Electrics cigarette lighter - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th May 2007, 20:22 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
john1509's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th August 2006
Location: lancashire
Posts: 101
Thanks: 10
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
cigarette lighter

hi guys i need to get another cigrette lighter fitted into my car for the speed camara detector. at the moment i have a lead pluged into the one buy the gear stick but i need to get one fitted buy the fuse box on the drivers side. is this a easy thing i can do or do i need a auto elec to fit one. i anyone could give me some info it will be a big help tx
john1509 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th May 2007, 20:30
Supporter
 
Glass Spider's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16th June 2006
Location: London ENGLAND
Posts: 417
Thanks: 18
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Glass Spider is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 11th May 2007, 00:43
King of the rodeo
 
czechplastik's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th October 2006
Location: Belfast IE
Posts: 4,824
Thanks: 5
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to czechplastik
You can buy ones in halfords, works like a splitter.
czechplastik is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 11th May 2007, 08:01
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I found a unit in my local 'cheapie' shop that is a double power socket designed with screw/bolt holes to attach to a flat surface.

I have mounted it inside the armrest and fed the power cable through the removeable grommet to the existing cigarette lighter.

I have my Talex unit plugged into that which has allowed me to hide the power cable completely, and have another spare socket.

I found that the cigarette lighter spade connections to not solder well so I just trapped the wires in place when I reconnected.

Proper Job
Kremmen is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 11th May 2007, 11:07
Supporter
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
Pottsy is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 11th May 2007, 11:14
 
Join Date: 14th April 2007
Location: South Manchester/North Cheshire GB
Posts: 712
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I was in Halfords last night and noticed a 4way unit they do for £7.99. Plugs into the existing socket and has a unit with 4 sockets that can be mounted elsewhere.
I have a 3 way one that I have out in the cubby hole below the radio so that when I have nothing plugged in I can close the door and it doesn't show. Just need to hide the wire now
cylon2007 is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 11th May 2007, 11:51
Supporter
 
spile's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th January 2007
Location: Midlands
Posts: 308
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I ran an extension from the centre console socket to the duct to the right of the passenger footwell. The wires just tucked neatly out of the way.
spile is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 11th May 2007, 17:43
King of the rodeo
 
czechplastik's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th October 2006
Location: Belfast IE
Posts: 4,824
Thanks: 5
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to czechplastik
Quote:
Originally Posted by cylon2007 View Post
I was in Halfords last night and noticed a 4way unit they do for 7.99. Plugs into the existing socket and has a unit with 4 sockets that can be mounted elsewhere.
I have a 3 way one that I have out in the cubby hole below the radio so that when I have nothing plugged in I can close the door and it doesn't show. Just need to hide the wire now
Thats exactly the type of thing I meant, you just explained it a little better
czechplastik is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 11th May 2007, 19:21
Supporter
 
cautus's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th September 2006
Location: Windsor GB
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
IMHO the easiest way of picking up a power supply for any gadgets/gizmos that anybody might want to connect, is with a side by side connector direct from the fuse box.
You can get them here:
www.autoelectricsupplies.co.uk/product/715
cautus is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 11th May 2007, 23:47 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
john1509's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th August 2006
Location: lancashire
Posts: 101
Thanks: 10
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
hi pal what do you do with this. do you swap the fuse in the fusebox with this one then connect cigrette lighter from halfords to this. sorry if its a stupid question but im no auto elec
john1509 is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 12th May 2007, 00:57
Supporter
 
cautus's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th September 2006
Location: Windsor GB
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
As you are fitting a camera detector, you are only going to use it when the engine is running. So choose any fuse which is live in position 2 ie. with the ignition on. Remove it and place it in the connector. Add a fuse to protect the camera detector, usually 1amp is sufficient but difficult to get hold of. A 2amp will do. This is effectively your an inline fuse.
There is a bullet connector at the end of the short cable but personally I would remove this and solder the cable to the camera detector's power cable. Then just push the "side by side connector" into the empty slot in the fuse box. That's the positive side fixed.
Behind the fuse box you will see four earth wires connected to the metal body of the car.
Instead of using this point to connect the camera detector's earth, I would solder on a spade connector and loosening the bolt which you will see slightly nearer to you, slip the spade connector under & retighten.
You no longer need another lighter socket.
If your skills are not up to a bit of soldering, you could crimp on a bullet for the bullet connector and a spade for the earth.
cautus is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 12th May 2007, 10:47 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
john1509's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th August 2006
Location: lancashire
Posts: 101
Thanks: 10
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
tx pal well explained as i said im no auto elec but that seams simple enough thank you

Last edited by john1509; 12th May 2007 at 10:50.
john1509 is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 15th May 2007, 20:28 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
john1509's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th August 2006
Location: lancashire
Posts: 101
Thanks: 10
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
hi guys well just a update orderd the blade fuse holder that cautus surgested above. went to halfords and got a cigarette lighter. put 2amp fuse in the holder and went to plug it in in the fuse box by the drivers footwell and it was to big to go in there the fuses are only tiny ones. so checked the ones under the bonnet and there the same is the a smaller fuse holder that i can get tx
john1509 is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 15th May 2007, 21:43
 
Join Date: 14th April 2007
Location: South Manchester/North Cheshire GB
Posts: 712
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
As I said I added a 3 way adapter as follows:



At the moment it's plugged into the cig lighter socket

with the cable bluetacked in place


when I get time and the bottle I'll hide the cable and wire it to the back of the cig socket so it's hidden


Sorry for the rubbish pictures, must get a decent digicam
cylon2007 is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 15th May 2007, 22:21
Supporter
 
cautus's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th September 2006
Location: Windsor GB
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
John1509.
Not quite sure from your post what the problem is.
The fuse holder does fit, just sticks out a bit more.
The older type mini fuse and the one Honda's now using are interchangable and since there is no lid on the fuse box it really doesn't matter that it's a bit higher.
The mini blade holder is the easiest way I know of to hard wire any accessories with the added advantage you whip the wiring out and return to stock within seconds.
cautus is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 15th May 2007, 22:49 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
john1509's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th August 2006
Location: lancashire
Posts: 101
Thanks: 10
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
hi ** its not the hight of the fuse holder its the 2 prongs on the fuse holder they dont seem to fit into the fuse box ill have another look tommorow when its light tx
john1509 is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 16th June 2007, 18:12
 
Join Date: 13th May 2007
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
I bought a lighter plug and ran a cable from the boot socket up to the front of the car, a lighter socket from halfords attached to the cable then tucked away behind the flap in the centre console, or put into the arm rest, this way the car looks unchanged inside. If you fit the 3 way lighter expander to the cable you can power all your gadgets without using the lighter in the centre console.
slowhand is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[HOW TO] Secure the cig lighter a bit better Pottsy This is How To ... (Guides Only) (8G) 4 5th November 2013 01:44
Electrics RA Compact cigarette Cable for Garmin Nuvi? Bardley Electronics (8G) 6 19th August 2007 13:08
Electrics Cig lighter mihael Electronics (8G) 3 3rd November 2006 07:44
Electrics been busy... (cig lighter) TTDegs Electronics (8G) 5 31st August 2006 11:05
Trim Cig lighter Hole!!! Mark996 Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 8 21st May 2006 01:26

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome