Cruise Cruise Control Civic Si??? - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 21st November 2011, 20:11 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
cambi's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 2.2, Milano Red
Join Date: 20th November 2011
Location: Doncaster ENGLAND
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Cruise Control Civic Si, is it possible???

Hey guys

I have a 60 plate Civic Si 2.2i-CDTi.... it doesn't come with cruise control as standard and when I asked at the showroom they said cruise control couldn't be fitted to this model as the wiring loom was different... Im not entirely sure I believe that so if anyone knows if its possible to do, that would be great

Thanks!

Last edited by cambi; 22nd November 2011 at 10:02.
cambi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 23rd November 2011, 13:57 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
cambi's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 2.2, Milano Red
Join Date: 20th November 2011
Location: Doncaster ENGLAND
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Nevermind guys just found out if cruise doesnt come as standard its not something honda can fit
cambi is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 23rd November 2011, 19:44
Supporter
 
L44VAT's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 Ctr silver with rages
Join Date: 6th October 2011
Location: stoke GB
Posts: 192
Thanks: 9
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Yeah they r right.

An es or ex would have cruise
L44VAT is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 24th November 2011, 09:19
OMG8THGENEX
 
Andy_K's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Civic EX
Join Date: 2nd January 2008
Location: Leeds, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 840
Thanks: 48
Thanked 55 Times in 41 Posts
iTrader: (5)
I'm lead to believe that you only need to swap steering wheels with that of an EX which has the cruise control buttons as the wiring is already there.

parts you will need:
  • steering wheel with cruise control.
  • steering boss unit from a ex gt model, or any model that has cruise control.
------------------------------------------------------
how to:
disconect the battery and leave car alone for 15 min

remove airbag and steering wheel

remove plastic covers around the indicator/ wiper stalks

undo unplugs then remove indicator/ wiper boss unit.

insert replacement, reassemble.
--------------------------------------------------------

the car has a active ecu, so it automatically detects new hardware and updates itself.

Last edited by Andy_K; 24th November 2011 at 09:22.
Andy_K is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 25th November 2011, 14:06
Arfurs right hand man
 
NH Dan's Avatar
 
Car: 1.8 Civic SE plus Auto 9th G
Join Date: 31st January 2008
Location: South London,Uk GB
Posts: 4,125
Thanks: 559
Thanked 476 Times in 380 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
steering wheel iro £890. PRE VAT. -
NH Dan is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 25th November 2011, 14:09
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)


I hope that's leather bound ?
Kremmen is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 25th November 2011, 14:17
Supporter
 
okehciv's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21st January 2007
Location: shaw gtr manchester ENGLAND
Posts: 3,304
Thanks: 179
Thanked 458 Times in 427 Posts
iTrader: (1)
£890 !!!!! Phew

Will be more careful with mine in future.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
okehciv is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 25th November 2011, 14:21
Supporter
 
sixphredd's Avatar
 
Car: 56 2.2 I-Ctdi EX NHB
Join Date: 14th December 2009
Location: Lincoln, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,085
Thanks: 105
Thanked 85 Times in 82 Posts
iTrader: (0)
when i took my car in for a service, they changed my cruise control mechanism becaus of a common fault and as far as i know, it some how saved the throttle position at the time of the set, so does this mean the throttle position is recorded by the ecu, so that the cruise control can access this though it?
sixphredd is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 25th November 2011, 14:36
 
bodgerx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 ES 1.8 i-VTEC i-Shift
Join Date: 25th December 2010
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,261
Thanks: 22
Thanked 90 Times in 87 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NH Dan View Post
steering wheel iro £890. PRE VAT. -


Gotta love the dealer part prices. If you built the entire car using the parts yourself it would probably cost 100k.
bodgerx is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 25th November 2011, 14:39
 
bodgerx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 ES 1.8 i-VTEC i-Shift
Join Date: 25th December 2010
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,261
Thanks: 22
Thanked 90 Times in 87 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixphredd View Post
when i took my car in for a service, they changed my cruise control mechanism becaus of a common fault and as far as i know, it some how saved the throttle position at the time of the set, so does this mean the throttle position is recorded by the ecu, so that the cruise control can access this though it?

If its anything like a BMW, as well as fitting the wheel itself, the dealer would also have update the relevant ECU to accept the different spec bits.
bodgerx is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 25th November 2011, 14:42
Supporter
 
sixphredd's Avatar
 
Car: 56 2.2 I-Ctdi EX NHB
Join Date: 14th December 2009
Location: Lincoln, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,085
Thanks: 105
Thanked 85 Times in 82 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodgerx View Post
If its anything like a BMW, as well as fitting the wheel itself, the dealer would also have update the relevant ECU to accept the different spec bits.
thats what i thought, and then thats when things start getting very expensive.

most cars use bosch ECUs now so id say its very much like the BMW
sixphredd is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 25th November 2011, 15:16
 
bodgerx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 ES 1.8 i-VTEC i-Shift
Join Date: 25th December 2010
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,261
Thanks: 22
Thanked 90 Times in 87 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixphredd View Post
thats what i thought, and then thats when things start getting very expensive.

most cars use bosch ECUs now so id say its very much like the BMW
The ECU update might not be too bad. I think they'd probably just charge labour. It is not a hardware change, just a soft/firmware settings adjustment.
bodgerx is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 25th November 2011, 15:23
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
At those prices I'd just try and keep my right foot still instead

I rarely use mine. Just as you get it set you catch a lorry just as a convoy of cars comes past so you have to cancel it.

I think I used it once at about 04:00 in the morning up the M40
Kremmen is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 25th November 2011, 16:09
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_K View Post

the car has a active ecu, so it automatically detects new hardware and updates itself.
No need for update, as Andy said... the ECU is Plug & Play....
Bog is offline  
Thanks to Bog from:
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 26th November 2011, 15:35 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
cambi's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 2.2, Milano Red
Join Date: 20th November 2011
Location: Doncaster ENGLAND
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Doesnt look like ill be getting cruise with prices like that! haha
Cheers anyway
cambi is offline  
post #16 of 16 (permalink) Old 27th November 2011, 11:40
OOOOSH
 
smig's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 Type R GT - NHB
Join Date: 17th July 2011
Location: Derbyshire ENGLAND
Posts: 800
Thanks: 108
Thanked 116 Times in 98 Posts
iTrader: (6)
smig is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



  LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://www.civinfo.com/forum/electronics-8g/66025-cruise-control-civic-si.html
Posted By For Type Date
Untitled document This thread Refback 11th June 2013 18:45

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cruise control 2.2escdti General Discussion (8G) 13 16th June 2011 15:42
Tech Cruise Control Enemyvirus Engines and Transmission (8G) 4 28th February 2011 09:51
Cruise control Speedy471 Honda CR-V 2 28th April 2010 17:39
Cruise Control Or Not To Cruise Control onweed Type-R 20 26th February 2010 19:12
Electrics No Cruise control Diesel Virgin Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 22 23rd December 2007 23:08

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome