Electrics Accessory power socket fault - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 9th October 2010, 16:40 Thread Starter
 
Car: 2008 CTS-GT, Silver
Join Date: 10th May 2009
Location: Sheffield, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Accessory power socket fault

I've just tried using the front 12v accessory socket with the cig lighter and mulitple other plugs and I'm getting no power, I've checked that the connectors to the socket are attached and clean and checked the fuse. What is more odd is that I thought I would try the rear one too and this seems to not work either even though this has a seperate fuse.

Has anyone come accross this fault before?
davo830 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 9th October 2010, 16:45
Administrator
 
Dimplyred's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th August 2007
Location: Staffordshire, Cheshire & Shropshire ENGLAND
Posts: 24,216
Thanks: 229
Thanked 1,835 Times in 1,604 Posts
iTrader: (15)
Have you got the ignition turned on?
Dimplyred is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 9th October 2010, 16:57 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 2008 CTS-GT, Silver
Join Date: 10th May 2009
Location: Sheffield, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Yup. I would hazzard a guess that the switch that allows the sockets only to be used when the car is running is not working.

Anyone know where this is so I can check it?
davo830 is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 9th October 2010, 17:12
Cockup Specialist
 
Relic's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 2.2 Type 'S' GT, Bronze
Join Date: 31st August 2009
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 12,885
Thanks: 791
Thanked 1,690 Times in 1,437 Posts
iTrader: (0)
My rear socket was dead...someone at swindon neglected to connect the wire at the fusebox



Relic is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 9th October 2010, 17:18 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 2008 CTS-GT, Silver
Join Date: 10th May 2009
Location: Sheffield, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Mine have both been working in the past, but it has just come back from the dealers after they unsuccessfully tried to fix the roof blind for the second time. Ah well another problem for them next week.

On another note does anyone know if the layout of the under the bonnet fusebox was changed when they did the recall as I don't think mine looks the same as what is in the manual and two fuses are missing. Or anyone is camera happy and is willing to take a pic of their bonnet fusebox so I could compare and see if mine are missing any fuses then that would be appreciated!

Last edited by davo830; 9th October 2010 at 17:50.
davo830 is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 9th October 2010, 18:34 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 2008 CTS-GT, Silver
Join Date: 10th May 2009
Location: Sheffield, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thought I would take the cover off so I could view the fusebox better and came across this yellow connector not doing anything, what is it and should it be plugged in?

davo830 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 25th November 2010, 19:29 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 2008 CTS-GT, Silver
Join Date: 10th May 2009
Location: Sheffield, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Update: The dealership in Sheffield who carried out the fusebox recall warranty work forgot to plug a few cables back into the replacement fusebox. Worth complaining about??
davo830 is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 25th November 2010, 19:31
Cockup Specialist
 
Relic's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 2.2 Type 'S' GT, Bronze
Join Date: 31st August 2009
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 12,885
Thanks: 791
Thanked 1,690 Times in 1,437 Posts
iTrader: (0)
LMAO.......... put it down to experience mate



Relic is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 25th November 2010, 19:45 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 2008 CTS-GT, Silver
Join Date: 10th May 2009
Location: Sheffield, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Yeah I would but then they tried fixing the roof blind fault by trying to bend the rails with a screwdriver! (pics to follow as soon as I get them off another Honda dealer who were shocked when they saw it)
davo830 is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 25th November 2010, 23:55
Cockup Specialist
 
Relic's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 2.2 Type 'S' GT, Bronze
Join Date: 31st August 2009
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 12,885
Thanks: 791
Thanked 1,690 Times in 1,437 Posts
iTrader: (0)




Relic is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 3rd December 2010, 22:31
 
Join Date: 20th November 2010
Location: Cowes IOW GB
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Cigarette lighter - blown fuse - answer

I had this with my (new to me) Civic (58 plate).

The techie at the dealership said it was due to sat nav/ mobile chargers being plugged in when the ignition was on. This causes a surge or spike which blows the fuse.

He said the slution is to plug the charger/ adaptor in before you switch the power on .

Bill
BillP is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 4th December 2010, 10:48
 
Car: 2007 diesel 5 door, ES.
Join Date: 9th July 2010
Location: UK GB
Posts: 48
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
My rear socket has never worked since I got the car (second hand). The fuse is fine. It's due its first service in Jan, I'll ask them to look at it then - others have said that sometimes they forget to connect them on the production line, so it could just be that the first owner never tried to use it...
swaldman is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrics Rear power socket not working swaldman Electronics (8G) 10 3rd August 2010 07:19
Other Power to the rear socket?? Unknownsoldier Electronics (8G) 4 12th July 2010 17:01
Tip for getting to the accessory socket spile General Discussion (8G) 20 18th September 2008 08:46
Electrics Rear 12v power socket fennj Electronics (8G) 6 30th October 2007 22:19
Electrics Permanent live to the Power Socket Miggins Electronics (8G) 11 31st August 2006 12:27

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome