Phone HTC Desire contacts to Honda HFT via bluetooth - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 9th January 2011, 22:13 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
kenP's Avatar
 
Car: 2014 1.6 i-Dtec SR, Red
Join Date: 12th January 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK GB
Posts: 853
Thanks: 0
Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Unhappy HTC Desire contacts to Honda HFT via bluetooth

I've just transferred my phone contacts via bluetooth to the Honda HFT system.

This has worked fine apart from the fact that the car phonebook shows an entry for every contact type, so if someones number is stored on Google and they also have a facebook account I end up with 2 entries.

I don't seem to be able to stop the phone from sending certain contacts and there doesn't seem to be a way of deleting individual contacts from the imported phone book, and the Sat-nav manual doesn't even mention the phone import (it is part of the sat nav system).

It's not a disaster just annoying as I now have 83 entries instead of about 40.

Any ideas.
kenP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 10th January 2011, 21:09 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
kenP's Avatar
 
Car: 2014 1.6 i-Dtec SR, Red
Join Date: 12th January 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK GB
Posts: 853
Thanks: 0
Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Oh well looks like I'll just have to put up with it.
kenP is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 11th January 2011, 18:58
 
william1134's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 1.8 EX
Join Date: 4th December 2010
Location: south east england ENGLAND
Posts: 33
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Is there not a way to edit your HFT phonebook?

I have a HTC Legend and am thinking of importing my contacts into the car.
william1134 is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 11th January 2011, 19:06 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
kenP's Avatar
 
Car: 2014 1.6 i-Dtec SR, Red
Join Date: 12th January 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK GB
Posts: 853
Thanks: 0
Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (0)
You can edit the voice activated phonebook stored in the telephone system but not the one transfered via bluetooth to the sat nav system.

All I can do is import or delete the whole phone book, it would be OK if you could control which items the phone sent.

I'm not sure if the sat nav phone book is a new feature for the 2009 cars but I can't find it in the manual.
kenP is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 12th January 2011, 00:44
 
Car: 2008 2.2 civic EX
Join Date: 16th November 2010
Location: Surrey, Uk ENGLAND
Posts: 187
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (2)
If you can delete the whole phonebook, thats simple..

Delete the whole phone book
Go into facebook mainpage, settings, disable 'sync all contacts'
Go into settings -> Accounts, disable anything you don't want synced in there
Now sync with your car, and then re-enable them settings.


Does that not do it? Haven't got my Civic yet to try it .
Jonno12345 is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 12th January 2011, 20:42
 
william1134's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 1.8 EX
Join Date: 4th December 2010
Location: south east england ENGLAND
Posts: 33
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Nice one, ill give it a go!!
william1134 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 26th February 2012, 10:55
Supporter
 
upopup's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th July 2008
Location: Lincoln ENGLAND
Posts: 162
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi, just tried to load my phonebook onto HFT from my HTC desire, and it keeps telling me that the phone does not support this function, Bluetooth connection has always been ok and the phone works fine other wise, any suggestions?? Tried exporting to the card first also , still same message, HELP PLEASE!! ( sorry for highjacking this thread)
upopup is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 27th February 2012, 22:14 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
kenP's Avatar
 
Car: 2014 1.6 i-Dtec SR, Red
Join Date: 12th January 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK GB
Posts: 853
Thanks: 0
Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I've had a HTC Desire and now a HTC Sensation and as far as I can remember you have to go into the bluetooth settings on the phone and make it discoverable (even though you've already paired the phone with the car), the phone will stay discoverable for 2 minutes.

If this doesn't work let me know and I'll check how I did it.
kenP is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 27th February 2012, 23:29
Supporter
 
upopup's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th July 2008
Location: Lincoln ENGLAND
Posts: 162
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenP View Post
I've had a HTC Desire and now a HTC Sensation and as far as I can remember you have to go into the bluetooth settings on the phone and make it discoverable (even though you've already paired the phone with the car), the phone will stay discoverable for 2 minutes.

If this doesn't work let me know and I'll check how I did it.
Thanks , will try that, seem to remember haveing to do that when pairing and forgot about it, will try in the morning and report back...
upopup is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 28th February 2012, 09:09
Supporter
 
upopup's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th July 2008
Location: Lincoln ENGLAND
Posts: 162
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by upopup View Post
Thanks , will try that, seem to remember haveing to do that when pairing and forgot about it, will try in the morning and report back...

Thanks KenP IT WORKED, I was assuming that once the phone was connected and the icon showing on the display the system should have known the phone was there, how stupid of me!!

Thanks again
upopup is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 28th February 2012, 23:59 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
kenP's Avatar
 
Car: 2014 1.6 i-Dtec SR, Red
Join Date: 12th January 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK GB
Posts: 853
Thanks: 0
Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by upopup View Post
Thanks KenP IT WORKED, I was assuming that once the phone was connected and the icon showing on the display the system should have known the phone was there, how stupid of me!!

Thanks again
I suppose it's a security thing, so that if you share a file with someone via bluetooth they can't then access all your contacts.
kenP is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which HTC...HTC Ace (HTC Desire HD) dunnichen Any non Civic chat here please! 82 14th November 2010 01:42
HTC desire sat nav phil99 Any non Civic chat here please! 8 23rd May 2010 12:44
Desire or x10 phil99 Any non Civic chat here please! 3 19th May 2010 19:27
Phone phonebook contacts saj Electronics (8G) 2 29th September 2009 14:48

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome