Satnav "Display Nearest Pub" - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 2nd April 2007, 13:45 Thread Starter
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
"Display Nearest Pub"

And apparently my nearest pub is in Brittany/France!

I've got news for them, it's just round the corner.

The other options I have tried work OK and display what I would expect.
Kremmen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 2nd April 2007, 14:01
King of the rodeo
 
czechplastik's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th October 2006
Location: Belfast IE
Posts: 4,824
Thanks: 5
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to czechplastik
Close to calais, you can visit mcdonalds while you're at it!
czechplastik is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 2nd April 2007, 14:40 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Never thought of that
Kremmen is offline  
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 2nd April 2007, 14:44
Wine and cooking !
 
l-noel's Avatar
 
Car: 2008, Grey Mica 1.5 Materia
Join Date: 5th December 2006
Location: Roanne-France FR
Posts: 1,526
Thanks: 9
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
And apparently my nearest pub is in Brittany/France!

I've got news for them, it's just round the corner.

The other options I have tried work OK and display what I would expect.
You are sure it is not the POI planned for Geoff ?
Or maybe he is moving in Brittany because of that !
l-noel is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 2nd April 2007, 15:23
 
Join Date: 8th January 2007
Posts: 423
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
The Civ Sat Nav sounds like a load of fun - I feel like I'm missing out with my TomTom.

Altho TT Tim did start speaking in Albanian the other day, which was helpful!!
Lexie is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 2nd April 2007, 15:58 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
The TT does have a few advantages over the Civic built in unit like the display can be 3D if required and you can actually see it in night mode. Also the ability to add the safety cameras was a bonus.

However, the Civic SatNav is built in and therefore no physical setting up or dangling leads.

My TT used to spend most of it's time in my bag because I couldn't be bothered to get it out on normal days.

The Civic unit wins because of the quick scale change to see what's ahead plus as above, it's always ready for action.
Kremmen is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 2nd April 2007, 16:42
Wine and cooking !
 
l-noel's Avatar
 
Car: 2008, Grey Mica 1.5 Materia
Join Date: 5th December 2006
Location: Roanne-France FR
Posts: 1,526
Thanks: 9
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I'm happy not having spend 3 500 (cost of the navsat system + Leather pack) in a system where it is impossible to add your own datas, where the database is obsolete etc... It is not specific to honda, my father as the same problem with his Bmw ! So Investing 600 in a nvi 660 with the brodit mounting kit.

The only minus is the fact I will loose the signal in tunnel, underground parkplace etc...
l-noel is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 2nd April 2007, 16:52
Definately Female!
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Car: 1.8 ES Civic 2012, white
Join Date: 11th May 2006
Location: Middlesex ENGLAND
Posts: 2,966
Thanks: 71
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
And apparently my nearest pub is in Brittany/France!

I've got news for them, it's just round the corner.

The other options I have tried work OK and display what I would expect.

But Kremmen if you know it is just around the corner, no harm done
Topcat is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 2nd April 2007, 17:59
Supporter
 
apemonkeyman's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 2.2 5 door, Lumpy Black
Join Date: 2nd February 2007
Location: Upleadon, Gloucestershire ENGLAND
Posts: 699
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to apemonkeyman Send a message via Yahoo to apemonkeyman Send a message via Skype™ to apemonkeyman
The POI database on the Civic satnav is a joke.

I heard that they list businesses who advertise so really this is rather like a Yellow Pages where only display ads are shown rather than a useful comprehensive database.

I did complain Navteq about this but all I got was an automated reply telling me to follow some links to documents about using the POI features instead of a human relevant response.

If I had known the satnav POI was going to be this bad I would've considered aftermarket satnav & HFT on an ES or Sport instead of buying the flagship EX model.

My car is fantastic but do wish I'd found Civinfo before I ordered so I could've made a more informed choice.
apemonkeyman is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 2nd April 2007, 20:07
 
Join Date: 14th May 2006
Posts: 382
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by apemonkeyman View Post
The POI database on the Civic satnav is a joke.
I'm not sure I agree. I use it a lot for hotels, services, petrol stations and golf courses and it is fine; it's sometimes out of date, but then they all are. I know that restaurants, pubs, banks etc aren't so good but I don't need to use my sat nav for that.

BTW, why do Shell petrol stations have a shell sign on the map, and all others are just a blue pump symbol?
pjelsworth is offline  
post #11 of 24 (permalink) Old 2nd April 2007, 20:12
 
Join Date: 7th February 2007
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
And apparently my nearest pub is in Brittany/France!

I've got news for them, it's just round the corner.

The other options I have tried work OK and display what I would expect.
What are you moaning about? You`ve got a great excuse now for disappearing over sees for a few days!!
spidey`s lunchbox is offline  
post #12 of 24 (permalink) Old 2nd April 2007, 20:12
 
Join Date: 7th February 2007
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Overseas!!
spidey`s lunchbox is offline  
post #13 of 24 (permalink) Old 2nd April 2007, 20:17
Supporter
 
apemonkeyman's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 2.2 5 door, Lumpy Black
Join Date: 2nd February 2007
Location: Upleadon, Gloucestershire ENGLAND
Posts: 699
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to apemonkeyman Send a message via Yahoo to apemonkeyman Send a message via Skype™ to apemonkeyman
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjelsworth View Post
I'm not sure I agree. I use it a lot for hotels, services, petrol stations and golf courses and it is fine; it's sometimes out of date, but then they all are. I know that restaurants, pubs, banks etc aren't so good but I don't need to use my sat nav for that.

BTW, why do Shell petrol stations have a shell sign on the map, and all others are just a blue pump symbol?
Glad it's properly of use for you but on the few occasions I've needed to use it I've ended up having to look elsewhere for info. Yes the petrol stations work out fine but for my purposes it doesn't cover me. I don't want to need something in an unfamiliar place only to be let down by the POI - I soon learn not to rely on this expensive gadget.

I guess Shell have shelled out for it!
apemonkeyman is offline  
post #14 of 24 (permalink) Old 3rd April 2007, 07:57 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
What are you moaning about? You`ve got a great excuse now for disappearing over sees for a few days!!


Not so sure about a french "Pub" though!
Kremmen is offline  
post #15 of 24 (permalink) Old 3rd April 2007, 09:36
Wine and cooking !
 
l-noel's Avatar
 
Car: 2008, Grey Mica 1.5 Materia
Join Date: 5th December 2006
Location: Roanne-France FR
Posts: 1,526
Thanks: 9
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post


Not so sure about a french "Pub" though!
Oh we have some real "Irish Pub" with real Irish in it !

Go in Rennes and visit the Rue St Michel, nickname "Rue de la Soif" ! You have one of the nicest pub/bar collection in France

But You're right the real "english pub" miss me
l-noel is offline  
post #16 of 24 (permalink) Old 3rd April 2007, 13:15 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
From memory I think the nearest one listed was actually a Bistro.
Kremmen is offline  
post #17 of 24 (permalink) Old 3rd April 2007, 14:31
Wine and cooking !
 
l-noel's Avatar
 
Car: 2008, Grey Mica 1.5 Materia
Join Date: 5th December 2006
Location: Roanne-France FR
Posts: 1,526
Thanks: 9
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Far far away from a real cosy Pub !

Bistro is comming from a russian Word "Bistro" meaning Hurry/Quick, because after Napoleonian wars when russian army where stationed near paris the Soldier come in the bars and caf screaming "Bistro"
Yet It is a common name for a local bar open Early in the morning and closing quite early in the evening (7-8pm) where the local workers/employes come before and after the job to have a caf (with croissant, a beer, a glass of wine or other stuff (by "a" I mean a minimum of one...), where you can have a snack for lunch time etc... Not exactly as cosy as an English pub
l-noel is offline  
post #18 of 24 (permalink) Old 3rd April 2007, 15:58 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I wonder where the programming took place or the POI's were inserted ?

Thanks for the Bistro info
Kremmen is offline  
post #19 of 24 (permalink) Old 3rd April 2007, 16:26
Wine and cooking !
 
l-noel's Avatar
 
Car: 2008, Grey Mica 1.5 Materia
Join Date: 5th December 2006
Location: Roanne-France FR
Posts: 1,526
Thanks: 9
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
I wonder where the programming took place or the POI's were inserted ?

Thanks for the Bistro info
It was a pleasure.

Navteq can give POI with the Map. In my Nuvi (navteq Map) the POI are inserted by the manufacturer (Garmin), the others by me. So it depend of the navsat manufacturer and upon what did Honda ask them (I suppose you must have all the Honda service point in Europe included as a minimum).

Question : is it possible for you to add POI in the database (like speed cameras or others...)
l-noel is offline  
post #20 of 24 (permalink) Old 3rd April 2007, 17:15 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Not possible with the built in unit unfortunately.

"Find Nearest Speed Camera"
Kremmen is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phone Blackberry 8300 "Curve" %$'[email protected]^ pairing with Bluetooth BlacknBlue Electronics (8G) 8 7th August 2009 12:45
Wheels Mafia Honda Civic 1.4, "PIMPED" ... DanKo Gallery (8G) 34 7th January 2008 20:41
Tyre Choice Warning! "Fake" tyres being sold (including Goodyear F1) Pottsy Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 16 5th October 2007 12:43
Satnav "No DVD Disc Installed. Please Check System." Error message BobTheLoveGoat Electronics (8G) 2 30th March 2007 21:28
Brakes Rear "wobble" under hard braking? Maxbert Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 6 6th February 2007 16:36

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome