Satnav No Sat Nav voice when audio system is off? - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 13th April 2007, 13:23 Thread Starter
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
No Sat Nav voice when audio system is off?

Did a search but could not find anything, so sorry if this has been covered before....

On the way to work this morning, I noticed that with the HU switched off (via volume knob), did not get any sat nav voice instructions or voice command feedback. Is this normal?

I'm sure that before today, I could have the audio system switched off and still have the nav voice instructions and voice command feedback, or is my memory failing me?
Bog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 13th April 2007, 13:41
mes
 
Join Date: 4th April 2007
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi Bog,

Did this happen while u had a bluetooth phone connected to the car. If so it could be that you were in the phone menu and it stops the voice commands while in that menu. If you are in that menu you should see 'TEL' near the clock display. press the cancell button on the steering (bluetooth cancell) to exit menu.

hope this helps
mes is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 13th April 2007, 14:10
 
dondon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18th February 2007
Location: Hampshire ENGLAND
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
You need Sat Nav to get to work?????????
dondon is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 13th April 2007, 14:47
Supporter
 
apemonkeyman's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 2.2 5 door, Lumpy Black
Join Date: 2nd February 2007
Location: Upleadon, Gloucestershire ENGLAND
Posts: 699
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to apemonkeyman Send a message via Yahoo to apemonkeyman Send a message via Skype™ to apemonkeyman
I use satnav to & fro work so I get TMC warnings.
apemonkeyman is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 13th April 2007, 14:58 Thread Starter
Bog
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by dondon View Post
You need Sat Nav to get to work?????????
LOL - like I said, my memory is failing me

No I was just playing, I'd hit some traffic and was gonna let the sat nav take me on an alt. route.

Anyway I think I found the answer in Pottsy's post in this thread, although Richierich's response confuses me a bit, as he states 'I have managed to get the SatNav voice instructions with the radio switched on and off'
Bog is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 13th April 2007, 15:44
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Talking of TMC - it still confuses me

I have a Trafficmaster Freeway unit as well as TMC and the spoken warnings are far more intuitive.

By the time I have tried to work out what the TMC message is telling me, glancing from message to road to message to road it has usually timed out.

A typical spoken message from my Freeway will be:

"You are on the M25, junction 12 clockwise, stationary traffic for 6 miles between junctions 15 and 17, expect 25 minutes delay".

Now that is clear as day - why couldn't they have given the TMC a similar voice warning?
Kremmen is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 13th April 2007, 18:31
pcr
 
pcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th September 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 1,461
Thanks: 0
Thanked 51 Times in 49 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Bog, I can confirm what Richierich says, that satnav voice instructions work whether the audio is on or off.
pcr is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 13th April 2007, 19:08
Supporter
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
And yet for me, I have to have the radio on (even though the volume may be at 0). I quite like it that way, though, it gives an easy no-sound option.
Pottsy is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 13th April 2007, 19:20
Supporter
 
generationgav's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th May 2006
Location: Manchester, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 833
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to generationgav
Pottsy - Do you know if it has always been like this for your car? Couldn't be something to do with the loom could it?
generationgav is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 13th April 2007, 19:25
Supporter
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
Do you know, I was wondering that myself. I can't remember what it was like before the MP3 loom was added, sadly.
Pottsy is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 13th April 2007, 19:35 Thread Starter
Bog
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pottsy View Post
Do you know, I was wondering that myself. I can't remember what it was like before the MP3 loom was added, sadly.
I was thinking that too, as I've just fitted the loom! I'm sure it wasn't like it before and that's why I've noticed it.

If that's the case, it must mean that anyone who has the Honda ipod connection or the CD changer must be affected too!
Bog is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 13th April 2007, 20:08
pcr
 
pcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th September 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 1,461
Thanks: 0
Thanked 51 Times in 49 Posts
iTrader: (0)
So you guys now have an added feature, the ability to quickly turn the satnav voice off.
pcr is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head Unit audio system - replacement lubej Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 14 23rd May 2012 18:32
Upgrades Choose your new car audio system upgrade: psykik Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 4 9th October 2007 18:01
Built in CD Can you burn MP3s to a DVD disk and paly them on the audio system dylang652 Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 13 21st September 2007 16:56
Head Unit EX audio display FWH Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 2 10th June 2007 19:56
AUX in aux audio input vassilis Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 4 6th December 2006 19:49

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome