Safety Cameras Dash cam hardwire - Civinfo
 5Likes
  • 1 Post By tricky70
  • 2 Post By Neil11
  • 1 Post By Neil11
  • 1 Post By Neil11
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 27th August 2019, 08:43 Thread Starter
 
dkkirk2016's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8se vtec i 5 door gal
Join Date: 5th September 2018
Location: Cumbria AD
Posts: 664
Thanks: 189
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Dash cam hardwire

Don't know if this goes here cant seem to find "dash cam hardwire"

Anyway does anyone know how to wire up the nextbit dash cam I've got a hardwire kit ive no idea which fuse or even where it goes wiring wise?

Where do people usually place there dash cam as some mot stations are funny about ' obstruction'

Cheers many thanks

Sent from my FIG-LX1 using Tapatalk
dkkirk2016 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 27th August 2019, 09:29
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 2,873
Thanks: 85
Thanked 214 Times in 206 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Dr Google has not heard of a Nextbit dash cam, so I can only assume that you mean NextBase? Which model?

Fit it behind your rear view mirror, then there is no obstruction. You should not be looking at it whilst driving so it doesn't matter that you cannot see it.

Re wiring. If, as you say, you have no idea on wiring, then get someone who has to do it for you.

The red wire goes to an ignition switched 12V via a fuse piggy back and the black wire goes to a good metal chassis connection.
M8TJT is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 27th August 2019, 09:59
 
toyracer69's Avatar
 
Car: 1.8i 5 Door sport - Daily
Join Date: 10th July 2019
Location: London
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by M8TJT View Post

The red wire goes to an ignition switched 12V via a fuse piggy back and the black wire goes to a good metal chassis connection.
That's how I did mine, via a spare fuse location, to the right of the steering column, under the dash.
toyracer69 is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 27th August 2019, 10:16 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
dkkirk2016's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8se vtec i 5 door gal
Join Date: 5th September 2018
Location: Cumbria AD
Posts: 664
Thanks: 189
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
M8TJT sorry was thinking of my old phone my mistake

Sent from my FIG-LX1 using Tapatalk
dkkirk2016 is online now  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 27th August 2019, 10:17 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
dkkirk2016's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8se vtec i 5 door gal
Join Date: 5th September 2018
Location: Cumbria AD
Posts: 664
Thanks: 189
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by toyracer69 View Post
That's how I did mine, via a spare fuse location, to the right of the steering column, under the dash.
Least we have a useful person today

Sent from my FIG-LX1 using Tapatalk
dkkirk2016 is online now  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 27th August 2019, 11:43
Supporter
 
tricky70's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 1.8 SI Black Pearl
Join Date: 8th October 2016
Location: Marlborough UK GB
Posts: 320
Thanks: 7
Thanked 40 Times in 38 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Follow this guide but use the option connector that Loxy sells instead of a piggyback fuse.
https://www.autoinstruct.com.au/manu...h-cam-install/
dkkirk2016 likes this.
tricky70 is offline  
Thanks to tricky70 from:
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 27th August 2019, 12:49 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
dkkirk2016's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8se vtec i 5 door gal
Join Date: 5th September 2018
Location: Cumbria AD
Posts: 664
Thanks: 189
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by tricky70 View Post
Follow this guide but use the option connector that Loxy sells instead of a piggyback fuse.

https://www.autoinstruct.com.au/manu...h-cam-install/
I won't need a fuse got one with the kit

Cheers for finding this I appreciate it cheers .

Sent from my FIG-LX1 using Tapatalk
dkkirk2016 is online now  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 27th August 2019, 15:19
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 2,873
Thanks: 85
Thanked 214 Times in 206 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkkirk2016 View Post
M8TJT sorry was thinking of my old phone my mistake
Ah, silly me, I thought that you were talking about a dashcam.
As I don't have access to a manual for your car, I'm afraid that I can't suggest a fuse to piggy back on to (as yet, neither can anyone else it seems) or I would have done so in my previous post.
But please chose to ignore my useless post if you so wish.
M8TJT is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 27th August 2019, 16:27
 
Neil11's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 5door milano red
Join Date: 14th November 2016
Location: Tipton West Midlands AL
Posts: 130
Thanks: 12
Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
If you’re gonna piggyback it any 7.5 fuse with ignition on it states in nextbase manual i used fuse 12 i think it was i will get a pic

M8TJT and dkkirk2016 like this.
Neil11 is offline  
Thanks to Neil11 from:
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 27th August 2019, 17:30
 
Neil11's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 5door milano red
Join Date: 14th November 2016
Location: Tipton West Midlands AL
Posts: 130
Thanks: 12
Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
As M8TJT stated place it behind rear view mirror and tuck wiring in roof lining then down A pillar cover and into side of dash where you take the side cover off through to fuse box. Then loop extra wire and cable tie it up out of way inside dash
dkkirk2016 likes this.
Neil11 is offline  
Thanks to Neil11 from:
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old Today, 11:53 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
dkkirk2016's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8se vtec i 5 door gal
Join Date: 5th September 2018
Location: Cumbria AD
Posts: 664
Thanks: 189
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
The OEM fuse is impossible to fit into the nextbase piggy back fuse wow too small I'll have to order a taller fuse won't I?

Sent from my FIG-LX1 using Tapatalk
dkkirk2016 is online now  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old Today, 15:18
 
Neil11's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 5door milano red
Join Date: 14th November 2016
Location: Tipton West Midlands AL
Posts: 130
Thanks: 12
Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Yes the taller in pic is what you need halfords sell a pack of 2 7.5 amp for less than £3
Neil11 is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old Today, 16:20 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
dkkirk2016's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8se vtec i 5 door gal
Join Date: 5th September 2018
Location: Cumbria AD
Posts: 664
Thanks: 189
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Just bought some from eBay pack of 100 for £1.99

Sent from my FIG-LX1 using Tapatalk
dkkirk2016 is online now  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old Today, 20:34
 
Neil11's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 5door milano red
Join Date: 14th November 2016
Location: Tipton West Midlands AL
Posts: 130
Thanks: 12
Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkkirk2016 View Post
Just bought some from eBay pack of 100 for £1.99

Sent from my FIG-LX1 using Tapatalk


Haha nice one i just thought you were in the process of fitting it but dam a 100 a lifetime supply
dkkirk2016 likes this.
Neil11 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome