Satnav photo's - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 26th April 2007, 14:29 Thread Starter
TFL
 
Join Date: 16th January 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
photo's

Have heard a lot about the satnav, and would prefer a built in one to a portable. But would like to see the actual detail of it
Could some one post pictures of it working or describe the level of detail that it operates at
Cheers
TFL
TFL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 26th April 2007, 15:11
Supporter
 
Join Date: 6th August 2006
Location: England ENGLAND
Posts: 2,763
Thanks: 44
Thanked 65 Times in 56 Posts
iTrader: (0)
The detail is fine. No problems at all. The split screen is just like seeing the signs driving along the motorway. Incredible.

Just visit your local dealer and he will show you; you can't fail to be impressed.
allan40alt is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 26th April 2007, 15:25
Supporter
 
Type S Bournemouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th October 2006
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 1,040
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to Type S Bournemouth Send a message via MSN to Type S Bournemouth
Type S Bournemouth is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 26th April 2007, 21:25 Thread Starter
TFL
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 16th January 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
tis good, but i was wondering about inner city as well, road names displayed etc....
TFL is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 27th April 2007, 00:52
Supporter
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
the more you zoom in, the more detail it shows

trying to think now if it shows street names, but if it does I've not tried to read them while driving.

When you get near to a turning, it uses half the screen to show it in 'close up' and with a distance count down.


The only thing I miss is the '3D' view that Tom Tom does - but even that isn't a biggie.

Apart from that, it's at least as good as any other Sat Nav I've seen / used
(except the lack of fast food and pubs )
TTDegs is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 27th April 2007, 02:22
King of the rodeo
 
czechplastik's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th October 2006
Location: Belfast IE
Posts: 4,824
Thanks: 5
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to czechplastik
Quote:
Originally Posted by TTDegs View Post
trying to think now if it shows street names, but if it does I've not tried to read them while driving.
Does indeed, along the bottom as you drive.
czechplastik is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 27th April 2007, 08:01
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
If I may be allowed to throw a spanner in the works here...

The shortest (and best) route from Chez Krem to the mother-in-laws is 104 miles along A roads and Motorways. (West London to Great Malvern).

Both AutoRoute and my old TomTom agree with this and calculate the route I have been using for ages.

The Civ SatNav however reckons that it is 117miles and plots a different route!

Both the short and quickest routes are calculated as 117miles

Looking at the calculated route in detail it is definately not the shortest and arguably not the quickest.
Kremmen is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 27th April 2007, 12:06
 
Join Date: 7th April 2007
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I don't know what it is about SatNavs that makes them do this. They all use map data from two providers (NavTech and ... I forget the other one) so it must be something in the logic code which calculates the route. I've tried many Satnav and I've yet to find one which doews not do bizarre stuff at some point.

I guess I'd just be happy if the satnav in my civic (when it finally arrives) is no worse than what I've used so far.

H
hhuberla is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 27th April 2007, 12:48
 
Join Date: 14th May 2006
Posts: 382
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hhuberla View Post
I don't know what it is about SatNavs that makes them do this. They all use map data from two providers (NavTech and ... I forget the other one) so it must be something in the logic code which calculates the route. I've tried many Satnav and I've yet to find one which doews not do bizarre stuff at some point.

I guess I'd just be happy if the satnav in my civic (when it finally arrives) is no worse than what I've used so far.

H
The settings for average speed on motorways, A roads etc makes a difference to which route it chooses, but it doesn't expliain why it would get the distance wrong
pjelsworth is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 27th April 2007, 13:28
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
In my case the distance is not wrong for the route it is choosing. It's just not choosing the shortest route.

I could understand if any of my route was on back roads, but it isn't.

Instead of taking me via Woodstock - Broadway - Evesham it's taking me out via Cheltenham.
Kremmen is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 29th April 2007, 14:01
 
Join Date: 14th May 2006
Posts: 382
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
In my case the distance is not wrong for the route it is choosing. It's just not choosing the shortest route.

I could understand if any of my route was on back roads, but it isn't.

Instead of taking me via Woodstock - Broadway - Evesham it's taking me out via Cheltenham.
Ah so it could be the settings. I think the defaults are 60mph motorway, 45mph rural roads and 25mph urban which might not make sense if for example there are a lot of dual carriageways
pjelsworth is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 30th April 2007, 15:58
Supporter
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
quickest route is indeed all down to settings for average speeds on A / B roads / mways etc.

But yes, shortest should always be shortest!

Might be that the Honda sat nav doesn't believe a particular stretch of road exists

What happens if you use sat nav, but then take the short route to your mum's and let it recalc Kremmen?
Does it then use the short route (and get the overall distance right?)
TTDegs is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 30th April 2007, 17:04
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Being as I know the route I did just that, I kept letting it recalculate.

From Oxford services it kept telling me to take the 4th or 5th exit on the various roundabouts which was back up my own exhaust pipe.

Once I got to almost Woodstock it then calculated the correct route.

As you say, shortest should be shortest and I only use A roads or motorways - strange.

Next time I'm going to add in a Waypoint of Woodstock.
Kremmen is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 30th April 2007, 17:05
Supporter
 
apemonkeyman's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 2.2 5 door, Lumpy Black
Join Date: 2nd February 2007
Location: Upleadon, Gloucestershire ENGLAND
Posts: 699
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to apemonkeyman Send a message via Yahoo to apemonkeyman Send a message via Skype™ to apemonkeyman
On the Civ's satnav you don't get all 5 routing options on longer journeys - it automatically lops off some of the options leaving you with fastest & easiest I think. Bit of a bugger if you really want to completely avoid motorways.
apemonkeyman is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roof Rack photo's Tomthumb General Discussion (8G) 63 24th February 2013 15:19

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome