Phone Unable to pair with HFT - Civinfo
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By M8TJT
  • 2 Post By Farqui
  • 1 Post By M8TJT
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 3rd October 2019, 13:38 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 3rd October 2019
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Question Unable to pair with HFT

Hi All,

Just bought a 2.2 Civic Mk8 EX and i'm trying to pair my phone with the HFT. Going through the process and when the car is searching for a device it doesn't find anything and I am unable to see anything for the Honda HFT on either my iPhone or android.

Tried various resets of devices and clearing the existing setup but nothing seems to help and done the HFT test by holding down the cancel button when starting the car and no issues there either.

Any ideas where to go next? Tried searching posts and nothing directly seems to be the same issue and as I haven't had the car i don't know the history.
JayBull is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 3rd October 2019, 15:10
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 3,055
Thanks: 89
Thanked 229 Times in 221 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Could be that someone has disconnected/removed the BT module as it seems that they sometimes give high battery drain.
JayBull likes this.
M8TJT is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 3rd October 2019, 15:44 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 3rd October 2019
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by M8TJT View Post
Could be that someone has disconnected/removed the BT module as it seems that they sometimes give high battery drain.
Thanks! Any pointers of the best way of checking? or least where to start tracking the module and wiring down
JayBull is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 3rd October 2019, 16:04
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 3,055
Thanks: 89
Thanked 229 Times in 221 Posts
iTrader: (1)
I believe it's under the dash down by the steering wheel somewhere but I don't have your car.
Do a search, there's loads of stuff about it and I'm just off out or I would search for you.
Failing that, wait for someone who knows what they are talking about to pop up.
M8TJT is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 3rd October 2019, 17:53
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,848
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,155 Times in 3,851 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
The old threads I've just scanned with HFT info all have broken pic links

So pop the end of the drivers side dash off to reveal the screw holding the under panel in place. Lower the panel under the steering wheel to reveal the HFT module
M8TJT and JayBull like this.
Farqui is online now  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 3rd October 2019, 19:13 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 3rd October 2019
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thumbs up

Thank you! I will get out in the daylight tomorrow and take a look hopefully its just disconnected otherwise I will need to look at some of the repair threads i've seen.
JayBull is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 3rd October 2019, 19:38
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 3,055
Thanks: 89
Thanked 229 Times in 221 Posts
iTrader: (1)
If it's "just disconnected", it's probably because it has a high parasitic drain and flattens the car battery. It's a known fault and I can't really think of any other reason someone might disconnect it.
JayBull likes this.
M8TJT is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 6th October 2019, 10:35 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 3rd October 2019
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
So I've taken the trim off and had a look the unit is still there and plugged in so unfortunately not a quick simple fix.
JayBull is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 6th October 2019, 15:33
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 3,055
Thanks: 89
Thanked 229 Times in 221 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Can you see if it is actually powered or not. Fuse?
M8TJT is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 7th October 2019, 20:45 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 3rd October 2019
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by M8TJT View Post
Can you see if it is actually powered or not. Fuse?
Does it not run on the same fuse as the stereo? As this all works fine.

I can get through all the steps of pairing with the HFT it just doesn't find my phone(s) or I can't see the honda hft bluetooth to connect from any of my devices. Not sure how much of this is driven from the bluetooth module or if it's another area within the system.
JayBull is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome