Phone Bluetooth Module - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 22nd July 2011, 22:03 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 11th December 2007
Location: Hamilton, Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Bluetooth Module

The bluetooth in my 55 plate EX 2.2 is not finding any phones.

Can somebody confirm that this (attached picture) is the offending module and if it is where can i get a 2nd hand one?

Cheers

Graham
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SDC13379.jpg (40.5 KB, 504 views)
Gmac00 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 23rd July 2011, 13:26 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 11th December 2007
Location: Hamilton, Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Been quoted 881 for this from my local dealer (Parks, Hamilton) and they don't actually have it showing up in stock.

Does anybody know of any breakers who are breaking civics at the moment?
Gmac00 is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 31st August 2011, 21:24
 
Join Date: 27th March 2011
Location: uk GB
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (3)
not got it too hand but looks very much like the one i just had replaced under warranty think it was 620+vat +2hrs labour to fit and code to the car but i cant be sure exactly as the warranty company got billed direct

its behind the panel where your right knee would be.

dunno where they get 2 hrs from because it takes about 5 minutes to get to unit

glen

Last edited by marlyg; 31st August 2011 at 21:27.
marlyg is offline  
 
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 31st August 2011, 22:29
I drive my Mistress...
 
Sctrpop's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 3 door Type S RBP
Join Date: 4th March 2009
Location: Bamberg, Germany DE
Posts: 874
Thanks: 29
Thanked 81 Times in 81 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gmac00 View Post
Been quoted 881 for this from my local dealer (Parks, Hamilton) and they don't actually have it showing up in stock.

Does anybody know of any breakers who are breaking civics at the moment?
Look on EBAY for civic breaking and e-mail the sellers direct with what you are looking for. Hope you find it mate!
Sctrpop is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 26th September 2012, 00:30
 
Join Date: 10th September 2012
Location: wales GB
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
i just bought the module on ebay stock no h39770smre01,, 225 off a breakers yard,,bought the car from a car sales 3 weeks ago bluetooth hasnt worked since i had the car, they booked it into honda for me to rectify,,,ouch 800 for the module honda quoted,, the garage i bought the car refused to pay for that part and offered to put a after market one in for me,, i wasnt happy with that so i went on ebay to source one out,, i have a 2006 ex model,,,they happy to reinburse the money and them fit it,,, but dunno if it has to be coded by honda or will it be simple to change over? i going to leave it with the car sales,,, because honda will not fit 2nd hand parts,,,can this part be changed by anyone?
september is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 26th September 2012, 07:55
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by september View Post
i just bought the module on ebay stock no h39770smre01,, 225 off a breakers yard,,bought the car from a car sales 3 weeks ago bluetooth hasnt worked since i had the car, they booked it into honda for me to rectify,,,ouch 800 for the module honda quoted,, the garage i bought the car refused to pay for that part and offered to put a after market one in for me,, i wasnt happy with that so i went on ebay to source one out,, i have a 2006 ex model,,,they happy to reinburse the money and them fit it,,, but dunno if it has to be coded by honda or will it be simple to change over? i going to leave it with the car sales,,, because honda will not fit 2nd hand parts,,,can this part be changed by anyone?
If you were near me, I did fit for you for free... it takes 5 mins and does NOT need coding to the car (I've double checked in the Service Manual - this is just dealer bull!)

All you need to do is remove the triangle trim at the end of the dash (drivers side)

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/attachm...h-img_6401.jpg

Now unclip the dash panel that goes all the way under the steering column, by pulling gently towards you... it wont come all the way off because the HFT unit's cable will stop it... un-plug it, the remove the panel. The undo the 2 screws holding HFT unit onto the panel and swap for the new unit

Re assemble and job done
Bog is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 26th September 2012, 09:29
Supporter
 
hapzuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th January 2012
Location: London,UK ENGLAND
Posts: 335
Thanks: 15
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (2)
I just bought one from a breaker for 84. Give them a try

A1 Jap Spares
0161 682 2221

Mine had a white label, was given the choice if I wanted one with a white label vs pink label.
I opted for one with a pink one and its worked perfectly.

Plus was give 2 months warrenty.
hapzuk is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 26th September 2012, 09:34
Supporter
 
hapzuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th January 2012
Location: London,UK ENGLAND
Posts: 335
Thanks: 15
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Also if you we're near me, would be happy to help.

The images Bog gave is basically most the job.
Just open the panel on the right
Remove the single screw
Unclip the panel under the steering

The module is directly behind that panel
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1348644856.449156.jpg

Just unplugs with that green adapter
hapzuk is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 26th September 2012, 13:18
 
Join Date: 10th September 2012
Location: wales GB
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
thanks guys for the replys,,wow 84 quid for a module? ,bargain.
september is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 26th September 2012, 13:46
Supporter
 
hapzuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th January 2012
Location: London,UK ENGLAND
Posts: 335
Thanks: 15
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Give them a call and see if they have any more.
When I got mine last week they said they had a few and if it didn't work they would exchange it.

Obviously try talking them lower then 84 as you know they will sell at that price.

Another poster on here got one from EBay for 25, I wasn't ever able to find one that cheap but 84 with warranty I'm happy.

Any problems/help needed when installing it send me a private msgand I can give you my number and talk you through it.

Last edited by hapzuk; 26th September 2012 at 15:16.
hapzuk is offline  
post #11 of 19 (permalink) Old 31st July 2013, 11:54
 
Join Date: 27th June 2013
Location: Birmingham ENGLAND
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hapzuk View Post
I just bought one from a breaker for 84. Give them a try

A1 Jap Spares
0161 682 2221

Mine had a white label, was given the choice if I wanted one with a white label vs pink label.
I opted for one with a pink one and its worked perfectly.

Plus was give 2 months warrenty.
They are total rip off merchants, tried telling me they are cheap and wanted 300 for the module. According to them Honda charge quoted 1800!!! when I've been to the dealer and they wanted 900 all in (dear i know).
Bally is offline  
post #12 of 19 (permalink) Old 1st August 2013, 08:39
Supporter
 
hapzuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th January 2012
Location: London,UK ENGLAND
Posts: 335
Thanks: 15
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Probably didn't know too much about it when they sold it to me. My module is still running strong.

There are breaker yards available on a google search. Put the details and it gets sent out to loads of breakers to qoute you on the price
hapzuk is offline  
Thanks to hapzuk from:
post #13 of 19 (permalink) Old 3rd August 2013, 23:53
Supporter
 
Join Date: 30th May 2013
Location: Sweden SE
Posts: 61
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Question,

Wouldnt it be possible to switch bluetooth module from newer civic to 8th gen civic?
I hope newer civic have bluetooth streaming and better sound quality?
Perkele is offline  
post #14 of 19 (permalink) Old 8th August 2013, 14:43
 
Join Date: 27th June 2013
Location: Birmingham ENGLAND
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hapzuk View Post
Probably didn't know too much about it when they sold it to me. My module is still running strong.

There are breaker yards available on a google search. Put the details and it gets sent out to loads of breakers to qoute you on the price
Done just that & got one for 74 including delivery via courier. Will attempt to fit it today & hopefully have some good news to report.
Bally is offline  
post #15 of 19 (permalink) Old 8th August 2013, 18:49
Supporter
 
Join Date: 30th May 2013
Location: Sweden SE
Posts: 61
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perkele View Post
Question,

Wouldnt it be possible to switch bluetooth module from newer civic to 8th gen civic?
I hope newer civic have bluetooth streaming and better sound quality?
Bump
Perkele is offline  
post #16 of 19 (permalink) Old 9th August 2013, 14:51
 
Join Date: 27th June 2013
Location: Birmingham ENGLAND
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Fitted the hft module, all working perfectly fine, not bad for 74 compared to honda's 900 and labour charges.

Took about 10 minutes to do. Downside all saved numbers needed to be added again.

Some questions posted on various forums regarding hft module:

- No it doesn't matter whether the module has white sticker or pink (the one i bought had a pink)
- No it doesn't need coding by honda for it to work

Any other questions feel free to ask.

Also a big thanks to everyone on civinfo - your tips and advice have been very useful.
Bally is offline  
Thanks to Bally from:
post #17 of 19 (permalink) Old 12th November 2015, 18:11
 
Car: 2007 2.2
Join Date: 12th August 2015
Location: Stockport GB
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Just to clarify Bally, was this an 8th gen HFT module or 9th gen civic?
Stu Ozzie is offline  
post #18 of 19 (permalink) Old 19th February 2016, 19:56
 
Join Date: 11th September 2007
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
When pressing the hft buttons I get no phone commands and my phone does not see the car, the voice control commands for sat nav etc work fine. Checked the accessory fuse and that is OK and cig lighter works fine. Does this sound like the BT module has died?

Cheers

Last edited by sturgi; 20th February 2016 at 15:39.
sturgi is offline  
post #19 of 19 (permalink) Old 21st June 2016, 13:18
 
Join Date: 21st June 2016
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
I had this problem. Before replacing the module check it first.
I removed my hft module (pink sticker) checked the plug wasn't loose then I noticed the module opens pretty easy.
So I opened it up couldn't see any scorch marks on the circuit boards.
There are 2 boards held together by a grey plug. I pressed the boards together again and plugged the module back in to test it and it now works again.
Maybe worth trying before outlaying any money.
Andrew Genner is offline  
Thanks to Andrew Genner from:
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DRL DRL Ignition Module carpediem Lights (8G) 22 16th September 2010 13:05
Phone Fitting Xcarlink Bluetooth Module brobson Electronics (8G) 7 1st May 2010 11:52

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome