Electrics "VTEC wire" for 8th Gen? - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 12:03 Thread Starter
OMG8THGENEX
 
Andy_K's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Civic EX
Join Date: 2nd January 2008
Location: Leeds, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 840
Thanks: 48
Thanked 55 Times in 41 Posts
iTrader: (5)
"VTEC wire" for 8th Gen?

In my old EP3 I installed a 'Vtec light' by tapping into the green and yellow (vtec) wire underneath the glovebox by the ECU.

I was thinking of doing the same on my 8th Gen but would be interested to know if someone has already achieved this and could tell me where the 'Vtec wire' actually is.

Cheers.
Andy_K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 12:11
Supporter
 
rossk1009's Avatar
 
Car: 58 NHB TYPE R GT
Join Date: 14th June 2009
Location: Falkirk, Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 3,588
Thanks: 241
Thanked 465 Times in 432 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_K View Post
In my old EP3 I installed a 'Vtec light' by tapping into the green and yellow (vtec) wire underneath the glovebox by the ECU.

I was thinking of doing the same on my 8th Gen but would be interested to know if someone has already achieved this and could tell me where the 'Vtec wire' actually is.

Cheers.
There is already a vtec indicator on the 8th gen though
rossk1009 is offline  
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 12:14 Thread Starter
OMG8THGENEX
** Thread starter **
 
Andy_K's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Civic EX
Join Date: 2nd January 2008
Location: Leeds, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 840
Thanks: 48
Thanked 55 Times in 41 Posts
iTrader: (5)
Sorry mate.... forgot to mention... was thinking if it was possible for the FK2, which doesn't have an indicator.
Andy_K is offline  
 
post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 12:16
COTM Feb 2012
 
Guitaralmond's Avatar
 
Car: Aston V12 Vantage S
Join Date: 9th January 2008
Location: Nantwich GB
Posts: 3,995
Thanks: 413
Thanked 319 Times in 282 Posts
iTrader: (11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_K View Post
Sorry mate.... forgot to mention... was thinking if it was possible for the FK2, which doesn't have an indicator.
It doesnt have VTEC! (in the way you're talking about)

it only works to give the engine more economy. It would be on the whole time lol and when you put your foot down would turn off
Guitaralmond is offline  
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 12:18
Supporter
 
rossk1009's Avatar
 
Car: 58 NHB TYPE R GT
Join Date: 14th June 2009
Location: Falkirk, Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 3,588
Thanks: 241
Thanked 465 Times in 432 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_K View Post
Sorry mate.... forgot to mention... was thinking if it was possible for the FK2, which doesn't have an indicator.
Sorry mate. I was on my phone so just assumed you were talking about the fn2
rossk1009 is offline  
post #6 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 12:23 Thread Starter
OMG8THGENEX
** Thread starter **
 
Andy_K's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Civic EX
Join Date: 2nd January 2008
Location: Leeds, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 840
Thanks: 48
Thanked 55 Times in 41 Posts
iTrader: (5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guitaralmond View Post
It doesnt have VTEC! (in the way you're talking about)
LOL... I knew it wouldn't take long!!

...I'm not sure that whether the cam changing for performance OR economy would make much difference to the information I need... would still imagine that when the cam switches albeit for economy there could still be a 12v live. If this is the case I could alter the colour of the footwell lights according to whether I am in or out of Vtec?
Andy_K is offline  
post #7 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 12:32
 
Join Date: 9th March 2011
Location: Horsham GB
Posts: 185
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_K View Post
LOL... I knew it wouldn't take long!!

...I'm not sure that whether the cam changing for performance OR economy would make much difference to the information I need... would still imagine that when the cam switches albeit for economy there could still be a 12v live. If this is the case I could alter the colour of the footwell lights according to whether I am in or out of Vtec?
Why on earth would you want to do this??????
Steve_R1979 is offline  
post #8 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 12:35
...............Daedalus
 
mpn_daedalus's Avatar
 
Car: CW Type R No. 460
Join Date: 5th August 2010
Location: Norfolk, UK GB
Posts: 3,687
Thanks: 236
Thanked 445 Times in 413 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Cazza was selling some V-TEC lights similar to what you're trying to do a couple of months back. I think they were for the 8th Gen.

I would imagine they'd come with instructions.

Maybe if you asked her nicely she could send you a copy if them.

Sent from my X10i using Tapatalk
mpn_daedalus is offline  
post #9 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 12:38
COTM Feb 2012
 
Guitaralmond's Avatar
 
Car: Aston V12 Vantage S
Join Date: 9th January 2008
Location: Nantwich GB
Posts: 3,995
Thanks: 413
Thanked 319 Times in 282 Posts
iTrader: (11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpn_daedalus View Post
Cazza was selling some V-TEC lights similar to what you're trying to do a couple of months back. I think they were for the 8th Gen.

I would imagine they'd come with instructions.

Maybe if you asked her nicely she could send you a copy if them.

Sent from my X10i using Tapatalk
Doesnt matter, the 1.8 doesnt have i-VTEC lol!
Guitaralmond is offline  
post #10 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 12:39 Thread Starter
OMG8THGENEX
** Thread starter **
 
Andy_K's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Civic EX
Join Date: 2nd January 2008
Location: Leeds, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 840
Thanks: 48
Thanked 55 Times in 41 Posts
iTrader: (5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpn_daedalus View Post
Cazza was selling some V-TEC lights similar to what you're trying to do a couple of months back. I think they were for the 8th Gen.

I would imagine they'd come with instructions.

Maybe if you asked her nicely she could send you a copy if them.

Sent from my X10i using Tapatalk
Thanks!... Might just do that

I've dug abit deeper and now know that it's certainly can be done! Just need to find that wire!

Although I can't seem to find it at the moment I seem to remember a Greek member knocking up this style of mod on a non-R model some time ago.
Andy_K is offline  
post #11 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 12:42 Thread Starter
OMG8THGENEX
** Thread starter **
 
Andy_K's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Civic EX
Join Date: 2nd January 2008
Location: Leeds, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 840
Thanks: 48
Thanked 55 Times in 41 Posts
iTrader: (5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guitaralmond View Post
Doesnt matter, the 1.8 doesnt have i-VTEC lol!
It does...

Honda Civic 5 Door | Book Test Drive | Specification, Finance & Information
Andy_K is offline  
post #12 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 12:48
COTM Feb 2012
 
Guitaralmond's Avatar
 
Car: Aston V12 Vantage S
Join Date: 9th January 2008
Location: Nantwich GB
Posts: 3,995
Thanks: 413
Thanked 319 Times in 282 Posts
iTrader: (11)
OOOOOHHHHHH no it doesnt!
Guitaralmond is offline  
post #13 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 12:49 Thread Starter
OMG8THGENEX
** Thread starter **
 
Andy_K's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Civic EX
Join Date: 2nd January 2008
Location: Leeds, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 840
Thanks: 48
Thanked 55 Times in 41 Posts
iTrader: (5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guitaralmond View Post
OOOOOHHHHHH no it doesnt!
Well perhaps I am wrong... but why on earth does it say "i-vtec" at the bottom of my rear windscreen aswell as on the Honda site?
Andy_K is offline  
post #14 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 12:52
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_K View Post
Well perhaps I am wrong... but why on earth does it say "i-vtec" at the bottom of my rear windscreen aswell as on the Honda site?
It does, but just works in a different way (Engine changes from Eco mode to Normal Mode), see here: VTEC - Civinfo Wiki

I guess you would need a light that showed the changeover.
Bog is offline  
Thank You to Bog from 2 Users:
post #15 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 12:57 Thread Starter
OMG8THGENEX
** Thread starter **
 
Andy_K's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Civic EX
Join Date: 2nd January 2008
Location: Leeds, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 840
Thanks: 48
Thanked 55 Times in 41 Posts
iTrader: (5)
Thanks Bog... It DOES have i-Vtec! ... and I knew it worked differently... just somone seemed to think that it doesn't have it at all .

...and to be fair to me I aren't interested in whether v-tec engages for power OR performance... I just want to know where the 12v live appears at the cam change.
Andy_K is offline  
post #16 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 13:20
Lord of JAE.....
 
Unknownsoldier's Avatar
 
Car: 58' NHB Type R-GT
Join Date: 22nd September 2007
Location: Kent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,395
Thanks: 397
Thanked 177 Times in 158 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_K View Post
Thanks Bog... It DOES have i-Vtec! ... and I knew it worked differently... just somone seemed to think that it doesn't have it at all .

...and to be fair to me I aren't interested in whether v-tec engages for power OR performance... I just want to know where the 12v live appears at the cam change.
Tbh it doesn't have proper vtec, it has what should be called Vteec the extra e for economy. It is logical you can do your idea, although a little redundant as tbh the 1.8 is quickish but theres no real change between it's vtec stages, it doesn't make much difference in engine noise or feel, unlike the other vtec. As said any light would be on permanently and switch off when vtec turns off... you would need some sort of resistor to work it the other way and to change the ligths working on a voltage drop system like we operate on our security shutters. [I have owned both in 8th gen btw].

Tom
Unknownsoldier is offline  
post #17 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 13:21
Lord of JAE.....
 
Unknownsoldier's Avatar
 
Car: 58' NHB Type R-GT
Join Date: 22nd September 2007
Location: Kent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,395
Thanks: 397
Thanked 177 Times in 158 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_K View Post
Thanks Bog... It DOES have i-Vtec! ... and I knew it worked differently... just somone seemed to think that it doesn't have it at all .

...and to be fair to me I aren't interested in whether v-tec engages for power OR performance... I just want to know where the 12v live appears at the cam change.
And your type of Vtec does not engage, unless you lift off the throttle... it disengages when you accelerate past XXXXrpm
Unknownsoldier is offline  
post #18 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 13:28 Thread Starter
OMG8THGENEX
** Thread starter **
 
Andy_K's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Civic EX
Join Date: 2nd January 2008
Location: Leeds, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 840
Thanks: 48
Thanked 55 Times in 41 Posts
iTrader: (5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unknownsoldier View Post
And your type of Vtec does not engage, unless you lift off the throttle... it disengages when you accelerate past XXXXrpm
Thanks for that Tom... in 1.8 i-vtec the eco cam disengages at 3500rpm... so unless the 'normal' cam has a 12v feed then perhaps I would need some kind of relay fitted to another live?

So, off the top of my head I could have a green light active if there is a live from the eco cam, switching to red from the normal cam 12v?

Has this not been done in the CR-Z or is that just me? lol

I'll keep digging
Andy_K is offline  
post #19 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 13:32
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
As for fitting a light, it can be done and has been done on the US 1.8's... Just a case of finding the wire/solenoid they refer too

i-vtec solenoid wiring help - 8th Generation Honda Civic Forum

i-vtec light for 2008 Civic R18 - Page 2 - Fuel Economy, Hypermiling, EcoModding News and Forum - EcoModder.com

Maybe make a little circuit that changes a the green leed to red when in 'Normal' mode
Bog is offline  
Thanks to Bog from:
post #20 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th January 2012, 13:33
R-2
geekess
 
R-2's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Mugen 200 Type R
Join Date: 2nd October 2007
Location: deep in the shires GB
Posts: 3,638
Thanks: 233
Thanked 291 Times in 271 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Send a message via MSN to R-2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_K View Post
In my old EP3 I installed a 'Vtec light' by tapping into the green and yellow (vtec) wire underneath the glovebox by the ECU.
I thought the EP3 had a vtec light fitted as standard also!!
R-2 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vtec 'Zone" endepende Type-R 26 8th March 2010 18:55
Can i get a 4 stuf 17" type r replica alloy to fit 03 1.6i vtec jonny392 Previous Civics 3 6th February 2009 12:15

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome