Add-on nav Tom Tom Go RDS-TMC - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 8th July 2007, 10:52 Thread Starter
 
AubreyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12th August 2006
Posts: 463
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Tom Tom Go RDS-TMC

I have a Tom Tom 510 which I use for work and I would like to purchase the TMC Traffic Receiver. (It gives you advanced traffic warnings on route)

http://tinyurl.com/3yzjgy

Does anyone have any experience of this item and do they really think that it's worth the purchase.
AubreyS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 8th July 2007, 16:01
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I used to have a TomTom and as a result I kept up to date with developments via the http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/modules.php?name=Forums forum.

A few months ago the reports on the TomTom TMC module was not very favourable but it may have improved.

I would suggest posting the same question there.
Kremmen is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 8th July 2007, 17:44
Supporter
 
davidj241's Avatar
 
Join Date: 6th July 2007
Location: St.Neots, Cambridgeshire ENGLAND
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I have been using a TomTom 910 with the Traffic module but have found it to be very hit and miss. It depends very much on where in the country you are.

To be honest I wouldn't advise getting one at the moment, apparently TomTom are going to produce another unit and there is a chance that existing owners can get theirs upgraded.

I have subscribed to their Traffic service and find that to be far more useful.
Have a read of the comments on the following link and it might help you make a more informed decision.

http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/module...wtopic&t=48317



Hope this helps.
davidj241 is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 8th July 2007, 18:05
 
Join Date: 25th May 2007
Posts: 375
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidj241 View Post
I have been using a TomTom 910 with the Traffic module but have found it to be very hit and miss. It depends very much on where in the country you are.

To be honest I wouldn't advise getting one at the moment, apparently TomTom are going to produce another unit and there is a chance that existing owners can get theirs upgraded.

I have subscribed to their Traffic service and find that to be far more useful.
Have a read of the comments on the following link and it might help you make a more informed decision.

http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/module...wtopic&t=48317



Hope this helps.
It actually appears to be the TMC service that is the problem. Users of every manufacturers TMC recievers are moaning about it.
WavyD is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 8th July 2007, 20:16 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
AubreyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12th August 2006
Posts: 463
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidj241 View Post
I have been using a TomTom 910 with the Traffic module but have found it to be very hit and miss. It depends very much on where in the country you are.

To be honest I wouldn't advise getting one at the moment, apparently TomTom are going to produce another unit and there is a chance that existing owners can get theirs upgraded.

I have subscribed to their Traffic service and find that to be far more useful.
Have a read of the comments on the following link and it might help you make a more informed decision.

http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/module...wtopic&t=48317

Hope this helps.
Thanks David, thats a great help.
AubreyS is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 8th July 2007, 20:17
 
Join Date: 31st May 2006
Posts: 246
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
It also depends on where you drive. TMC works off sensors on main routes and motorways, so if you mainly drive in the country then you will not get any information relayed to the TMC, however if you use motorways and A roads it might save you some time and identify potential hold ups.
Honda100 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 10th July 2007, 12:39
Smell My Cheese!
 
richierich's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th May 2006
Location: Bicester, Oxfordshire ENGLAND
Posts: 1,888
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I used to have the traffic on my Tom Tom 5 on PDA, you could guarantee nearly every other Friday it told me there was a 27 mile queue from Jct 11 of the M40 to Milton Keynes.
richierich is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 10th July 2007, 15:02
 
dondon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18th February 2007
Location: Hampshire ENGLAND
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I had it built in to a previous car, along with the sat nav. It sounds like a great idea but isn't always that good in practice.

I was on my way to the centre of Bristol and it asked if I wanted to avoid the traffic. I said 'yes' and it took me on a long detour through the suburbs and made me nearly 2 hours late by the time I got into the centre and worked my way through the same traffic jams from the other side!
dondon is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 10th July 2007, 15:33
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Why they discontinued the Freeway units confuses me.

I've still got mine up and running and in the main it seems more accurate than the TMC.

Quite often the Freeview will 'tell' me that the hold up starts at J15 on the M25 whilst the TMC traffic icon is at J14.
95% of the time the Freeway is right and the TMC is wrong.
Kremmen is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 10th July 2007, 20:10 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
AubreyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12th August 2006
Posts: 463
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Well, it looks like I shan't be bothering to get one. I thought that it would be a worthwhile addition to the Tom Tom. If it was 95% accurate about motorway problems I'd get one.

It would be good if I could borrow one for a few weeks to try it out.
AubreyS is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 11th July 2007, 08:04
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
In theory the TMC is a good idea. You can even display traffic jams hundreds of miles away if you decide to.

For some strange reason though, in my experience, the data relayed to your car via the roadside beacons seems more accurate than the system they relay the TMC info.

TMC is better than nothing if only it was slightly more accurate.
Kremmen is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome