Other FM radio keeps cutting out...? - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 16th June 2011, 09:59 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
tikigod19's Avatar
 
Join Date: 6th June 2011
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 216
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (1)
FM radio keeps cutting out...?

Hi all,

my FM radio keeps fading out and coming back in for about 0.5 seconds at a time every few mins and its beginning to do my head in!

Its almost as if the unit is searching for the frequency to confirm its tuned correctly or something. I've tried turning on and off some of the audio settings but can't seem to sort it.

Does anyone have any ideas?

While I'm on the subject of the radio, I think the answer to this is no but is it possible to customise your traffic announcements to only come through from certain radio stations? Being in Essex I have no interest in BBC Kent and BBC London traffic!
tikigod19 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 16th June 2011, 10:44
Supporter
 
steve fox's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 SE Blueish Silver
Join Date: 5th June 2009
Location: Bingham, South Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 748
Thanks: 7
Thanked 54 Times in 49 Posts
iTrader: (1)
RDS radios all do this - particularly if there is a choice of more than one transmitter for the station you are listening to. The radio keeps changing between frequencies as the signal strength varies. I suspect that having the traffic announcement switched on does it as well. Don't think there is any solution to it, unfortunately! It's just the radio doing what it's designed to do.
steve fox is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 16th June 2011, 17:42 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
tikigod19's Avatar
 
Join Date: 6th June 2011
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 216
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (1)
So there nothing in the rds settings I should turn off?
tikigod19 is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 16th June 2011, 17:50
Supporter
 
steve fox's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 SE Blueish Silver
Join Date: 5th June 2009
Location: Bingham, South Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 748
Thanks: 7
Thanked 54 Times in 49 Posts
iTrader: (1)
No, I think you're stuck with it unless someone else knows something I don't!
You could always listen to AM!!
Anybody else got any ideas?
steve fox is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 22nd June 2011, 16:06 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
tikigod19's Avatar
 
Join Date: 6th June 2011
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 216
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Its SO annoying and my previous RDS radio never did this!
tikigod19 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 22nd June 2011, 16:23
 
sergiogon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd March 2008
Location: Portugal PT
Posts: 505
Thanks: 12
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tikigod19 View Post
Its SO annoying and my previous RDS radio never did this!
I dont quite remember if our car has it, but see if it has a button to disable af ( auto frequency ) and see if that improves it!

EDIT: I think its the A.Sel button at least on 06-08 cars, don't know if it has the same label on more recent models!

Last edited by sergiogon; 22nd June 2011 at 16:26.
sergiogon is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 22nd June 2011, 16:45
pcr
 
pcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th September 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 1,461
Thanks: 0
Thanked 51 Times in 49 Posts
iTrader: (0)
There was a problem with AF on early cars which was fixed with a firmware update. Don't hold your breath though, in some areas the radio reception is not good.
pcr is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 22nd June 2011, 17:30 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
tikigod19's Avatar
 
Join Date: 6th June 2011
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 216
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Thanks guys, the a.sel just seems to cycle through the frequency range without stopping. Is this right?

How do I check my firmware version?
tikigod19 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 29th June 2011, 11:58
 
sergiogon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd March 2008
Location: Portugal PT
Posts: 505
Thanks: 12
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (0)
sergiogon is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 2nd July 2011, 09:43 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
tikigod19's Avatar
 
Join Date: 6th June 2011
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 216
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (1)
thanks very much. so mine starts with a 3 so it seems im out of date... I have searched the FAQ for the answer on how to actually update it though and I can't find anything... is it a paid thing like the sat nav?

i need to check my sav nav too thinking about it as I think thats out of date by an age judging by my recent trip to cornwall
tikigod19 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrics Radio cutting out? Jazzzman Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 7 24th May 2012 16:45
cutting pad for da6 regan1985 Cleaning 15 27th April 2011 08:14
Electrics Radio / Stereo / Head unit cutting out fault AntVAG Electronics (8G) 4 8th August 2010 14:07
Key Cutting kisspaul General Discussion (8G) 10 11th September 2009 21:07
Satnav Radio cutting out pjelsworth Electronics (8G) 5 25th May 2007 19:06

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome