Electrics Dash Cam Installation Advice Pls - Civinfo
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By anfield786
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 19th March 2019, 17:42 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 6th June 2016
Posts: 33
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Dash Cam Installation Advice Pls

Ive a Mio Myvue 792 dash cam that Id like to install in my 8th gen 2.2 icdti, with the mio mivue Smart box II permanent power supply, so it operates in parking mode, Id like to connect the smart box to the internal fuse box using fuse piggyback connectors, can any advice which fuse to use, and has anyone already done this installation?
Any advice would be great please.
Cheers
davidjames1701 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 19th March 2019, 19:18
Supporter
 
anfield786's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 Type R GT Silver
Join Date: 7th April 2016
Location: Birmingham UK ENGLAND
Posts: 885
Thanks: 13
Thanked 100 Times in 98 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Use options connector. Have permanent feed or feed with ignition.

Check how to hardwire dashcam how to guide on here for details. Easy enough to do, did it on my last civic.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk
Farqui and Das like this.
anfield786 is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 19th March 2019, 19:33
Das
i-Vtec
 
Das's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 1.8 ES
Join Date: 3rd March 2018
Location: West Lothian SCOTLAND
Posts: 1,393
Thanks: 81
Thanked 166 Times in 163 Posts
iTrader: (7)
Garage
As above I took my feed off the options connector too.
Das is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 20th March 2019, 09:37 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 6th June 2016
Posts: 33
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by anfield786 View Post
Use options connector. Have permanent feed or feed with ignition.

Check how to hardwire dashcam how to guide on here for details. Easy enough to do, did it on my last civic.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by Das View Post
As above I took my feed off the options connector too.
Thanks Ive found the options connections, here-

https://www.civinfo.com/forum/how-gu...connector.html

The mio Smartbox needs a permanent live and a ignition live as well, which is bottom left, constant live, and bottom right is ignition live, so Ill make up three extension wires to a easily accessible place, so the box can be disconnected and removed quickly, if the car is sold,

Just one question, what type of fuses are used, Low-profile Mini, Mini, Micro2, or ATO ?
davidjames1701 is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 20th March 2019, 09:51
Supporter
 
Join Date: 9th December 2013
Location: Melton Mowbray GB
Posts: 906
Thanks: 10
Thanked 86 Times in 78 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I didn't know about this at the time, but used the Cigar Lighter in the center console.

IT was easy enough to remove, crimp into the live, and run a wire behind the glove box, and up the A pillar.

For NEGATIVE, I used a Dashboard screw, behind the Triangle of plastic on the dash side (when you open the door).
cavalrystu is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 20th March 2019, 10:09
Supporter
 
anfield786's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 Type R GT Silver
Join Date: 7th April 2016
Location: Birmingham UK ENGLAND
Posts: 885
Thanks: 13
Thanked 100 Times in 98 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidjames1701 View Post
Thanks I’ve found the options connections, here-

https://www.civinfo.com/forum/how-gu...connector.html

The mio Smartbox needs a permanent live and a ignition live as well, which is bottom left, constant live, and bottom right is ignition live, so I’ll make up three extension wires to a easily accessible place, so the box can be disconnected and removed quickly, if the car is sold,

Just one question, what type of fuses are used, Low-profile Mini, Mini, Micro2, or ATO ?
You shouldnt need any fuses, just female spade connectors.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk
anfield786 is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 20th March 2019, 10:14 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 6th June 2016
Posts: 33
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavalrystu View Post
I didn't know about this at the time, but used the Cigar Lighter in the center console.

IT was easy enough to remove, crimp into the live, and run a wire behind the glove box, and up the A pillar.

For NEGATIVE, I used a Dashboard screw, behind the Triangle of plastic on the dash side (when you open the door).
Thanks for the negative tip, Id thought of the cigar lighter and the hazard switch at first as well, but it seems this smartbox needs a constant, and ignition live as well, so its convenient to use the under dash fuse box, as its near to the A pillar to run the cable behind the trim to the dash cam.
davidjames1701 is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 20th March 2019, 10:32 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 6th June 2016
Posts: 33
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by anfield786 View Post
You shouldnt need any fuses, just female spade connectors.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk
It says on the link http://https://www.civinfo.com/forum/how-guides-only-8g/64072-how-use-tap-into-fuse-box-option-connector.html
That you have to insert a fuse into position 27 to activate options ?
davidjames1701 is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 20th March 2019, 11:16
Supporter
 
Join Date: 9th December 2013
Location: Melton Mowbray GB
Posts: 906
Thanks: 10
Thanked 86 Times in 78 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Certainly a few of the fuses offer permanent live, so you can use a PIGGY BACK fuse for that... be aware of battery drain though!
cavalrystu is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 20th March 2019, 11:37
Supporter
 
anfield786's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 Type R GT Silver
Join Date: 7th April 2016
Location: Birmingham UK ENGLAND
Posts: 885
Thanks: 13
Thanked 100 Times in 98 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidjames1701 View Post
It says on the link http://https://www.civinfo.com/forum/how-guides-only-8g/64072-how-use-tap-into-fuse-box-option-connector.html

That you have to insert a fuse into position 27 to activate options ?
So it does. I never put a fuse in #27 and had no issues.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk
anfield786 is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 20th March 2019, 12:12 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 6th June 2016
Posts: 33
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by anfield786 View Post
So it does. I never put a fuse in #27 and had no issues.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk
Which fuse protects thee options terminal then ?
davidjames1701 is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 20th March 2019, 12:14 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 6th June 2016
Posts: 33
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavalrystu View Post
Certainly a few of the fuses offer permanent live, so you can use a PIGGY BACK fuse for that... be aware of battery drain though!
As a backup, what size piggyback is it, low profile mini ?
davidjames1701 is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 20th March 2019, 12:36
Supporter
 
Join Date: 9th December 2013
Location: Melton Mowbray GB
Posts: 906
Thanks: 10
Thanked 86 Times in 78 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidjames1701 View Post
As a backup, what size piggyback is it, low profile mini ?
Yes, I beileve that is right... Mini is the one!
cavalrystu is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 20th March 2019, 12:40
Supporter
 
Join Date: 9th December 2013
Location: Melton Mowbray GB
Posts: 906
Thanks: 10
Thanked 86 Times in 78 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by anfield786 View Post
So it does. I never put a fuse in #27 and had no issues.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk
I think only the CONSTANT FEED needs another fuse.

The others are already fused... not sure what slots though
cavalrystu is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 20th March 2019, 22:49 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 6th June 2016
Posts: 33
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Great, thanks for that ��
davidjames1701 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Show us your dashcam set up Riko Electronics and ICE (10G) 79 12th February 2019 09:02
Dash Cam Cookie Type-R 9 29th August 2016 20:58
Parrot MKi9200 in Honda Civic 5D: tight installation. txxo This is How To ... (Guides Only) (8G) 17 14th September 2015 08:07
Carbon fibre dash surround danlat1415 Styling (8G) 4 23rd October 2011 22:10
Advice on Finding the handbrake control for In dash DVD player chuan Previous Civics 0 22nd April 2009 22:44

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome