Battery How to replace battery - help please - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 16th October 2011, 14:17 Thread Starter
BMH
 
BMH's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th June 2009
Location: South West, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 39
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
How to replace battery - help please

Hi

My car wasn't starting up as easily as usual and the fuel gauge needle was dropping when attempting to start. My 2.2 EX currently has some RAC battery in it so I decided to order a Bosch S5 to replace it.

Despite being pleased with myself for being so organised, the day after placing my order the car wouldn't start! Assuming it's nothing more serious than a flat battery, it's a few years old and it has an inspection feature, and the green ball is sat at the bottom of the chamber.

Anyway..........

What I'd like some help with is the correct procedure for changing the battery. Strangely, the car's manual doesn't have a section for this and there's nothing in the Wiki.

Reading some of the threads on here there's mention of leaving an hour before reconnecting and having the car locked throughout, but could anyone point me in the direction of a step guide for the end-to-end process please?

I know it's a straightforward job, but I'm most worried about messing up the ECU or setting the alarm off.

Thanks in advance.
BMH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 16th October 2011, 14:34
...............Daedalus
 
mpn_daedalus's Avatar
 
Car: CW Type R No. 460
Join Date: 5th August 2010
Location: Norfolk, UK GB
Posts: 3,687
Thanks: 236
Thanked 445 Times in 413 Posts
iTrader: (3)
As you said, actually changing the battery is pretty straight forward.

I wouldn't lock the car as having the bonnet open would just set the alarm off I would imagine.

And I don't see what effect leaving it disconnected for an hour would have tbh.

Just make sure the keys aren't in the ignition when reconnecting the battery.

Sent from my X10i using Tapatalk
mpn_daedalus is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 16th October 2011, 15:11
 
Car: 2010 1.4 type S, Silver
Join Date: 8th December 2010
Location: Hampshire, where ponies rule the roads ENGLAND
Posts: 353
Thanks: 14
Thanked 35 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMH View Post
Hi

My car wasn't starting up as easily as usual and the fuel gauge needle was dropping when attempting to start. My 2.2 EX currently has some RAC battery in it so I decided to order a Bosch S5 to replace it.

Despite being pleased with myself for being so organised, the day after placing my order the car wouldn't start! Assuming it's nothing more serious than a flat battery, it's a few years old and it has an inspection feature, and the green ball is sat at the bottom of the chamber.

Anyway..........

What I'd like some help with is the correct procedure for changing the battery. Strangely, the car's manual doesn't have a section for this and there's nothing in the Wiki.

Reading some of the threads on here there's mention of leaving an hour before reconnecting and having the car locked throughout, but could anyone point me in the direction of a step guide for the end-to-end process please?

I know it's a straightforward job, but I'm most worried about messing up the ECU or setting the alarm off.

Thanks in advance.
I haven't actually changed a battery on an 8th gen Civic so my not no all the pitfalls but I have changed enough over the years to agree with the previous reply.

Just make sure the car is not locked, the key is not in the lock and all electrical loads are off. The latter is to reduce sparking when removing the first lead.

A very important point to prevent possible frustration later is to have your radio code handy.
dodger is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 16th October 2011, 15:19
Banned
 
Jpetrie's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 NHB Type S GT
Join Date: 11th March 2011
Location: Southampton GB
Posts: 1,929
Thanks: 169
Thanked 290 Times in 219 Posts
iTrader: (7)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodger View Post
radio code handy.
The 8th gen doesn't have a radio code..
Jpetrie is offline  
Thanks to Jpetrie from:
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 16th October 2011, 15:49
...............Daedalus
 
mpn_daedalus's Avatar
 
Car: CW Type R No. 460
Join Date: 5th August 2010
Location: Norfolk, UK GB
Posts: 3,687
Thanks: 236
Thanked 445 Times in 413 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpetrie View Post
The 8th gen doesn't have a radio code..
Nope. It's such a bugger to get out it doesn't need one

Sent from my X10i using Tapatalk
mpn_daedalus is offline  
Thanks to mpn_daedalus from:
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 16th October 2011, 17:02
 
Car: 2010 1.4 type S, Silver
Join Date: 8th December 2010
Location: Hampshire, where ponies rule the roads ENGLAND
Posts: 353
Thanks: 14
Thanked 35 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpn_daedalus View Post
Nope. It's such a bugger to get out it doesn't need one

Sent from my X10i using Tapatalk
Sorry if I mislead you. Thanks for the info.
dodger is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 16th October 2011, 22:24 Thread Starter
BMH
** Thread starter **
 
BMH's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th June 2009
Location: South West, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 39
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Thanks. So, is the sequence:

* pop bonnet, key in pocket, leave unlocked
* disconnect -ve first
* remove old battery
* wait around an hour
* insert new battery, +ve first

?
BMH is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 17th October 2011, 15:12
 
Car: 2010 1.4 type S, Silver
Join Date: 8th December 2010
Location: Hampshire, where ponies rule the roads ENGLAND
Posts: 353
Thanks: 14
Thanked 35 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMH View Post
Thanks. So, is the sequence:

* pop bonnet, key in pocket, leave unlocked
* disconnect -ve first
* remove old battery
* wait around an hour
* insert new battery, +ve first

?
Just found a battery replacement procedure on pages 507 & 508 of my Honda manual, but it is the 2009 edition. It does not mention waiting an hour before reconnecting the battery. From memory reading other threads I thought the was to reset computor modules, but as always I stand to be corrected.

Otherwise you are quite correct and is the same procedure used in my manual, which emphasies the need to make sure the ignition swith is in position 0 (key out). This is the metohd I have used over the years.

Last edited by dodger; 17th October 2011 at 15:15.
dodger is offline  
Thanks to dodger from:
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 17th October 2011, 15:19
Unofficial Trader
 
dablink's Avatar
 
Car: CRV Urban Titanium
Join Date: 7th August 2009
Location: London, UK GB
Posts: 1,295
Thanks: 207
Thanked 163 Times in 153 Posts
iTrader: (13)
I disconnected my battery last week and did not wait for an hour before reconnecting. Car is fine and nothing has exploded....yet!!!....lol..

You are cool mate. Don't worry about the "new wives" tale of leaving the battery disconnected for an hour.
dablink is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 17th October 2011, 22:21 Thread Starter
BMH
** Thread starter **
 
BMH's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th June 2009
Location: South West, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 39
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Thanks for the advice all
BMH is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 18th October 2011, 21:21 Thread Starter
BMH
** Thread starter **
 
BMH's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th June 2009
Location: South West, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 39
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Just to say I swapped it out today with no drama (new battery was physically larger than the one already in there, so I guess that wasn't helping much!).

Only left it about half an hour, but no ECU issues
BMH is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 18th October 2011, 22:03
 
Car: 2010 1.4 type S, Silver
Join Date: 8th December 2010
Location: Hampshire, where ponies rule the roads ENGLAND
Posts: 353
Thanks: 14
Thanked 35 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMH View Post
Just to say I swapped it out today with no drama (new battery was physically larger than the one already in there, so I guess that wasn't helping much!).

Only left it about half an hour, but no ECU issues
Thanks for the update, glad everything worked out OK.
dodger is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 7th January 2013, 12:57
 
Join Date: 7th January 2013
Location: UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I need unlock code for my Honda Civic 2002 UK version.

Radio serial number: 13042391 (U1304 L2391)

VIN: SHHEU77401U024243
Eng.Number: D14Z61130236

I found this site radio-navicode.honda.com, but they don't support european models

Thanks in advance.
dragan1904 is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 7th January 2013, 13:38
Supporter
 
mikesmith181's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 ES ally silver
Join Date: 28th March 2012
Location: southport, UK GB
Posts: 1,166
Thanks: 125
Thanked 109 Times in 103 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragan1904 View Post
I need unlock code for my Honda Civic 2002 UK version.

Radio serial number: 13042391 (U1304 L2391)

VIN: SHHEU77401U024243
Eng.Number: D14Z61130236

I found this site radio-navicode.honda.com, but they don't support european models

Thanks in advance.
Ring your dealer with those details and they will be able to get your code buddy. Or look on google, there's loads of sites that can get your code, usually you have to pay for it tho.
mikesmith181 is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 7th January 2013, 15:50
CCC
 
CCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th October 2008
Location: London, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,496
Thanks: 0
Thanked 71 Times in 70 Posts
iTrader: (0)
You should of got a card with the manual and paperwork with the code, I have?
CCC is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HID How to replace D2R ? Miguel Bernardo Lights (8G) 5 5th September 2009 14:45
Other What I got to replace the CTR... Mark996 Gallery (8G) 18 15th June 2009 20:23
Need to replace my 206 as a second car ahar Any non Civic chat here please! 10 17th August 2008 17:15
Other So how am I going to replace that then? Agarthetiger Electronics (8G) 10 16th July 2008 07:44

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome