Other New headunit installment - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 7th October 2010, 00:42 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 7th October 2010
Location: Glasgow SCOTLAND
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
New headunit installment

Hello, this is my first ever post was hoping somebody could help me out.

I have a 2006 new shape model of the honda civic. I am planning to install a new head unit into the car but I am having trouble finding space.
There is a gap below the standard cd player where you can keep cd's etc.
I was wondering is that the space where aftermarket head units can be installed if you take the compartment out?

The only other option I see is in the glove box, but that is pretty inconvenient...

If anyone has installed an aftermarket head unit in the car could you please let me know where you put it?

Thanks everyone.
Bilali is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 7th October 2010, 15:16
Supporter
 
andyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30th August 2007
Location: Birmingham, England ENGLAND
Posts: 355
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Aftermarket head unit.....no i dont think you can in a civic......[sarcasm]
try the search function and wiki.
andyp is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 7th October 2010, 15:21
Supporter
 
murray's Avatar
 
Car: CW Civic FD2
Join Date: 7th April 2010
Location: Gloucester, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,611
Thanks: 159
Thanked 159 Times in 151 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Yes you can fit an aftermarket cd player into the new shape civic. The facia costs around 200-220. But you also need to either wire the oem headunit in to the new cd player and store it in the boot so that the power still runs the ac control unit and clock. I also also seen a different clock you can buy and replace the normal clock, but most people keep the standard cd player in the boot.
murray is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 7th October 2010, 15:29
Supporter
 
rossk1009's Avatar
 
Car: 58 NHB TYPE R GT
Join Date: 14th June 2009
Location: Falkirk, Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 3,588
Thanks: 241
Thanked 465 Times in 432 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by murray View Post
Yes you can fit an aftermarket cd player into the new shape civic. The facia costs around 200-220. But you also need to either wire the oem headunit in to the new cd player and store it in the boot so that the power still runs the ac control unit and clock. I also also seen a different clock you can buy and replace the normal clock, but most people keep the standard cd player in the boot.
You can get the facia from gordons Honda for 100. You don't need to keep the oem unit connected either as impulse have made a connector that does away with the headunit and still shows all the controls. I have just fitted a double din in my car and it's all working perfectly.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
rossk1009 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 7th October 2010, 18:28
Ths
Supporter
 
Ths's Avatar
 
Car: 2000 BMW 740i
Join Date: 28th August 2009
Location: Austevoll NO
Posts: 546
Thanks: 33
Thanked 103 Times in 42 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilali View Post
Hello, this is my first ever post was hoping somebody could help me out.

I have a 2006 new shape model of the honda civic. I am planning to install a new head unit into the car but I am having trouble finding space.
There is a gap below the standard cd player where you can keep cd's etc.
I was wondering is that the space where aftermarket head units can be installed if you take the compartment out?

The only other option I see is in the glove box, but that is pretty inconvenient...

If anyone has installed an aftermarket head unit in the car could you please let me know where you put it?

Thanks everyone.
Check the ICE forum (In Car Entertainment), http://www.civinfo.com/forum/ipods-m...reat-news.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by murray View Post
Yes you can fit an aftermarket cd player into the new shape civic. The facia costs around 200-220. But you also need to either wire the oem headunit in to the new cd player and store it in the boot so that the power still runs the ac control unit and clock. I also also seen a different clock you can buy and replace the normal clock, but most people keep the standard cd player in the boot.
That is pretty outdated info. Check the thread i linked above. My own project thread http://www.civinfo.com/forum/modific...2-project.html also shows how its done with the Impulse adapter.
Ths is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head Unit What output IC does the headunit have? Koen Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 7 2nd June 2010 22:52
Head Unit Removing headunit BadBoy Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 2 20th June 2009 17:16
Head Unit Aftermarket headunit help Zhangy69 Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 8 19th December 2008 00:44
Head Unit new headunit Monopoli Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 6 13th November 2008 20:18
Technical Which headunit could i have?? Andy_K Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 3 10th February 2008 19:37

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome