Phone Hft help - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 28th February 2019, 20:06 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
Join Date: 30th September 2018
Posts: 175
Thanks: 14
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hft help

I've got myself a 2010 hft module as I read these are better but the connector is different, I'm wondering if anyone has changed theirs and if so what did you do about the connector, I presume they are wired the same just one is green and one is grey.
Any help most appreciated
Thanks

Sent from my WAS-LX1A using Tapatalk
jpbroad1970 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 1st March 2019, 00:24
Supporter
 
Andy_77's Avatar
 
Car: FL 2009 (59) 2.2i-CDTI EX
Join Date: 26th October 2018
Location: UK GB
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
the new BT module ( facelift ) works with MFD, so i would say you'll probably need new harness ..
Andy_77 is offline  
post #3 of 30 (permalink) Old 1st March 2019, 06:59 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 30th September 2018
Posts: 175
Thanks: 14
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I've got the colour display with nav etc, is that what you mean

Sent from my WAS-LX1A using Tapatalk
jpbroad1970 is offline  
 
post #4 of 30 (permalink) Old 1st March 2019, 07:13
Supporter
 
Andy_77's Avatar
 
Car: FL 2009 (59) 2.2i-CDTI EX
Join Date: 26th October 2018
Location: UK GB
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
no, the small multifunction display, where is your onboard computer, etc, etc.. because on facelift you'll see on it, callers number, signal strength, battery status, etc, etc and that needs to be connected..
Andy_77 is offline  
post #5 of 30 (permalink) Old 1st March 2019, 08:00 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 30th September 2018
Posts: 175
Thanks: 14
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
That's a bit of a bugger then, after retrofitting the complete nav system I don't think I'll bother. I'll put it back up for sale I think.

Sent from my WAS-LX1A using Tapatalk
jpbroad1970 is offline  
post #6 of 30 (permalink) Old 1st March 2019, 08:08
Supporter
 
Andy_77's Avatar
 
Car: FL 2009 (59) 2.2i-CDTI EX
Join Date: 26th October 2018
Location: UK GB
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
i was thinking to retrofit satnav and HFT in to my facelift, but it is difficult to obtain the FL parts for it, because even sat nav is slightly different,so i gave up... now i am going to install Pioneer DU that has Apple car play and Android auto with built in Parrot BT and 2 usb.. so hopefully it will be ok ..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20181104_143931.jpg (51.8 KB, 14 views)
Andy_77 is offline  
post #7 of 30 (permalink) Old 1st March 2019, 08:24 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 30th September 2018
Posts: 175
Thanks: 14
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I've got a face-lift head unit and Bluetooth module spare now and glovebox lol.
Hey ho you live and learn.

Sent from my WAS-LX1A using Tapatalk
jpbroad1970 is offline  
post #8 of 30 (permalink) Old 1st March 2019, 08:46
Supporter
 
Andy_77's Avatar
 
Car: FL 2009 (59) 2.2i-CDTI EX
Join Date: 26th October 2018
Location: UK GB
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpbroad1970 View Post
I've got a face-lift head unit and Bluetooth module spare now and glovebox lol.
Hey ho you live and learn.

Sent from my WAS-LX1A using Tapatalk
Facelift head unit? has it got " TITLE " instead of " DISP " next to CD Slot ?
Andy_77 is offline  
post #9 of 30 (permalink) Old 1st March 2019, 09:03 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 30th September 2018
Posts: 175
Thanks: 14
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Yes it has bought it for that purpose

Sent from my WAS-LX1A using Tapatalk
jpbroad1970 is offline  
post #10 of 30 (permalink) Old 1st March 2019, 09:05
Supporter
 
Andy_77's Avatar
 
Car: FL 2009 (59) 2.2i-CDTI EX
Join Date: 26th October 2018
Location: UK GB
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
thats very rare, have you got new sat nav unit as well ?
Andy_77 is offline  
post #11 of 30 (permalink) Old 1st March 2019, 09:18 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 30th September 2018
Posts: 175
Thanks: 14
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I know I paid good money for it. I have a sat nav unit but not out that car think that was from 58 plate.

Sent from my WAS-LX1A using Tapatalk
jpbroad1970 is offline  
post #12 of 30 (permalink) Old 2nd March 2019, 18:19 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 30th September 2018
Posts: 175
Thanks: 14
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I have display, dvd drive, head unit and the hft the dvd has 39540smge020 on it.

Sent from my WAS-LX1A using Tapatalk
jpbroad1970 is offline  
post #13 of 30 (permalink) Old 2nd March 2019, 18:26
Supporter
 
Andy_77's Avatar
 
Car: FL 2009 (59) 2.2i-CDTI EX
Join Date: 26th October 2018
Location: UK GB
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpbroad1970 View Post
I have display, dvd drive, head unit and the hft the dvd has 39540smge020 on it.

Sent from my WAS-LX1A using Tapatalk
that should have USB plug as well, can browse through dirs on usb stick.. interesting ..
Andy_77 is offline  
post #14 of 30 (permalink) Old 2nd March 2019, 18:30 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 30th September 2018
Posts: 175
Thanks: 14
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
It does have usb yes I have the USB socket too and the armrest for it with module I think lol

Sent from my WAS-LX1A using Tapatalk
jpbroad1970 is offline  
post #15 of 30 (permalink) Old 2nd March 2019, 18:46
Supporter
 
Andy_77's Avatar
 
Car: FL 2009 (59) 2.2i-CDTI EX
Join Date: 26th October 2018
Location: UK GB
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
mine is facelift, so i need only the bits, not sure if need new loom, but probably yes ...
Andy_77 is offline  
post #16 of 30 (permalink) Old 2nd March 2019, 18:55 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 30th September 2018
Posts: 175
Thanks: 14
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Probably, I used new loom when I fitted mine in my es, was going to put facelift head unit in and fit the USB. It's actually not a bad retrofit not as complicated as it's made out to be the nav retrofit that is.

Sent from my WAS-LX1A using Tapatalk
jpbroad1970 is offline  
post #17 of 30 (permalink) Old 2nd March 2019, 20:18 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 30th September 2018
Posts: 175
Thanks: 14
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpbroad1970 View Post
Probably, I used new loom when I fitted mine in my es, was going to put facelift head unit in and fit the USB. It's actually not a bad retrofit not as complicated as it's made out to be the nav retrofit that is. Not going to bother though now.

Sent from my WAS-LX1A using Tapatalk


Sent from my WAS-LX1A using Tapatalk
jpbroad1970 is offline  
post #18 of 30 (permalink) Old 2nd March 2019, 21:05
 
Join Date: 26th January 2019
Posts: 38
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Why would you want to add the OEM sat nav may I ask?

I'm currently looking to get an 8th gen. I was deciding between a 2011 Si-T or 2009 or later EX GT, and decided EX GT for the full leather seats, cruise control, panoramic sun roof etc.

But now decided to go with an 2009 or later EX I think, specifically so it won't have sat nav.

As doesn't seem you can successfully add a Double DIN to the sat nav models.

And audio with the stock head unit is meant to be poor.

The other option to improve audio is to add an amp, but even then, you have limited music control no?

E.g. for steering wheel audio control, or head unit audio control - and say you want to use music on your phone, Spotify etc. - then you'd need to use aux - no song skipping etc., just volume?

So you can only skip songs using the steering wheel controls or head unit controls if it's CD, radio, or a carefully formatted USB stick no?

So if you want good audio quality, and also want to conveniently and modernly play music - you need a Double DIN I believe.

Would also be far less work.

And of course you can have sat nav on that as well.
It's nice to have the shielded sat nav right by ones view of the road, and voice control perhaps (not sure how well that works), but with Google Maps for example you can have saved places, closing times, dynamic information. And you can always mount your phone in a similar position.

But yeah, I've been trying to decide whether you'd lose a lot not getting GT, but I think you lose a lot more in modern audio control.

Back in the day, when they were made this wouldn't have mattered off course, and the EX GT would then have been the best solution, but I think a Double DIN seems a much better choice now.

Or are those audio control points not correct?
Shinoke is offline  
post #19 of 30 (permalink) Old 2nd March 2019, 21:19
Supporter
 
Andy_77's Avatar
 
Car: FL 2009 (59) 2.2i-CDTI EX
Join Date: 26th October 2018
Location: UK GB
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Shinoke: i got your point and agree with that, but there is always the BUT for example mine is 59 plate facelift EX ( thinking to sell her BTW ) , so i do have leather heated seats, panoramic roof, power folding mirrors, dual climate, audio/visual parking sensors, usb, aux, 120w power socket in armrest,auto dimming rear mirror, etc, etc.. but no xenons, sat nav and bluetooth .. BT i have installed Parrot mki9200, sat nav google maps, xenons.. well normal bulbs.. BUT i dont like aftermarket products, i like everything standard fitted from a factory because it has been made for it.. so even the factory fitted sat nav and bluetooth is not the best one, but it does the job.. yesterday ive tried to fit very nice decent unit, Pioneer, with Apple CarPlay, Android auto, dvd, sd card etc, etc, spent good 6 hours on it to find out that the fascia was wrong and to put the fascia in requires cut some piece of the dash.. so i am back on stock radio with parrot... in terms of USB, yes, it is good but only FAT32 and the way how to browse through the dirs is not the best one, but again, it does the job..

in terms of audio controls, yes, i can skip next/previous track, or even next/previous dir, but ive found out that when ive had my pioneer installed instead of next/previous dir it fast forwarded the actual song..
Andy_77 is offline  
Thanks to Andy_77 from:
post #20 of 30 (permalink) Old 2nd March 2019, 22:02
 
Join Date: 26th January 2019
Posts: 38
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Yeah, looking to get something like yours but a 1.8 petrol
Feel free to leave some thoughts here:
https://www.civinfo.com/forum/genera...e-8th-gen.html

Think I rambled too much lol. Been reading up on so many threads but it's a bit of a minefield.

Still not sure what the full spec differences are.

Can you pause using the steering wheel?

That's what I want to be able to do most - for a specific use case really - pausing language learning audio books on Audible (but also good in general to be able to pause to think with audio books).

To be fair I've got it on CD now, so the OEM head unit would work well for that if the steering wheel lets you pause.

But no using your phone properly for audio then.

The 2011 Si-T came with a Pioneer unit (Pioneer F930BT):
https://www.civinfo.com/foru/nemwton...ivic-si-t.html

So having a head unit can be "stock" in a sense, especially if it's Pioneer.

But yeah, if you want the most full OEM experience, you want an EX GT, or add a sat nav to to an EX or ES to get that.

And I was thinking I should just embrace that. And would like to try the sat nav.

But I think I'd benefit more from the sound upgrade and audio convenience of a modern Double DIN if my assumptions are correct.

Sorry to read about the fascia and fitting issues. I read you could buy them for 135 or so using a forum discount from another forum. And they're still selling them but there won't be many left.

And that Halfords will fit it for you if you buy the Double DIN from them - for only 30-50. Although that was a few years back I think.
Bit of a minefield.

But yeah, I'm thinking of getting an EX and adding a Double DIN (and getting Halfords to do it if possible), to have something like a higher spec Si-T.

The other option is just to get an Si-T, even an 2009 or 2010 (which have Clarion Double DINs), and you can then just buy a modern Double DIN unit and slot it in I think.

But then you lose all that spec we covered.
Shinoke is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome