Phone Caller ID? - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 19th October 2011, 23:02 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
Car: 2009 1.8 Civic ES-GT
Join Date: 10th July 2011
Location: Middlesbrough ENGLAND
Posts: 64
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Caller ID?

Hi,

Am i doing something wrong, or does this not work?

Basically i have paired my phone to the HFT and imported my phonebook, i can scroll using the nav screen and call someone, have tried the voice dialling, but not having much luck with that bit yet! What im wanting to know is when i recieve an incoming call, is there a way to get it to display the name of the caller instead of the number?

Thanks in advance
blomoff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 19th October 2011, 23:39
Supporter
 
Jonnyrocket's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 1.8 EX, Black
Join Date: 9th August 2011
Location: Manchester GB
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 111
Thanked 135 Times in 126 Posts
iTrader: (10)
I don't think so. I emailed them to ask the question. The only solution is to mount your phone somewhere you can see the screen, or mute the cars ringtone and personalise you phone ringtones for your contacts.

It's a bit disappointing really.
Jonnyrocket is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 20th October 2011, 10:15
 
Join Date: 13th March 2011
Location: aberdeen SCOTLAND
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Unhappy phone tranfer to sat nav

Quote:
Originally Posted by blomoff View Post
Hi,

Am i doing something wrong, or does this not work?

Basically i have paired my phone to the HFT and imported my phonebook, i can scroll using the nav screen and call someone, have tried the voice dialling, but not having much luck with that bit yet! What im wanting to know is when i recieve an incoming call, is there a way to get it to display the name of the caller instead of the number?

Thanks in advance
how did you tranfer to sat nav i got 2006 ex
ganzie11 is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 20th October 2011, 10:17
 
Join Date: 13th March 2011
Location: aberdeen SCOTLAND
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
how did you tranfer phone numbers to sat nav i got 2006 EX with htc wildfire
ganzie11 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 20th October 2011, 11:28
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
You can't transfer numbers on pre 09 models as the HFT and Navigation have updated software/hardware.

There is no known way of showing text instead of numbers
Bog is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 20th October 2011, 18:59
FWH
Supporter
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bog View Post
You can't transfer numbers on pre 09 models as the HFT and Navigation have updated software/hardware.

There is no known way of showing text instead of numbers
Yes, what he said.



FWH is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 20th October 2011, 19:14 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 2009 1.8 Civic ES-GT
Join Date: 10th July 2011
Location: Middlesbrough ENGLAND
Posts: 64
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Ahhh damn it! Seems a bit silly to not hae the names, its like they expect you to remember every number in the phone book and know the name. Theres an option to add number to HFT, so i guess this doesnt allow you to use a name either then?
blomoff is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 28th October 2011, 11:05
 
Join Date: 7th October 2009
Location: uk WALES
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi guys
just spotted this thread.
I've got 57 07 EX, but I believe that I can't even see numbers. I just checked my manual to see if I can scroll through numbers but all I can see is voice operated entrance of numbers and to call a number by name. Am I correct?
cheers
andyj is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 28th October 2011, 11:17
Supporter
 
NoNumpty's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 i-CTDi ES NHB
Join Date: 20th May 2008
Location: Cheshire UK GB
Posts: 4,106
Thanks: 59
Thanked 347 Times in 331 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyj View Post
Hi guys
just spotted this thread.
I've got 57 07 EX, but I believe that I can't even see numbers. I just checked my manual to see if I can scroll through numbers but all I can see is voice operated entrance of numbers and to call a number by name. Am I correct?
cheers
See post 5 above
NoNumpty is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 28th October 2011, 11:29
 
Join Date: 7th October 2009
Location: uk WALES
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Post 5 states :-

There is no known way of showing text instead of numbers

I'm asking 'Can I show numbers'?
andyj is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 28th October 2011, 11:32
Supporter
 
NoNumpty's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 i-CTDi ES NHB
Join Date: 20th May 2008
Location: Cheshire UK GB
Posts: 4,106
Thanks: 59
Thanked 347 Times in 331 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Post 5 also states "You can't transfer numbers on pre 09 models as the HFT and Navigation have updated software/hardware."

So as your 57 07 EX is a pre 09 model you cannot transfer numbers - didn't think is was that difficult to understand but hay ho!!
NoNumpty is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 28th October 2011, 11:39
 
Join Date: 7th October 2009
Location: uk WALES
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
If you understood English grammar correctly, you would realise that I wasn't asking how to transfer numbers etc.
Post 5 and 7 should state

'There is no known way of showing text OR numbers

Hey Ho to you!
andyj is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 28th October 2011, 11:53
Supporter
 
NoNumpty's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 i-CTDi ES NHB
Join Date: 20th May 2008
Location: Cheshire UK GB
Posts: 4,106
Thanks: 59
Thanked 347 Times in 331 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I'm sorry but it was my understanding that if you can't transfer numbers on a car built earlier than the 09 models then there would be no numbers to show.

Post 5 and 7 should not state "There is no known way of showing text OR numbers" since if you have a 09 model car or later you can show numbers as you have the ability to transfer them - you cannot currently show text on any MY car.
NoNumpty is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phone HFT Caller Display TYPE_S_GT Electronics (8G) 18 14th April 2008 21:42

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome