Electrics Blown Fuse - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 6th June 2007, 19:20 Thread Starter
pjr
Supporter
 
pjr's Avatar
 
Car: Mk VII Golf GTI
Join Date: 24th March 2007
Location: Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 738
Thanks: 24
Thanked 47 Times in 43 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Eco display
Blown Fuse

When plugging in my handheld vacuum cleaner into the front lighter socket I managed to blow the fuse (number 29)

Looked in the manual and discovered that on the 3 door Civic, fuses 32 & 33 (I think) aren't used, as these are for the rear electric windows, which the Type S obviously doesn't have.
So I 'borrowed' fuse 32 to get my lighter socket working again.

Can anyone confirm that fuses 32 & 33 are indeed spare ? Everything else seems to still work, so I think I'm ok.
pjr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 7th June 2007, 09:16
Supporter
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
27,32,33 and 34 are unused in the 1.8 3 door.
Pottsy is offline  
Thanks to Pottsy from:
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 7th June 2007, 09:21 Thread Starter
pjr
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
pjr's Avatar
 
Car: Mk VII Golf GTI
Join Date: 24th March 2007
Location: Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 738
Thanks: 24
Thanked 47 Times in 43 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Eco display
Cheers Pottsy - just wanted to confirm I'd read the manual right.
pjr is offline  
 
post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 7th June 2007, 12:55
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
That must be one hell of a vacuum cleaner , the ciggy socket is on a 20 Amp fuse!
Bog is offline  
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 7th June 2007, 12:59
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Top of the posters CP, well done!

What would the Top 10 posters list look like if you excluded the 'Introduce yourself thread'?
Bog is offline  
post #6 of 25 (permalink) Old 7th June 2007, 13:03 Thread Starter
pjr
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
pjr's Avatar
 
Car: Mk VII Golf GTI
Join Date: 24th March 2007
Location: Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 738
Thanks: 24
Thanked 47 Times in 43 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bog View Post
That must be one hell of a vacuum cleaner , the ciggy socket is on a 20 Amp fuse!
That's what I thought!

The ignition key was at position I when I went to plug in the power socket into the cigarette lighter, and there was a slight spark, followed immediately by another 'crack' as the fuse popped.

I have learnt from this now, so will plug things into the cigarette lighter socket first, and then switch on the ignition.
pjr is offline  
post #7 of 25 (permalink) Old 7th June 2007, 13:05
Supporter
 
generationgav's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th May 2006
Location: Manchester, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 833
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to generationgav
Why would they put the fuses in and then not use them??
generationgav is offline  
post #8 of 25 (permalink) Old 7th June 2007, 13:11 Thread Starter
pjr
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
pjr's Avatar
 
Car: Mk VII Golf GTI
Join Date: 24th March 2007
Location: Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 738
Thanks: 24
Thanked 47 Times in 43 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by generationgav View Post
Why would they put the fuses in and then not use them??
I wondered that as well - still it saved me going out and buying a new fuse as I 'borrowed' one of the spares, and still have another spare 20amp fuse should it happen again
pjr is offline  
post #9 of 25 (permalink) Old 7th June 2007, 14:00
 
dondon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18th February 2007
Location: Hampshire ENGLAND
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by generationgav View Post
Why would they put the fuses in and then not use them??
If the fuse box is the same in all models, then I would guess it is simpler (and less prone to errors) to manufacture the fuse box with all fuses in place, so that any fuse box can be fitted to any model on the production line. The cost (to Honda) of the fuses themselves will be minimal.
dondon is offline  
post #10 of 25 (permalink) Old 11th June 2007, 10:05
Supporter
 
spile's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th January 2007
Location: Midlands
Posts: 308
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I think it is worth checking the power lead to the vacuum. There may be an intermintent short on a part of the lead that is under stress. I'd also check the plug and connection to the motor.
spile is offline  
post #11 of 25 (permalink) Old 12th June 2007, 20:45 Thread Starter
pjr
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
pjr's Avatar
 
Car: Mk VII Golf GTI
Join Date: 24th March 2007
Location: Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 738
Thanks: 24
Thanked 47 Times in 43 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by spile View Post
I think it is worth checking the power lead to the vacuum. There may be an intermintent short on a part of the lead that is under stress. I'd also check the plug and connection to the motor.
Cheers for the heads up - Just checked the cables, and the motor end was fine.

However, in the cigarette lighter plug bit, because of the way the wires had been soldered on, there was the chance of the + and - touching intermittently. I've insulated the bare bits of wire & solder, so that should cure it.
pjr is offline  
post #12 of 25 (permalink) Old 16th September 2007, 13:26
 
Join Date: 10th February 2007
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 39 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi,
I also managed to connect something (a small acitve subwoofer) to the cigarette lighter plug in the back of the car (in the trunk) and now it seems that I've blown a fuse or something as nothing would work in that plug. The front cigarette lighter however is still OK.
Which fuse should I check and where (under the bonnet or next to pedals?) would it be? Or is it possible something else is cooked?
I will install a proper power cable from the battery but I will still need that rear plug for a "remote" signal.
Thanks!
Rasmus is offline  
post #13 of 25 (permalink) Old 16th September 2007, 13:39
Supporter
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Rasmus - fuse 28 in the set by the pedals is for the 'rear accessory socket' so pretty sure that means the cig lighter in the boot
TTDegs is offline  
post #14 of 25 (permalink) Old 16th September 2007, 15:22
 
Join Date: 10th February 2007
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 39 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Cheers! It is indeed, and just as I was hoping - it is burned out. So going shopping for a new fuse and hopefully we will hear some bass again
Rasmus is offline  
post #15 of 25 (permalink) Old 16th September 2007, 17:19
Supporter
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Very welcome Rasmus
TTDegs is offline  
post #16 of 25 (permalink) Old 4th July 2008, 00:35
 
vintagevrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: 25th January 2008
Location: IRL NORTHIRELAND
Posts: 82
Thanks: 14
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pottsy View Post
27,32,33 and 34 are unused in the 1.8 3 door.
This info is great!! Blew the fuse that does the interior lighting, all the greens behind the dash, the glove box and the blue ambient light. Hope one of these will be the same rating. Just gotta wait for day light now!

Cheers Pottsy
vintagevrs is offline  
post #17 of 25 (permalink) Old 29th November 2013, 13:34
 
Join Date: 23rd November 2013
Location: London, UK GB
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hello, I'm new to this forum so bare with me please

I've got the 2006+ civic 5 door 1.4 sport model(petrol)

My cigarette lighter is not working cause there was a safety pin inside it don't ask me how it got there cause it's a long story. I managed to take the safety pin out , then i tried to plugin my USB adapter to charge my phone and it was not working so i tried the lighter and it was not working as well

I guess there was a short circuit so i need to check the fuse box btw its under the hood(i know how to get there).

I searched this thread for some help but got a bit

So please someone help me by posting a picture pointing witch fuse do i need to check/replace.

Thank you
prtk is offline  
post #18 of 25 (permalink) Old 29th November 2013, 14:08
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 13,117
Thanks: 1,272
Thanked 2,657 Times in 2,260 Posts
iTrader: (94)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Syx
Quote:
Originally Posted by prtk View Post
Hello, I'm new to this forum so bare with me please

I've got the 2006+ civic 5 door 1.4 sport model(petrol)

My cigarette lighter is not working cause there was a safety pin inside it don't ask me how it got there cause it's a long story. I managed to take the safety pin out , then i tried to plugin my USB adapter to charge my phone and it was not working so i tried the lighter and it was not working as well

I guess there was a short circuit so i need to check the fuse box btw its under the hood(i know how to get there).

I searched this thread for some help but got a bit

So please someone help me by posting a picture pointing witch fuse do i need to check/replace.

Thank you
Hello mate,

You can find all the fuses listed here:

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/electro...protected.html

Start with the interior fusebox #29.

Last edited by Syx; 29th November 2013 at 14:11. Reason: Wrong fuse number quoted
Syx is offline  
post #19 of 25 (permalink) Old 29th November 2013, 14:30
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
There are also spare fuses in the under hood fusebox.
Grayfox is offline  
post #20 of 25 (permalink) Old 30th November 2013, 12:41
 
Join Date: 23rd November 2013
Location: London, UK GB
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syx View Post
Hello mate,

You can find all the fuses listed here:

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/electro...protected.html

Start with the interior fusebox #29.

I checked that thread my diagram is the under bonnet petrol and there is no #29.
I have been looking around so many forums and videos for the last 2 days but there is no explanation.
prtk is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrics Fuse type Marky Electronics (8G) 22 17th May 2013 03:00
Fuse Problem TYPE R NUTTER Type-R 8 17th October 2007 11:34
Lights fog light blown big time! Everlong Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 5 3rd July 2007 14:10
HID Anyone blown a HID bulb yet? elbe35 Lights (8G) 17 27th November 2006 19:02
Blown away!!! Keep it clean!! moocowuk General Discussion (8G) 10 29th October 2006 02:07

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome