Electrics HELP! Not working-Central locking,radio,satnav & a/c screen - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 7th January 2012, 18:54 Thread Starter
-=SBZ=-
 
snowboundzero's Avatar
 
Car: 2.2 EX
Join Date: 19th March 2011
Location: Sheffield S12 ENGLAND
Posts: 901
Thanks: 155
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
iTrader: (4)
HELP! Not working-Central locking,radio,satnav & a/c screen

Need some advice guys.

Background:
I was installing an alarm system with glass break and tilt sensor with a 1 mile pager system.
I'm pretty good with electronics so i know i can do it.
Trying to find the right place to put it i ended up selecting the empty space under the radio unit.
Managed to get the dash apart and radio out.

Now at this point i thought *hey why don't i just take a feed from the radio live*
(as most radios have 2 lives, a 12v permanent and an 12v ignition) to save me from running a cable into the engine bay, the alarm doesn't draw that much.
So i get my multimeter out and try to find the +12v feed.
I measure one of the cables and the mirrors fold in (i have the mirror mod)
Bit strange i think, as the car is still unlocked.

So now, with the key out the mirrors stay folded in. The mirror button doesn't work, the central locking on the arm rest doesn't work.
When you first put the key in the dials don't light up and on the first click nothing comes on the dash.
Radio wont turn on. Satnav and a/c screen stay off but ac/heaters work from the buttons.

BUT

With the key in the ignition, the central locking is fine, mirror work as they should. And the dash works.
Radio still wont turn on. Satnav and a/c screen stay off but ac/heaters work from the buttons.
Car starts fine, the only thing different on start up is the red immobiliser led comes on for 2-3 seconds then goes off.

The only thing from a search on here that i can find simlar is this thread:
http://www.civinfo.com/forum/electro...head-unit.html

Which refers the MICU but it turned out to be a fuse under the bonnet. I'm going to check under the bonnet when its light tomorrow.
I have checked some of the fuses in the car: Radio, central locking... there all fine.

Anyone else heard of anything like this, or know which fuse under the bonnet has something to do with all of the above?

Last edited by snowboundzero; 7th January 2012 at 19:26. Reason: phat phingers...
snowboundzero is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 7th January 2012, 19:12
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Have check all the fuses? Sometimes the look ok but are blown!
Bog is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 7th January 2012, 19:25 Thread Starter
-=SBZ=-
** Thread starter **
 
snowboundzero's Avatar
 
Car: 2.2 EX
Join Date: 19th March 2011
Location: Sheffield S12 ENGLAND
Posts: 901
Thanks: 155
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bog View Post
Have check all the fuses? Sometimes the look ok but are blown!
Not all Bog, just the ones i though were relevant. It was getting dark so couldn't see that well.
I'll pull them all one at a time tomorrow and check them with the multimeter.

Do you know much about the fuses under the bonnet?
snowboundzero is offline  
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 7th January 2012, 20:06
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
I think there is only one under e bonnet for the interior, an 80 amp one which feed the interior fuse box and if that had gone, nothing would work inside.

Let me do sone research and I'll post back in a bit

Pretty sure it's nothing too serious ... Just a fuse somewhere !
Bog is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 7th January 2012, 20:15 Thread Starter
-=SBZ=-
** Thread starter **
 
snowboundzero's Avatar
 
Car: 2.2 EX
Join Date: 19th March 2011
Location: Sheffield S12 ENGLAND
Posts: 901
Thanks: 155
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Cheers Bog, much appreciated.
Just though it was strange that stuff worked when the engine was running when it didn't when it was off.
snowboundzero is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 7th January 2012, 23:20
grease monkey
 
olibooth's Avatar
 
Car: 2006. 2.2 5dr, silver
Join Date: 6th January 2012
Location: preston ENGLAND
Posts: 132
Thanks: 14
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (1)
check the fuses under the bonnet, one of the smaller one no8 fuse i think, it's blue 15amp, it's a pdi fuse that controls all that stuff.
olibooth is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 8th January 2012, 13:40 Thread Starter
-=SBZ=-
** Thread starter **
 
snowboundzero's Avatar
 
Car: 2.2 EX
Join Date: 19th March 2011
Location: Sheffield S12 ENGLAND
Posts: 901
Thanks: 155
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Small update, I've read the DCT codes.

I have

DTC B1235 : A Problem in the Driver's Air Mix Control Linkage, Door, or Motor

DTC B1238 : A Problem in the Passenger's Air Mix Control Linkage, Door, or Motor

DTC B2991 : Climate Control Unit Lost Communication with Audio HVAC Subdisplay Unit (with audio system)

Not too bothered about the first 2, i think there old codes or seem to be fixed now.

Its the last one that makes the most sense.
snowboundzero is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 8th January 2012, 15:36
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Have you checked fuse 35? (7.5 amp) It covers..... Accessory power socket, Audio unit, Interface dial, Cigarette lighter, Hands-Free Telephone control unit, Navigation display unit, Navigation unit.

And have still got the alarm connected to the radio perm 12v?
Bog is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 8th January 2012, 17:08 Thread Starter
-=SBZ=-
** Thread starter **
 
snowboundzero's Avatar
 
Car: 2.2 EX
Join Date: 19th March 2011
Location: Sheffield S12 ENGLAND
Posts: 901
Thanks: 155
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bog View Post
Have you checked fuse 35? (7.5 amp) It covers..... Accessory power socket, Audio unit, Interface dial, Cigarette lighter, Hands-Free Telephone control unit, Navigation display unit, Navigation unit.

And have still got the alarm connected to the radio perm 12v?
No, as soon as strange things happened i stopped what i was doing and tried to find the fault.

Is that the pink or red one at the top of the block on the left?
This morning i pulled the fuses one at a time and checked the filament in them. They all looked sound.

More digging in the dark forgotten parts of civinfo i found:

The MICU that is combined with the under-dash fuse/relay box is the one of the B-CAN network components. The MICU controls many systems related to the body controller area and a security system, and also works as a gateway to diagnose the other B-CAN connected ECUs with the HDS.

Fail-safe Function


When a CPU problem or a abnormal power supply voltage is detected, the MICU moves to the hardware fail-safe mode, and each system output load is set to the pre-programmed fail-safe value.

Software Fail-safe Control


When any of the data from the B-CAN circuit cannot be received within a specified time, or an unusual combination of the data is recognized, the MICU moves to the software fail-safe mode. The data that cannot be received is forced to pre-programmed value.

The MICU controls the door lock actuators based upon the ignition key switch signal, the driver's door switch signal and the driver's door lock knob switch signal.

The MICU also controls the function of these circuits:

Entry lights control (map lights*, ceiling light)
Exterior lights control
Horn
Keyless entry
Power door locks
Security alarm
Turn signal/hazard flasher
snowboundzero is offline  
Thanks to snowboundzero from:
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 8th January 2012, 19:42
Supporter
 
cv65user's Avatar
 
Car: 1.8cc EX, 5dr
Join Date: 21st August 2007
Location: united kingdom AD
Posts: 1,236
Thanks: 59
Thanked 46 Times in 45 Posts
iTrader: (1)
shhiiitt sorry to hear this bud . im not good but i hope u get this resolved. yeah looks like ecu in safe mode / tamper mode.

i know my old mercedes was in like an optical fibre loop with the climate control /cd changer / radio / telephone / sat nav / amp was all in one loop . if disconnected by accident ( had to one time when taking apart dash board) it kept saying error . in the end had to take it to mercedes to plug in their special star software to re enable all software for the hardware. this was a 11 year old car. how clever of mercedes

basically you might need to get your ecu to learn it has a radio again
cv65user is offline  
post #11 of 20 (permalink) Old 9th January 2012, 01:59
Banned
 
Jpetrie's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 NHB Type S GT
Join Date: 11th March 2011
Location: Southampton GB
Posts: 1,929
Thanks: 169
Thanked 290 Times in 219 Posts
iTrader: (7)
I did this to my first Honda when fitting a double din. I can't remember what happened but faced exactly the same problems as yourself. Except, I never checked to see if mirrors worked or not and I can't remember if dials lit up or not.

I'm 99% certain you've blown a fuse. I don't know which one.

I'm quite sure it could be 35 INSIDE car, don't panic if you pull 35 out and it's fine as this happened to me over a year ago. Regardless, it will not be a fuse outside. It'll be one or maybe a couple inside your car. Try #35 first. If not pull your manual out go to page 479 and look for the ones which relate to your problem and check 'em.
Jpetrie is offline  
post #12 of 20 (permalink) Old 9th January 2012, 13:59 Thread Starter
-=SBZ=-
** Thread starter **
 
snowboundzero's Avatar
 
Car: 2.2 EX
Join Date: 19th March 2011
Location: Sheffield S12 ENGLAND
Posts: 901
Thanks: 155
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Sorted guys, it was a 15a fuse under the bonnet.

Everything is back on and working as it should.

Thanks for everyones help and input.

Just need to get a 15a fuse for the windows as i stole it from there.

* Relief*
snowboundzero is offline  
post #13 of 20 (permalink) Old 9th January 2012, 14:06
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowboundzero View Post
Sorted guys, it was a 15a fuse under the bonnet.

Everything is back on and working as it should.

Thanks for everyones help and input.

Just need to get a 15a fuse for the windows as i stole it from there.

* Relief*
Thanks good news... you can un-clench those bum cheeks now lol.

What number fuse was it out of interest? 16?
Bog is offline  
post #14 of 20 (permalink) Old 9th January 2012, 14:18 Thread Starter
-=SBZ=-
** Thread starter **
 
snowboundzero's Avatar
 
Car: 2.2 EX
Join Date: 19th March 2011
Location: Sheffield S12 ENGLAND
Posts: 901
Thanks: 155
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bog View Post
Thanks good news... you can un-clench those bum cheeks now lol.

What number fuse was it out of interest? 16?
Yeah Bog, Number 16. Can't understand how i missed it.
snowboundzero is offline  
post #15 of 20 (permalink) Old 9th January 2012, 14:20
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bog View Post
Thanks good news... you can un-clench those bum cheeks now lol.

What number fuse was it out of interest? 16?
Easily done.... especially when you are pooping yourself that you done something really serious. Been there several times lol
Bog is offline  
post #16 of 20 (permalink) Old 9th January 2012, 14:24 Thread Starter
-=SBZ=-
** Thread starter **
 
snowboundzero's Avatar
 
Car: 2.2 EX
Join Date: 19th March 2011
Location: Sheffield S12 ENGLAND
Posts: 901
Thanks: 155
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
iTrader: (4)
I wasn't pooping myself. Just mentally counting the 's that i would cost honda to put it right. Isn't it 4k for the nav unit alone?
snowboundzero is offline  
post #17 of 20 (permalink) Old 9th January 2012, 17:30
Supporter
 
cv65user's Avatar
 
Car: 1.8cc EX, 5dr
Join Date: 21st August 2007
Location: united kingdom AD
Posts: 1,236
Thanks: 59
Thanked 46 Times in 45 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bog View Post
Thanks good news... you can un-clench those bum cheeks now lol.
lollllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll llllllllll
cv65user is offline  
post #18 of 20 (permalink) Old 6th December 2013, 14:26
Supporter
 
Join Date: 5th May 2013
Location: Southampton ENGLAND
Posts: 291
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Just had exactly the same problem. Changing fuse 16 has fixed it. It's really odd though, I'm positive I tested them all with a multimeter and they were all fine. I found this thread after searching and tried just changing it and it worked.

So thats 3 of us that missed it somehow!!
Starscream is offline  
post #19 of 20 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2015, 21:22
 
bartez's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 fk3 EX Champ Silver
Join Date: 25th April 2015
Location: Manchester, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 14
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I just had the same problem as this after messing with my bluetooth HFT module it blown fuse number 16 a 15amp under the bonnet, a note to others you shouldnt have to go out and buy more fuses in the center row of the under bonnet fuse box are a range of spare fuses providing they havnt been used already.
BTW does anyone know the default location of the fuse puller I cant find in either fuse box perhaps its lost. A thin screw driver should surffice in prising fuses out providing your careful.
bartez is offline  
post #20 of 20 (permalink) Old 8th November 2015, 21:17
Supporter
 
Vyse's Avatar
 
Join Date: 6th May 2012
Location: UK JP
Posts: 749
Thanks: 74
Thanked 62 Times in 55 Posts
iTrader: (1)
I dismantled my radio and as it was get dark I was planning to drive the car to work with no radio tomorrow. If I turn the ignition does it mean I will also experience the problems above?
Vyse is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrics Central Locking Problem RedDervil Electronics (8G) 3 22nd August 2011 12:23
Other Central Locking Jpetrie Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 12 14th March 2011 18:55
Electrics central locking only locks!!! HELP!!! Xhion Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 5 26th January 2009 19:59
Electrics central locking/stereo sparx Electronics (8G) 0 6th December 2008 19:20
Alarm Central locking probs jcat Electronics (8G) 18 6th September 2008 00:09

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome