Speedo Rev counter not showing?? - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 26th November 2010, 17:51 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 26th November 2010
Location: Cardiff, UK WALES
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Rev counter not showing??

My rev counter is not showing up to the left of the "economy" and speedometer.... would there be any reason for this and how can I get it??

Thanks

James
jamesl1208 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 26th November 2010, 17:53
 
davesmithson's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 2.2 idtec alabaster
Join Date: 20th September 2010
Location: HULL,UK ENGLAND
Posts: 215
Thanks: 12
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
not sure if rev counter can be displayed permanately but does come on during heavy acceleration on mine
davesmithson is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 26th November 2010, 17:57
Supporter
 
sonam's Avatar
 
Car: Sport+ CVT
Join Date: 18th June 2008
Location: Athens, Greece AO
Posts: 724
Thanks: 274
Thanked 112 Times in 80 Posts
iTrader: (0)
You have to rev near the limiter, 6700rpm for our car...
Also check the option at your information panel.
sonam is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 26th November 2010, 18:20 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 26th November 2010
Location: Cardiff, UK WALES
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
ok thanks.... seems silly to only show it at top revs though...why didn't they just put the main one there
jamesl1208 is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 26th November 2010, 18:40
Supporter
 
sonam's Avatar
 
Car: Sport+ CVT
Join Date: 18th June 2008
Location: Athens, Greece AO
Posts: 724
Thanks: 274
Thanked 112 Times in 80 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesl1208 View Post
ok thanks.... seems silly to only show it at top revs though...why didn't they just put the main one there
It notifies to you the correct fragment of the second in order to achieve the perfect gear change!!!
sonam is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 26th November 2010, 19:20 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 26th November 2010
Location: Cardiff, UK WALES
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
so I shouldn't change gear until it lights up??
jamesl1208 is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 26th November 2010, 19:24
Supporter
 
sonam's Avatar
 
Car: Sport+ CVT
Join Date: 18th June 2008
Location: Athens, Greece AO
Posts: 724
Thanks: 274
Thanked 112 Times in 80 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesl1208 View Post
so I shouldn't change gear until it lights up??
Lol jocking sorry if I messed up your mind, just kidding.

If you do so you will change gear near the limiter.

Let's say their job is to inform you that you are going near the limiter, so you'd better change the gear.
sonam is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 26th November 2010, 19:25 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 26th November 2010
Location: Cardiff, UK WALES
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
lol - I can imagine me getting angry trying to make the light go on before I change gear!!
jamesl1208 is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 27th November 2010, 14:39
Supporter
 
Tenpole Tudor's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 5 door Silver
Join Date: 16th October 2010
Location: Ellesmere, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 73
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Its a gimick. Theres an article in wiki about it. I believe that its to tell you when you are near the limiter in order to change up, because, if you are driving in such a style, you will be too busy looking out of the windscreen to see your rev counter.... but you should see the yellow lights...
Tenpole Tudor is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 27th November 2010, 14:51
OMG8THGENEX
 
Andy_K's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Civic EX
Join Date: 2nd January 2008
Location: Leeds, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 840
Thanks: 48
Thanked 55 Times in 41 Posts
iTrader: (5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenpole Tudor View Post
Its a gimick. Theres an article in wiki about it. I believe that its to tell you when you are near the limiter in order to change up, because, if you are driving in such a style, you will be too busy looking out of the windscreen to see your rev counter.... but you should see the yellow lights...
I agree... certainly a gimmick on anything other than the FN2... I mean, at what moment would you be so rapidly approaching warp factor 10 that you would not have chance to glimpse at the rev counter in a 1.4 SE?
Not really a feature that you can use on the roads either, try explaining to the police "I have no idea what speed I was doing as the only thing I got chance to glimpse at was the limiter warning below the windscreen"!
Andy_K is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 27th November 2010, 15:36
Supporter
 
steve fox's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 SE Blueish Silver
Join Date: 5th June 2009
Location: Bingham, South Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 748
Thanks: 7
Thanked 54 Times in 49 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Totally useless gimmick - better left disabled IMO
steve fox is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 28th November 2010, 11:46
Supporter
 
sonam's Avatar
 
Car: Sport+ CVT
Join Date: 18th June 2008
Location: Athens, Greece AO
Posts: 724
Thanks: 274
Thanked 112 Times in 80 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve fox View Post
Totally useless gimmick - better left disabled IMO
No, of course not!!! When I reach the six led mark, I can feel my adrenaline raising!!!

It' s as useful as our engine start button!!!
sonam is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 28th November 2010, 11:59
Supporter
 
Tenpole Tudor's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 5 door Silver
Join Date: 16th October 2010
Location: Ellesmere, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 73
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonam View Post
No, of course not!!! When I reach the six led mark, I can feel my adrenaline raising!!!

It' s as useful as our engine start button!!!

Enough said. If it was a full key-less set up then the start button would make more sense. Like the rev lights, its a gimmick....but i still like it though!
Tenpole Tudor is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 1st December 2010, 22:15
 
superficial's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th June 2010
Location: Lancaster ENGLAND
Posts: 216
Thanks: 2
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
iTrader: (0)
One thing I love about the Type R's awesome engine is the ability to determine revs by the engine note. I have no need for the rev lights - I change gear when it sounds right.
superficial is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 1st December 2010, 22:27
Supporter
 
sonam's Avatar
 
Car: Sport+ CVT
Join Date: 18th June 2008
Location: Athens, Greece AO
Posts: 724
Thanks: 274
Thanked 112 Times in 80 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by superficial View Post
One thing I love about the Type R's awesome engine is the ability to determine revs by the engine note. I have no need for the rev lights - I change gear when it sounds right.
This os easy also for the type s/1.8 and I believe it's also the same for the 2.2
sonam is offline  
post #16 of 16 (permalink) Old 2nd December 2010, 18:11
Supporter
 
afroboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th November 2010
Location: Birmingham, UK GB
Posts: 191
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
As the rest of the guys say its to let you know that your approaching the limit and you need to shift up a gear

... Granted it is a gimmick but comes in Handy as if you have a FN2 and want to throw it about a bit, you want to keep the Vtech light on, changing gear once you have the orange LED's lit lets you know how much your pushing it to the limit


when your driving fairly fast, your not going to look down at the Rev counter by the steering wheel


.... once you've been driving it for a while, you'll know when your approaching the limit due to the sound of the engine ...... or if your like me you know the VTech has engaged due to your giant erection


.... to turn on the Rev LED's its done in the settings, hold down the setting button on the steering whell and scroll through the menu's
afroboy is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrics Rev Counter esse-esse Electronics (8G) 7 21st November 2010 15:53
Photo's Showing Full Reg No jaygee58 General Discussion (8G) 18 19th February 2010 00:34
Amazing Video showing the Manufacturing of the Civic. egraphistudios General Discussion (8G) 23 21st May 2009 21:21
Satnav showing speed camera on sat nav icivic06 Electronics (8G) 8 10th February 2009 16:21
Performance Rev Counter Doubtingthomas Engines and Transmission (8G) 37 27th November 2007 13:34

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome