TMC TrafficMaster TMC - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 16th May 2007, 17:17 Thread Starter
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
TrafficMaster TMC

Quote:
Features of Trafficmaster RDS TMC
  • Traffic data is received through a dedicated FM receiver within the satellite navigation system, so that drivers can still listen to other radio channels via the carís radio whilst the navigation system is listening to the traffic broadcast.
  • Messages arrive continuously and are displayed immediately to the driver. This means that users do not have to wait for traffic bulletins or rely on roadside information signs.
  • Only traffic information relevant to the location and route is provided.
  • Information can be displayed verbally or visually.
  • Information can be used to re-route drivers around traffic jams.
  • All events broadcast by the Trafficmaster service are traffic impacting.
Information can be displayed verbally or visually.

Why haven't we got that facility ?
Kremmen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 16th May 2007, 17:43
 
Join Date: 7th March 2007
Posts: 64
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I supose we do get this. On mine at least it pops up with tmc data and offers a reroute to avoid the traffic.

The only thing i don't like is the need to choose whether you re-route or not in such a short time. I invariably say no then call up the tmc data manually to decide if i want to re-route once i've managed to asses the imlications.
crispy is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 17th May 2007, 08:12 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Usually for me by the time I've worked out what it's trying to tell me it's timed out

That is why I still have my Trafficmaster Freeway installed.

Also - my Trafficmaster Freeway seems to be a lot more accurate than their TMC service.

Quite often on the M25 the Freeway will give a warning, the TMC will show a clear road but sure enough there is a jam, or the TMC warning is a couple of miles further on than the actual jam starts, which has been correctly identified by the Freeway.

Strange!
Kremmen is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 17th May 2007, 10:32
 
Join Date: 7th March 2007
Posts: 64
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I must be honest I haven't been too impressed with Honda's implementation of the TMC. Last time i let it recalculate a route it took 4 hrs on a 2hr journey to go round a 10 minute hod up!!!

Still, at least it will only take me 2 weeks to reach my nearest mcdonalds!
crispy is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2007, 11:08
 
Join Date: 27th January 2007
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
Usually for me by the time I've worked out what it's trying to tell me it's timed out

That is why I still have my Trafficmaster Freeway installed.

Also - my Trafficmaster Freeway seems to be a lot more accurate than their TMC service.

Quite often on the M25 the Freeway will give a warning, the TMC will show a clear road but sure enough there is a jam, or the TMC warning is a couple of miles further on than the actual jam starts, which has been correctly identified by the Freeway.

Strange!
I agree the Freeway is unbeatable. I bought mine 9 years ago and I trust it so much that I have never let the subscription lapse since. Much more reliable and up to date than any TMC or radio announcement.

Doug
jdcampbell is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2007, 11:19 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I bought 2 from Watford Electronics just before TM stopped making them.

Reduced from £70 to £30

So if one breaks I have a spare.

The people at the TM renewal centre are amazed that these were phased out because they still continue to get enquiries about buying them.
Kremmen is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TrafficMaster Q-Busta Kremmen Any non Civic chat here please! 10 16th November 2009 07:50
Add-on nav Satellite Navigation system Navteq Trafficmaster V-Trafic - download!! ElikBerg Electronics (8G) 19 26th March 2007 17:35

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome