanked 163 Times in 153 Posts
iTrader: (13)
when display screen goes wrong (like yours) with all the lights coming on then there is a bridge somewhere in the circuit......(try this if you can.....press down one or more buttons on your dvd set or radio set at home and all the lights would come on). Honestly its gonna be a hard job to get this done.....
dablink is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 13th May 2010, 22:27 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 9th February 2009
Location: Athens GR
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dablink View Post
when display screen goes wrong (like yours) with all the lights coming on then there is a bridge somewhere in the circuit......(try this if you can.....press down one or more buttons on your dvd set or radio set at home and all the lights would come on). Honestly its gonna be a hard job to get this done.....
This is not good, I must check all the cables under the radio....
pkef is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 7th November 2010, 20:50
Supporter
 
calvin23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 31st August 2010
Location: Bolton GB
Posts: 317
Thanks: 3
Thanked 31 Times in 31 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I have the same problem, is there a solution?
calvin23 is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 7th November 2010, 22:58 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 9th February 2009
Location: Athens GR
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
We didn't find something, they change the display in warranty but the problem remains.
Probably it's a "Ground" problem because I have some problems with radio when the weather is rainy and there are many thunders. The radio changes the radio stations or goes on-off itself!!!! (With a loud sound)

Last edited by pkef; 7th November 2010 at 23:01.
pkef is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 8th November 2010, 19:41
Supporter
 
andyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30th August 2007
Location: Birmingham, England ENGLAND
Posts: 355
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Have you pulled the battery leads off to reset the system
andyp is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 8th November 2010, 20:52 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 9th February 2009
Location: Athens GR
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Yes, I have replace the battery
pkef is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 8th November 2010, 21:10
Supporter
 
calvin23's Avatar
 
Join Date: 31st August 2010
Location: Bolton GB
Posts: 317
Thanks: 3
Thanked 31 Times in 31 Posts
iTrader: (0)
So looks like i am stuck with this problem then
calvin23 is offline  
post #11 of 21 (permalink) Old 11th November 2010, 07:55
Supporter
 
andyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30th August 2007
Location: Birmingham, England ENGLAND
Posts: 355
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: (3)
I'd say the head unit is *****!
andyp is offline  
post #12 of 21 (permalink) Old 20th November 2010, 00:00
GUR
Supporter
 
Car: 2007 CTR
Join Date: 31st August 2007
Location: Bucharest, Romania RO
Posts: 129
Thanks: 8
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I had this problem too and the head unit was replaced under warranty.

Good Luck
GUR is offline  
post #13 of 21 (permalink) Old 2nd September 2013, 09:42
 
Iiyama's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Type-S, NHB
Join Date: 23rd November 2010
Location: Ljubljana, SLO SI
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
the connector behind the screen has issues
Iiyama is offline  
post #14 of 21 (permalink) Old 7th September 2013, 17:56
 
davelp's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 2.2 5 door
Join Date: 25th August 2013
Location: South Yorkshire ENGLAND
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
has anyone found the fix for this? got my civic around two months ago and got the exact same problem.
davelp is offline  
post #15 of 21 (permalink) Old 6th April 2014, 16:54
 
Join Date: 12th May 2013
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Im replying here to help some others out, as this is the first google hit. This is on a 2007 UK sport auto model. Learn from my mistakes!

Grab the small curved bit of plastic above your speedo, then pull it up and towards you firmly, it will just unclip
http://www.3dfluff.com/files/radio/1speedo.jpg

This is what it looks like when it unclips
http://www.3dfluff.com/files/radio/2pullup.jpg

Next do the same thing with the speedo component, pull it stright towards you, DO NOT TWIST OR PIVOT IT! If you rotate the speedo as you pull, youll break a plastic clip at the back (like I did) just whack it towards you and up a little, both sides at the same time. If you like, unclip the black part from the white speedo part to get it out of the way. This is the unit from above before removing.
http://www.3dfluff.com/files/radio/3removespeedo.jpg

Next, you should see a small gap between where the speedo was and the radio display
http://www.3dfluff.com/files/radio/4-2gap.jpg

Find something which will allow you to pull on a surface from the other side, I have no idea what this is but it was laying around the house and worked fine.
http://www.3dfluff.com/files/radio/4pullything.jpg

Get it in the gap and start pulling up the flat panel, the first plastic plug will come out fine, the second one requires the force of Titan. Just pull it straight upwards, no other direction.
http://www.3dfluff.com/files/radio/5flatbit1.jpg

Keep working your way around pulling the plastic bits out, upwards
http://www.3dfluff.com/files/radio/6flatbit2.jpg

Just so you can see what youre fighting against, this is the under side after its removed. I slightly cracked the last plastic clip, but im sure the other 9000 will hold it when I replace it
http://www.3dfluff.com/files/radio/7bottomflat.jpg

Undo the two shiny screws
http://www.3dfluff.com/files/radio/8screws.jpg

Now a tricky part, the radio display face is held on with 3 plastic clips, 2 on the drivers side, one on the passenger side. PULL IT STRAIGHT TOWARDS THE BACK OF THE CAR! Do not pull out one side first, do not twist it, this part is a total arse to get out, but just whack it out in a straight line, both sides at once. If you do one side too much before you start the other, it gets wedged in and you snap off a plastic clip.
http://www.3dfluff.com/files/radio/9radioface.jpg

Use your hooking tool if you need to
http://www.3dfluff.com/files/radio/10radioface2.jpg

Fianlly unplug the green connector, take the radio display inside and unclip all the easy plastic clips until you see the bare circuit board rear. Resolder the 40 or so pins all in a row and put it back together.
http://www.3dfluff.com/files/radio/11board.jpg

TIP: When reassembling it, dont do it in reverse order. Save the flat panel for the very end. ie. 1) Radio face, 2) Speedo, 3) flat panel last.

Hope this helps you all. [email protected] if you need me, I likely won't read back here again til something else goes wrong with it
imashination is offline  
Thank You to imashination from 7 Users:
post #16 of 21 (permalink) Old 26th August 2015, 19:46
 
fedcar84's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 2.2 i-DTEC, Woodland Gr
Join Date: 14th December 2014
Location: Rome IT
Posts: 18
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via Skype™ to fedcar84
Long time since this thread was posted, but always a great thank you to @imashination !!!! Today I repaired my display, following this useful guide.
fedcar84 is offline  
post #17 of 21 (permalink) Old 19th March 2017, 21:54
 
Join Date: 3rd March 2017
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Same as the previous post - I've just bought an 07 plate Civic which had this problem (in my case, the top halves of the letters/numbers would be missing, but tapping the dashboard brought them back).
Thanks to the OP for this guide - it helped give me the confidence to fix this myself
ovation1357 is offline  
post #18 of 21 (permalink) Old 21st April 2017, 10:29
 
Join Date: 17th September 2009
Location: Estonia EE
Posts: 58
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovation1357 View Post
Same as the previous post - I've just bought an 07 plate Civic which had this problem (in my case, the top halves of the letters/numbers would be missing, but tapping the dashboard brought them back).
Thanks to the OP for this guide - it helped give me the confidence to fix this myself
I was afraid to brake some plastic clips, so the official Honda service pulled the display out, then I toked it to some electronic repair service, waited one hour, and toked back to official Honda service, and they put everything back. Cost a bit more than fully DIY, but less worries.
ksuuk is offline  
post #19 of 21 (permalink) Old 21st April 2017, 10:36
Banned
 
Join Date: 3rd April 2017
Posts: 230
Thanks: 8
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (0)
edited
1civic is offline  
post #20 of 21 (permalink) Old 24th September 2017, 10:38
 
Join Date: 11th September 2017
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I know its late i got something similar and i got a reply. I have a civic with sat nav and when i fitted an aftermarket stereo i got the same problem on the clock and i was told by the company that I bought the wire harness from that what happens is that the harness is not compatable as it was made for civic with clock only and therefore the information is trying to be fed to a large clock when the clock is small. Therefore my problem is that the feed is trying to push to much info to the clock therefore yes GROUND has to be the problem
cliffordjd is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrics the aircon,temp.etc. display dashboard are not working tissot Electronics (8G) 2 12th October 2009 20:53
Computer Strange Radio/Clock Display problem civicman1 Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 0 11th March 2008 20:12
Head Unit non OEM radio and display TechnoTools Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 6 15th November 2007 03:00
Radio/CD display Lozza General Discussion (8G) 0 25th March 2007 21:26

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome