Satnav TomTom built in like Renaults ;) - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 24th July 2011, 09:14 Thread Starter
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
TomTom built in like Renaults ;)

... Well not quite, but I have been running the TomTom app on my iphone through my Control Box to display on the built in Sat Nav screen

IMG_1589.jpg IMG_1591.jpg IMG_1595.jpg IMG_1598.jpg

I actually works very well and nice to have a 3D map. The reason I have done this is for the road speed limits which are display (Slovakia has a lack of road signs displaying speed limits and abundance of bored police ).

To be honest, the TomTom app and the Honda navigation are fairly equal, both perform well, but have one or two features that the other does not.

The main difference is that the iPhone app has more up to date maps even though I have the 3.52.
Bog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 24th July 2011, 11:22
-=SBZ=-
 
snowboundzero's Avatar
 
Car: 2.2 EX
Join Date: 19th March 2011
Location: Sheffield S12 ENGLAND
Posts: 901
Thanks: 155
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Wow, looks good, do you get the audio through aswell?
snowboundzero is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 24th July 2011, 11:27 Thread Starter
Bog
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Yep, use an iPod/iPhone AV lead (eBay jobby) plugged into the armrest aux in
Bog is offline  
Thanks to Bog from:
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 24th July 2011, 11:48
FWH
Supporter
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Very cool.





FWH is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 25th July 2011, 09:11
Supporter
 
murray's Avatar
 
Car: CW Civic FD2
Join Date: 7th April 2010
Location: Gloucester, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,611
Thanks: 159
Thanked 159 Times in 151 Posts
iTrader: (1)
That looks great mate.
murray is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 25th July 2011, 10:09
Heavy Footed!
 
HenryTheHonda's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 Astra GTC SRi
Join Date: 15th September 2008
Location: Telford GB
Posts: 637
Thanks: 20
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Nice!!! Wish i had the built in sat nav!
HenryTheHonda is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 25th July 2011, 12:19
...............Daedalus
 
mpn_daedalus's Avatar
 
Car: CW Type R No. 460
Join Date: 5th August 2010
Location: Norfolk, UK GB
Posts: 3,687
Thanks: 236
Thanked 445 Times in 413 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HenryTheHonda View Post
Nice!!! Wish i had the built in sat nav!
You wish you had built-in satnav....so you could stick TomTom on the screen....

Nice little trick there though Bog, good job
mpn_daedalus is offline  
Thanks to mpn_daedalus from:
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 5th October 2011, 23:56
Mugenised CR-Z GT
 
Hybridrob's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 CR-Z GT
Join Date: 4th January 2011
Location: Kent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 502
Thanks: 31
Thanked 60 Times in 40 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
I would recommend a bluetooth gps module if you are using the tomtom app as i have the tomtom cradle and find this improves the app
Hybridrob is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 6th October 2011, 00:13
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
gers's Avatar
 
Car: Civic 9G. 1.8 ES (RSBP)
Join Date: 2nd October 2007
Location: Ireland IE
Posts: 6,012
Thanks: 942
Thanked 805 Times in 723 Posts
iTrader: (176)
Looks well cool does that...Nice one.
gers is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th April 2012, 19:09
ivtec just kicked out,YO!
 
Yassian's Avatar
 
Car: 2011 FK2 Milano red
Join Date: 27th January 2011
Location: Croatia HR
Posts: 1,007
Thanks: 131
Thanked 168 Times in 161 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Hi Bog!

Since you have mastered the sat nav unit, I have a question for you (or anybody else that may know)!

I don't have sat nav, but was thinking if this is posible (me and my bright ideas...):

I want to change my standard radio display for a sat nav screen, but don't want the whole navigation unit, just want to use the screen as a monitor and get the navigation through iPhone. Can I use your module with just the screen?

And does anybody know if clock, radio and climate control information automatically reorganize to show up on the small screen when changing from old display to sat nav small one or does it need to go through a sat nav head unit? In which case that would complicate everything and probably not make it worthy.
Yassian is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 18th April 2012, 00:27
 
Car: 2011 Honda Civic 1.8 GT
Join Date: 18th April 2012
Location: Bucharest, Romania RO
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi,
I own a 2011 Honda Civic 1.8 Gt without navigation system. I wonder and I ask if its possible to replace the standard black&white display with one like from the post above.

Thanks in advance

BR
Stefan
TeGJurGen is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 19th April 2012, 15:50
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
coolice's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14th March 2008
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 2,477
Thanks: 1,366
Thanked 298 Times in 277 Posts
iTrader: (71)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yassian View Post
Hi Bog!

Since you have mastered the sat nav unit, I have a question for you (or anybody else that may know)!

I don't have sat nav, but was thinking if this is posible (me and my bright ideas...):

I want to change my standard radio display for a sat nav screen, but don't want the whole navigation unit, just want to use the screen as a monitor and get the navigation through iPhone. Can I use your module with just the screen?

And does anybody know if clock, radio and climate control information automatically reorganize to show up on the small screen when changing from old display to sat nav small one or does it need to go through a sat nav head unit? In which case that would complicate everything and probably not make it worthy.
Hey.

Very good question, I'd like to know this to if a cheap screen/nav/heater display pops up.

Ian
coolice is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 19th April 2012, 19:52
ivtec just kicked out,YO!
 
Yassian's Avatar
 
Car: 2011 FK2 Milano red
Join Date: 27th January 2011
Location: Croatia HR
Posts: 1,007
Thanks: 131
Thanked 168 Times in 161 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Glad to know I'm not the only one interested
In the spirit of converting segment LCD data to video signal... can anybody tell me what kind of signal do connectors D and E of the head unit give or have any diagrams of those signals?
Yassian is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Add-on nav Review of Tomtom 750, Tomtom 1005 and Garmin 2390 Pottsy Electronics (8G) 18 23rd July 2011 08:54
Bodywork built-in redundancy LoonyJohn Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 8 27th August 2009 01:32
How can you tell when a car was built ChillTypeR General Discussion (8G) 3 10th September 2008 09:18
Other uk built. apd Buying, Dealers and Servicing 19 20th October 2007 20:31
British Built. civie General Discussion (8G) 12 23rd June 2007 19:09

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome