Electrics HFT Stopped working - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 41 (permalink) Old 11th November 2010, 10:55 Thread Starter
 
FlashAsh99's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th February 2009
Location: London, UK GB
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
HFT Stopped working

Hi,

Recently I have been having trouble with the handsfree system. Where if you press the call button off the steering wheel, nothing happens. No sound, nothing. It just seems to have stopped working altogether.

Is there a way I can reset the system, in the car or something so that it starts working again?

Anyone else had this problem?

I have a 5 door EX 2006 Model.
FlashAsh99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 41 (permalink) Old 11th November 2010, 12:00
...............Daedalus
 
mpn_daedalus's Avatar
 
Car: CW Type R No. 460
Join Date: 5th August 2010
Location: Norfolk, UK GB
Posts: 3,687
Thanks: 236
Thanked 445 Times in 413 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Not had this problem on mine.

Only way I can think to reset the system would be to disconnect the battery for a few minutes, although I'm not sure if that would even do anything to the HFT.

If that doesn't work then it looks like a trip to the dealers
mpn_daedalus is offline  
post #3 of 41 (permalink) Old 11th November 2010, 12:27
Supporter
 
Join Date: 27th October 2009
Location: leicester, uk GB
Posts: 762
Thanks: 6
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Blown fuse?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpn_daedalus View Post
Not had this problem on mine.

Only way I can think to reset the system would be to disconnect the battery for a few minutes, although I'm not sure if that would even do anything to the HFT.

If that doesn't work then it looks like a trip to the dealers
rborhara is offline  
 
post #4 of 41 (permalink) Old 11th November 2010, 12:32
 
ramirou's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 2.2EX Black
Join Date: 18th August 2010
Location: Leicester GB
Posts: 14
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlashAsh99 View Post
Hi,

Recently I have been having trouble with the handsfree system. Where if you press the call button off the steering wheel, nothing happens. No sound, nothing. It just seems to have stopped working altogether.

Is there a way I can reset the system, in the car or something so that it starts working again?

Anyone else had this problem?

I have a 5 door EX 2006 Model.
Is your phone properly paired with the car?
ramirou is offline  
post #5 of 41 (permalink) Old 11th November 2010, 12:32
Supporter
 
sims0519's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 Type S GT 2.2 Diesel
Join Date: 20th July 2010
Location: Witham, Essex, UK GB
Posts: 135
Thanks: 22
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (3)
I have something similar too, but not sure whether it is the phone or not.

I have a Nokia E72, when I try to call out to either landline or iPhone, it works ok.

When I receive calls from landline it works ok, but when my gf calls me from her iPhone there is no speech from her.

Is yours similar?
sims0519 is offline  
post #6 of 41 (permalink) Old 11th November 2010, 12:37 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
FlashAsh99's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th February 2009
Location: London, UK GB
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramirou View Post
Is your phone properly paired with the car?
[QUOTE=sims0519;749984]I have something similar too, but not sure whether it is the phone or not.

I have a Nokia E72, when I try to call out to either landline or iPhone, it works ok.

When I receive calls from landline it works ok, but when my gf calls me from her iPhone there is no speech from her.

Is yours similar?

It's not the phone.... It's the HFT.... I can't even get into the phone setup options to even pair any phone. Like i said, I press the call button and nothing happens.
FlashAsh99 is offline  
post #7 of 41 (permalink) Old 11th November 2010, 17:36
Supporter
 
afroboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th November 2010
Location: Birmingham, UK GB
Posts: 191
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
weird one, could prehaps try taking the fuse out if you can find it and dont want to disconnect the battery?
afroboy is offline  
post #8 of 41 (permalink) Old 16th November 2010, 18:17
 
ramirou's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 2.2EX Black
Join Date: 18th August 2010
Location: Leicester GB
Posts: 14
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlashAsh99 View Post
Hi,

Recently I have been having trouble with the handsfree system. Where if you press the call button off the steering wheel, nothing happens. No sound, nothing. It just seems to have stopped working altogether.

Is there a way I can reset the system, in the car or something so that it starts working again?

Anyone else had this problem?

I have a 5 door EX 2006 Model.
Any update on your problem?
Have you checked the fuse as recommended?
ramirou is offline  
post #9 of 41 (permalink) Old 17th November 2010, 02:40 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
FlashAsh99's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th February 2009
Location: London, UK GB
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramirou View Post
Any update on your problem?
Have you checked the fuse as recommended?

Does anyone know where I access the fuse, and which one I need to check? Is there a diagram anywhere?
FlashAsh99 is offline  
post #10 of 41 (permalink) Old 17th November 2010, 16:45
 
ramirou's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 2.2EX Black
Join Date: 18th August 2010
Location: Leicester GB
Posts: 14
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Have a look into your user manual
ramirou is offline  
post #11 of 41 (permalink) Old 17th November 2010, 16:48 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
FlashAsh99's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th February 2009
Location: London, UK GB
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramirou View Post
Have a look into your user manual
I have done so, but I can't find a fuse that say's it is for the HFT.
FlashAsh99 is offline  
post #12 of 41 (permalink) Old 10th July 2011, 02:26
Supporter
 
parsnip's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st June 2008
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 92
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I have the same problem, took it to the stealers, Honda kindly said they'd let me pay 550 for a new ECU
parsnip is offline  
post #13 of 41 (permalink) Old 6th October 2011, 19:12
 
Join Date: 25th July 2008
Location: Cheshire GB
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Did this HFT problem get resolved ? I have just had the same problem happen on my 2006 EX, does anyone have a solution press the buttons on steering wheel nothing happens and not even a phone displayed on screen if though my mobile says it is paired. For some strange reason just stopped working. If there is a fuse, can anyone tell me where it's located. Thanks.
stevecivicex is offline  
post #14 of 41 (permalink) Old 8th October 2011, 09:45
 
Join Date: 25th July 2008
Location: Cheshire GB
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Fixed it.

Well thanks to no reply from members on this issue, i decided to remove the bluetooth module from panel above drivers legs in footwell, unplugged the unit opened the box, 2 x circuit boards seemed ok, so decided to plug it back in hey presto hft active again, put back together and refit stops working, take apart again and begins to work, me thinks maybe bad connection so i start to twist the wire loom with the dozen or so wires that go to the plug, unit goes off and then on, so i guess it was a broken wire so i straghtened them out as the loom was twisted and bent re-assembled and all seems fine now. Will get the spark in work to check and replace the wires next week. Saving from Honda Stealers off 860.00 for a new bluetooth module.
stevecivicex is offline  
post #15 of 41 (permalink) Old 9th October 2011, 09:34
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevecivicex View Post
Well thanks to no reply from members on this issue, i decided to remove the bluetooth module from panel above drivers legs in footwell, unplugged the unit opened the box, 2 x circuit boards seemed ok, so decided to plug it back in hey presto hft active again, put back together and refit stops working, take apart again and begins to work, me thinks maybe bad connection so i start to twist the wire loom with the dozen or so wires that go to the plug, unit goes off and then on, so i guess it was a broken wire so i straghtened them out as the loom was twisted and bent re-assembled and all seems fine now. Will get the spark in work to check and replace the wires next week. Saving from Honda Stealers off 860.00 for a new bluetooth module.
Maybe it could be where one of the wires meets the pins in the plug... must me a manufacturing defect as others have had similar probs (but not diagnosed) and it's hardly wear and tear as the module is in a place where it does not move or get touched.

Good detective work, well done
Bog is offline  
Thanks to Bog from:
post #16 of 41 (permalink) Old 9th October 2011, 15:28
 
Join Date: 18th June 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
i had the exact same problem. After a load of messing and head scratching i discovered it to be the battery! Had also noticed the car was a little slugish starting up some days. Got a new battery and hey presto the hands free works again! It was the last straw before i was robbed by Honda and it worked! - It seems that if the battery is not at more or less full capicity i doesnt transmit bluetooth?

Last edited by lespaul; 9th October 2011 at 15:42.
lespaul is offline  
Thanks to lespaul from:
post #17 of 41 (permalink) Old 1st December 2011, 19:23
 
Join Date: 1st December 2011
Location: london ENGLAND
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
HFT issue message for stevecivicex

stevecivicex, I seem to be having the same problem as you. My bluetooth modeule is situated begind where the clock is (centre top of dash). Where is the wriring that had the issue? is it above drivers leg?
sammyrashid is offline  
post #18 of 41 (permalink) Old 4th December 2011, 11:52
 
Join Date: 12th December 2010
Location: London ENGLAND
Posts: 84
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lespaul View Post
i had the exact same problem. After a load of messing and head scratching i discovered it to be the battery! Had also noticed the car was a little slugish starting up some days. Got a new battery and hey presto the hands free works again! It was the last straw before i was robbed by Honda and it worked! - It seems that if the battery is not at more or less full capicity i doesnt transmit bluetooth?
Same problem, same solution!
creakymr2 is offline  
post #19 of 41 (permalink) Old 6th December 2011, 12:35
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by sammyrashid View Post
stevecivicex, I seem to be having the same problem as you. My bluetooth modeule is situated begind where the clock is (centre top of dash). Where is the wriring that had the issue? is it above drivers leg?
What Civic do you have? ..... The HFT/Bluetooth module is not behind the clock on the 8th Gens with factory fitted HFT... Its behind the lower dash panel under the steering wheel.
Bog is offline  
post #20 of 41 (permalink) Old 19th January 2012, 19:07
Supporter
 
dunnichen's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 TypeS GT2.2 Red
Join Date: 8th April 2010
Location: Edinburgh SCOTLAND
Posts: 1,045
Thanks: 6
Thanked 42 Times in 41 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to dunnichen Send a message via Skype™ to dunnichen
HEEELLLPP!!!

My HFT has stopped working, restarted car several times, restarted phone several times but to no avail, I drastically need it for work....the phone doesn't find the car from its own searching and the car doesn't find the phone...bizarrre, yes phone is in discovery mode too...
Now she butts in all the time and tells me that "starting the pairing process from the phone is not allowed and please use the phone set-up option from the main menu"...it's like she's got a glitch and won't shut up...

Anyone? Please...desperado here!
dunnichen is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Tags
handsfree , hft

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrics Rev Counter/Speedo stopped working nickmcd333 Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 0 9th May 2010 17:01
Battery Alternator Stopped Working DeshiUK Electronics (8G) 0 1st December 2009 15:02
Dropped my PS3! now its stopped working! leepickering16 Any non Civic chat here please! 18 26th November 2009 16:19
Faults VTEC just stopped working!!! 19 milano Engines and Transmission (8G) 56 10th November 2009 20:55
Head Dipped Lights stopped working Azbo Lights (8G) 13 24th January 2009 11:04

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome