Warnings speed warning beep level - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 36 (permalink) Old 28th February 2007, 16:00 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 28th February 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
speed warning beep level

Hallo to everybody: I own a 1.4 Sport since ..2 weeks.

I set the speed alarm (2 speeds available) but the "beep" sound level is very low.
Do you know any procedure to increase the "beep" soundlevel through the setting buttons on the steering wheel?

cbax
cbax is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 36 (permalink) Old 28th February 2007, 16:14
Wine and cooking !
 
l-noel's Avatar
 
Car: 2008, Grey Mica 1.5 Materia
Join Date: 5th December 2006
Location: Roanne-France FR
Posts: 1,526
Thanks: 9
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Welcome to you,

Happy to have more and more Southern Europe people driving new Civic...

As far as I now there is no way to increase the sound of the speed alert, but I can be wrong. I must confess that I've not reed the manual from page 1 to page 9999999 but I think I've read most of them.

Maybe one of our electronic wizard have a solution...
l-noel is offline  
post #3 of 36 (permalink) Old 28th February 2007, 16:23
Supporter
 
Type S Bournemouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th October 2006
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 1,040
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to Type S Bournemouth Send a message via MSN to Type S Bournemouth
i cant see the point of the spped alarm personally
Type S Bournemouth is offline  
 
post #4 of 36 (permalink) Old 28th February 2007, 16:28
Wine and cooking !
 
l-noel's Avatar
 
Car: 2008, Grey Mica 1.5 Materia
Join Date: 5th December 2006
Location: Roanne-France FR
Posts: 1,526
Thanks: 9
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Personaly found it very usefull in town driving and on motorway. Just to remember us in case of...
l-noel is offline  
post #5 of 36 (permalink) Old 28th February 2007, 18:22
 
Charles_Harding's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14th August 2006
Location: S.E. London ENGLAND
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 113
Thanked 42 Times in 38 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbax View Post
Do you know any procedure to increase the "beep" soundlevel through the setting buttons on the steering wheel?

cbax

Maybe if you slowed down a wee bit you could hear it!

"Arnold Schwarzenegger is getting old. His catchphrase has changed from 'I'll be back' to 'Oh, me back!' "

Charles H.
Charles_Harding is offline  
post #6 of 36 (permalink) Old 28th February 2007, 20:24
 
Join Date: 20th December 2006
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Isn't this where a cruise control is for?
Set the speed to 50, let go of the throttle, and relax, right?
No annoying beeps, no annoying tickets, no cramps in your leg, sounds better than an annoying beep to me.
Wander is offline  
post #7 of 36 (permalink) Old 28th February 2007, 20:31
 
Join Date: 15th October 2006
Posts: 106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
This is where a speed limiter is the answer.

My current car .. Citroen C4 has it .. set the speed you want to be the maximum and turn it on .. no beeps, but you can't go over your own defined limit.

Perfect for average speed camera areas (where you wouldn't want cruise control as cars are close together). Also nice for around town (where you also wouldn't want cruise control on!)
stewright is offline  
post #8 of 36 (permalink) Old 28th February 2007, 20:42
 
Join Date: 20th December 2006
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by stewright View Post
This is where a speed limiter is the answer.[..] Also nice for around town (where you also wouldn't want cruise control on!)
Isn't this kind of system very annoying if you come out of the town? Floor the throttle, only to find that it won't go fast enough because you forgot to take the limiter of?
Wander is offline  
post #9 of 36 (permalink) Old 28th February 2007, 21:03
 
Join Date: 15th October 2006
Posts: 106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wander View Post
Isn't this kind of system very annoying if you come out of the town? Floor the throttle, only to find that it won't go fast enough because you forgot to take the limiter of?
the button to enable / disable is on the steering wheel.

It uses the same controls as the cruise control and is very easy to turn off.



If you do floor it .. there's an extra click when you push hard which disables the limiter.

It's a perfect implementation. I'm surprised Honda does not have this system.
stewright is offline  
post #10 of 36 (permalink) Old 28th February 2007, 22:21
 
KE_DK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th September 2006
Location: Denmark DK
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I agree. I used to own a C4 as well, and I also found the speed limiter quite usefull. Also the cruise control worked a bit better in the C4. (I actually think that this has something to do with the torque available in the C4 (it was a 110hp HDi) compared to the relatively little torque available in the 1.8 Honda).
KE_DK is offline  
post #11 of 36 (permalink) Old 11th June 2007, 14:44
 
Join Date: 31st May 2007
Posts: 124
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I like the speed alarm. I have set mine to go off at 30mph and it just keeps me in check a little when driving around the nearby town centre (its so easy to go quick I've found!). Yes, it also sounds when accelerating past 30mph but to be honest its quite a nice 'bing' sound, not particularly intrusive.
Minkster is offline  
post #12 of 36 (permalink) Old 2nd August 2007, 11:58
Big Civic fan
 
stu_iow's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th August 2006
Location: Isle of Wight ENGLAND
Posts: 207
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by stewright View Post
the button to enable / disable is on the steering wheel.

It uses the same controls as the cruise control and is very easy to turn off.



If you do floor it .. there's an extra click when you push hard which disables the limiter.

It's a perfect implementation. I'm surprised Honda does not have this system.
My renault clio had that too, was also a little suprised it wasn't with the cruise control pack in the civic.
stu_iow is online now  
post #13 of 36 (permalink) Old 2nd August 2007, 19:29
Supporter
 
Ramsay's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th May 2007
Location: Camberley Surrey
Posts: 138
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I have my alarms set for 30 and 40 mph and find them particularly useful when in the limit areas. The audio tone level is good, however it is not adjustable. (by us mere mortals that is).

Ramsay
Ramsay is offline  
post #14 of 36 (permalink) Old 3rd August 2007, 18:44
King of the rodeo
 
czechplastik's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th October 2006
Location: Belfast IE
Posts: 4,824
Thanks: 5
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to czechplastik
Quote:
Originally Posted by stewright View Post
This is where a speed limiter is the answer.

My current car .. Citroen C4 has it .. set the speed you want to be the maximum and turn it on .. no beeps, but you can't go over your own defined limit.
I find that dangerous, what if you needed to accelerate suddenly to avoid a hazard?
czechplastik is offline  
post #15 of 36 (permalink) Old 3rd August 2007, 19:21
Captain Slog
 
LoonyJohn's Avatar
 
Car: 07 2.2 NHB sunroof & camera
Join Date: 18th February 2007
Location: NE Derbyshire ENGLAND
Posts: 162
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by czechplastik View Post
I find that dangerous, what if you needed to accelerate suddenly to avoid a hazard?
Then you floor the throttle, and it overrides the limit function, temporarily. The limiter is active only with gentle accelerator movement, for exactly the circumstance you have described
LoonyJohn is offline  
post #16 of 36 (permalink) Old 4th August 2007, 09:15
 
Join Date: 7th August 2006
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Didnt Know the Civ had a speed warning , Is this on older models , How do you set it ?
Jimbo
jimbo is offline  
post #17 of 36 (permalink) Old 14th September 2011, 13:23
Supporter
 
cv65user's Avatar
 
Car: 1.8cc EX, 5dr
Join Date: 21st August 2007
Location: united kingdom AD
Posts: 1,236
Thanks: 59
Thanked 46 Times in 45 Posts
iTrader: (1)
i set mine , im sure mine doesnt make any noise bleep.at all

i know how to access the menu but how do i know if its enabled other than driving over 30+ mph lol,
cv65user is offline  
post #18 of 36 (permalink) Old 14th September 2011, 15:15
Supporter
 
aAaaHhHH-LOonG!!'s Avatar
 
Car: FN2 NHB
Join Date: 16th June 2009
Location: Northants CN
Posts: 205
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by czechplastik View Post
I find that dangerous, what if you needed to accelerate suddenly to avoid a hazard?
brake? there is no situation that you need to accelerate to avoid a hazard

back on track - i've only started using the speed alarm for about 2 months now and i have noticed that it has changed my driving habits in and about town, even if you cant hear the chime the display still reminds you - well that's if you choose to notice it, sometimes i just flat ignore it as you do
aAaaHhHH-LOonG!! is offline  
post #19 of 36 (permalink) Old 14th September 2011, 15:19
everythings upsy daisy.
 
harhay's Avatar
 
Car: 08 silver CTR
Join Date: 4th May 2011
Location: Gloucester GB
Posts: 1,442
Thanks: 63
Thanked 169 Times in 158 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wander View Post
Isn't this where a cruise control is for?
Set the speed to 50, let go of the throttle, and relax, right?
No annoying beeps, no annoying tickets, no cramps in your leg, sounds better than an annoying beep to me.

How can that sound better if you cant hear it?
harhay is offline  
post #20 of 36 (permalink) Old 15th September 2011, 13:58
Supporter
 
cv65user's Avatar
 
Car: 1.8cc EX, 5dr
Join Date: 21st August 2007
Location: united kingdom AD
Posts: 1,236
Thanks: 59
Thanked 46 Times in 45 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cv65user View Post
i set mine , im sure mine doesnt make any noise bleep.at all

i know how to access the menu but how do i know if its enabled other than driving over 30+ mph lol,
mines working now . pretty cool . a nice ping sound lol

i set mine 35 / 45. so im not relying the car to tell me if im breaking 30/40 zones. should not have to come down to this otherwise ill get over dependant on the warning

also i have notice my driving style changed. everytime it pings i ease off gas .. let it roll for a bit
cv65user is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satnav Voice Control Beep Sconeboy Electronics (8G) 2 22nd November 2016 17:48
Oil oil level Type S Bournemouth Engines and Transmission (8G) 23 12th July 2007 11:42
Coolant New car, low coolant level WiredBob Engines and Transmission (8G) 6 22nd April 2007 23:20
Oil check oil level heinc Engines and Transmission (8G) 15 20th February 2007 19:34
Warnings *beep* *beep* *beep* .... Nick7 Electronics (8G) 6 12th January 2007 23:58

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome