VSA Abs and vsa lights on permanently - Civinfo
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By painter
  • 2 Post By Azzaaaaaaa
  • 1 Post By Skomaz
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 4th September 2018, 23:35 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 4th February 2016
Location: Swindon, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Abs and vsa lights on permanently

Another strange one for the mot re-test.

Abs & vsa lights are on, but I have used my code reader which should do abs tests on Honda - but it comes back 'no fault found'..... Any ideas??
I was hoping it would at least give me the abs sensor/wheel to look at. Tried erasing the codes just in case, but the dash lights are still on = mot fail!! 😭

JJ
Judge_Joolz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 5th September 2018, 07:51
Bye bye Honda...
 
Jon_G's Avatar
 
Car: Volvo V60 VEA D4 (181)
Join Date: 11th May 2012
Location: Ludlow, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,759
Thanks: 1,051
Thanked 1,265 Times in 1,042 Posts
iTrader: (1)
What code reader are you using?
Jon_G is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 5th September 2018, 10:28 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 4th February 2016
Location: Swindon, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks for the quick reply


I am using a Foxwell NT624


JJ
Judge_Joolz is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 5th September 2018, 16:18
Bye bye Honda...
 
Jon_G's Avatar
 
Car: Volvo V60 VEA D4 (181)
Join Date: 11th May 2012
Location: Ludlow, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,759
Thanks: 1,051
Thanked 1,265 Times in 1,042 Posts
iTrader: (1)
I'm guessing it won't read ABS/VSA codes on this model?

Have you tried disconnecting the battery for 20 minutes?
Jon_G is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 5th September 2018, 19:50 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 4th February 2016
Location: Swindon, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
No, it should read them, that's why I bought that model. Delved a bit deeper and running the live stream data it shows as not receiving a signal from either of the drivers side abs sensors... That at least gives me something to investigate - though why it says no faults found I don't know! Will report back later.....
Judge_Joolz is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 5th September 2018, 20:42
Bye bye Honda...
 
Jon_G's Avatar
 
Car: Volvo V60 VEA D4 (181)
Join Date: 11th May 2012
Location: Ludlow, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,759
Thanks: 1,051
Thanked 1,265 Times in 1,042 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Strange that both offside sensors are dead, but good luck!
Jon_G is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 5th September 2018, 21:16
Supporter
 
scaramanga's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 white orchid 1.6 dtec
Join Date: 9th May 2011
Location: cumbria ENGLAND
Posts: 1,641
Thanks: 11
Thanked 136 Times in 135 Posts
iTrader: (1)
I have foxwell nt 630 and it reads abs codes on my civic
scaramanga is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 6th September 2018, 14:04 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 4th February 2016
Location: Swindon, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
ok, lunchtime update...


managed to get to test the RR abs sensor and it is showing a resistance of 3.6M ohms (very high), so I am going to pick up a couple of sensors on the way home 'just in case'. I couldn't get far enough under the car to disconnect the front sensor, so will have to try that later.


JJ
Judge_Joolz is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 6th September 2018, 19:10
Bye bye Honda...
 
Jon_G's Avatar
 
Car: Volvo V60 VEA D4 (181)
Join Date: 11th May 2012
Location: Ludlow, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,759
Thanks: 1,051
Thanked 1,265 Times in 1,042 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Judge_Joolz View Post
ok, lunchtime update...


managed to get to test the RR abs sensor and it is showing a resistance of 3.6M ohms (very high), so I am going to pick up a couple of sensors on the way home 'just in case'. I couldn't get far enough under the car to disconnect the front sensor, so will have to try that later.


JJ
You need to compare it to the other working sensors before deciding it's duff. The new sensors I fitted to my Accord were very high resistance, also several Megohms in one polarity direction (but less in the other, indicating a semiconductor based sensor).
Jon_G is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 8th September 2018, 11:36
 
Car: 2006 1.8 ES petrol v-tech
Join Date: 13th March 2015
Location: manchester ENGLAND
Posts: 282
Thanks: 7
Thanked 42 Times in 37 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I would give the battery disconnect a quick go, mine came on 3 weeks ago during a hard brake on the motorway and stayed on so when I got home I disconnected for 30 secs and they have remained off 400 miles later. The ABS system on Civics is the worst I've known, poor quality!!
Jon_G likes this.
painter is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 10th September 2018, 23:56 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 4th February 2016
Location: Swindon, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Update: changed the right rear abs sensor as a test. Lights are still on, tester says no faults, only 2 lines showing data when doing a live test.
Swapped the sensor back. As I had to change the rear disks and pads I thought I would swap the abs sensor on the left rear, just as a further test. Broke the old one getting it out! Put in the new sensor along with the disks and pads.
Tester says 'no faults', but the abs and vsa warning lights have gone out!! Took it for a short drive to bed the pads in and the live data now shows 3 lines active! So I will change the left front sensor at some point (after the mot!)...
Any idea why 2 faulty abs signals = a dash light, but one fault does not???

More when I know...... Probably after I have sent the foxwell nt624 tester back for telling lies!.

JJ
Judge_Joolz is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 11th September 2018, 07:01
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 2,899
Thanks: 86
Thanked 218 Times in 210 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Just as a matter of interest, does the ABS system actually work now or not?
M8TJT is online now  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 11th September 2018, 08:26
 
Car: 2006 Fabia VRS PD 130
Join Date: 5th September 2018
Location: Stoke On Trent GB
Posts: 52
Thanks: 15
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Dust and crap around one of the ABS sensors affecting the magnetic pickup?
scaramanga and Jon_G like this.
Azzaaaaaaa is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 11th September 2018, 08:51
Bye bye Honda...
 
Jon_G's Avatar
 
Car: Volvo V60 VEA D4 (181)
Join Date: 11th May 2012
Location: Ludlow, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,759
Thanks: 1,051
Thanked 1,265 Times in 1,042 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azzaaaaaaa View Post
Dust and crap around one of the ABS sensors affecting the magnetic pickup?
Maybe. If the data can be read then there are specific codes relating to poor data caused by the magnetic elements being dirty/damaged.
Jon_G is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 14th September 2018, 10:26 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 4th February 2016
Location: Swindon, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Well, it went through the re-mot ok. diagnostic tool still says no faults - but only data on 3 abs sensor data lines.
The actual ABS has (even when showing ABS fault) worked 'most' of the time, there were a couple of occasions when it did not, so no answers there!


JJ
Judge_Joolz is offline  
post #16 of 16 (permalink) Old 14th September 2018, 10:56
Supporter
 
Skomaz's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 ctdi Sport
Join Date: 6th September 2014
Location: Sheffield GB
Posts: 539
Thanks: 1
Thanked 99 Times in 87 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Try the method in this thread (Post 13) - it worked for me!

https://www.civinfo.com/forum/genera...one-local.html
Farqui likes this.
Skomaz is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brakes ABS VSA Handbrake light on permanently VK13 Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 9 4th November 2018 18:07
Electrics VSA Light Permanently On Howarddavies Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 10 22nd February 2018 21:40
Brakes Abs/vsa error. Abs sensor snapped off cv65user Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 9 2nd September 2013 12:26
ABS and VSA lights on and wont go off loose General Discussion (8G) 10 24th April 2009 00:08
Electrics VSA and ABS warning lights!! andy23ho Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 11 21st April 2009 09:27

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome