Battery Forgot to lock up FK2 -> Battery almost flat? - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 18th January 2012, 19:39 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 9th August 2009
Location: Germany DE
Posts: 197
Thanks: 2
Thanked 18 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Forgot to lock up FK2 -> Battery almost flat?

Today, I came to my Civ (FK2-Facelift 09), left in my garage for about 2 weeks, and noticed, I forgot to lock up the car, when I left it last time.
Also, I had a weak battery, today.
I mean, the ignition still worked, but it almost failed.

I know, the battery of the Civ can be weak or even be flat on a winter day, especially after not driving the car for several days.
But I guess, this time, it was caused by leaving the Civ unlocked.
What do you think?
Centauri39 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 18th January 2012, 19:46
 
Woette's Avatar
 
Car: '07 1.8 MR Type-S 104000 km
Join Date: 7th October 2007
Location: Leuven, Belgium BE
Posts: 1,983
Thanks: 100
Thanked 146 Times in 144 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Centauri39 View Post
Today, I came to my Civ (FK2-Facelift 09), left in my garage for about 2 weeks, and noticed, I forgot to lock up the car, when I left it last time.
Also, I had a weak battery, today.
I mean, the ignition still worked, but it almost failed.

I know, the battery of the Civ can be weak or even be flat on a winter day, especially after not driving the car for several days.
But I guess, this time, it was caused by leaving the Civ unlocked.
What do you think?
Did you leave the lights and wipers on auto? I've heard that also sips a bit of energy even when the ignition is off so maybe that could be a cause. I always turn them off if i know the car wont be used for a while
Though i've had it happen the car had some difficulty starting even after being driven every day.
Woette is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 18th January 2012, 22:32 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 9th August 2009
Location: Germany DE
Posts: 197
Thanks: 2
Thanked 18 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
No, Woette, both of them were set to "Off" all the time.
I was happy to find according notes about those "auto" features
in the car's guide, before something like that could happen to me.

I wonder, can an unlocked Civ drain the battery, too?
I think, I must have read about it somewhere,
but I'm not sure about that anymore, you know?

Last edited by Centauri39; 18th January 2012 at 22:36.
Centauri39 is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 18th January 2012, 22:40
 
Woette's Avatar
 
Car: '07 1.8 MR Type-S 104000 km
Join Date: 7th October 2007
Location: Leuven, Belgium BE
Posts: 1,983
Thanks: 100
Thanked 146 Times in 144 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
I've had my car unlocked for a few days once and it had no problem getting started.
Does it start okay now after short trips? If not that could be an indication of the battery. If it does i would put it down to a quirk. Every car i've driven so far had it happen once that it didnt start well without any indication to what could have caused it.
Woette is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 18th January 2012, 22:50
-=SBZ=-
 
snowboundzero's Avatar
 
Car: 2.2 EX
Join Date: 19th March 2011
Location: Sheffield S12 ENGLAND
Posts: 901
Thanks: 155
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
iTrader: (4)
She's punishing you for 2 weeks of neglect.
Charge the battery and show her some love!
snowboundzero is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 19th January 2012, 12:04 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 9th August 2009
Location: Germany DE
Posts: 197
Thanks: 2
Thanked 18 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
@ Woette
After this first start, I was driving about 3 or 4 km's and on my second start, to get back home again, everything worked perfectly again.
On my way back home, which usually would have taken me only a few minutes, I was driving the car for about half an hour to charge the battery again.
Tomorrow, on my next trip, I'll see, if it's ok now.
I plan to give the battery another half an hour or a bit more of driving, to make sure, it gets charged as much as can be.
As for a new battery, I wonder, why everybody at my location (not only my Honda dealer, but several car accessory dealers, too) keeps telling me, there is no other battery for the Civ, but here on Civinfo, there are lots of postings telling me the opposite?
Are all those guys just to lazy to replace it?

@ snowboundzero
Unfortunately, there's no electricity in my garage, so driving is the only chance of charging.
Like I said above @ Woette, I'll do that tomorrow, because, when I think about it, I realize, my last few trips where too short, probably.
Anyway, it's very annoying, if a car keeps telling me, when or how far I have to drive it. I once thought, that's up to me to decide.
Well, despite the fact that the Civ certainly is a beauty, I guess, my next car won't be such a "driving computer" with tons of electronics build in, anymore.

Last edited by Centauri39; 20th January 2012 at 02:19. Reason: Fixed typo: "diving computer"->"driving computer"
Centauri39 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 19th January 2012, 13:27
 
Woette's Avatar
 
Car: '07 1.8 MR Type-S 104000 km
Join Date: 7th October 2007
Location: Leuven, Belgium BE
Posts: 1,983
Thanks: 100
Thanked 146 Times in 144 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
All modern cars are packed with electronics so that will always be a 'weak point' on any car. Unless you buy a dacia
And there certainly are other makes of batteries that can be put in the civic. A honda dealer who doesnt achknowledge their existence i can understand. Other dealers should be able to provide imo, perhaps you can order one with them when providing enough details?

My daily commute is twice 7 km and i have never experienced issues with my battery. So it doesnt need THAT much for charging.
Woette is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 19th January 2012, 14:02
R-2
geekess
 
R-2's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Mugen 200 Type R
Join Date: 2nd October 2007
Location: deep in the shires GB
Posts: 3,638
Thanks: 233
Thanked 291 Times in 271 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Send a message via MSN to R-2
I once left my car unlocked for a week and ended up with a flat battery.

Apparently if you don't lock your car it never fully goes into 'sleep' mode so some charge is constantly being drawn into the various car electrics. So leave it unlocked for long enough and it will eventually drain the battery.
R-2 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 20th January 2012, 03:22 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 9th August 2009
Location: Germany DE
Posts: 197
Thanks: 2
Thanked 18 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
@ Woelle
Yes, isn't that crazy about cars nowadays?
You can have your car full of electronics to help you whilst driving or to play with, but if you really try to use those things, your battery will be dead in almost the blink of an eye (to say it exaggerated).

@ R-2
According to your post, seems like my theory about the unlocked car wasn't so bad, was it?

Throughout the last winter, I needed two or three jump starts.
After that, my Honda dealer got me some kind of software update.
Don't know, what it was exactly, that's been updated that day, but I guess, it was done to send several components faster into sleep mode.
Now, it really looks like my battery lasts longer, but this winter isn't as cold as the last one and therefore, it's difficult to compare.

Last edited by Centauri39; 20th January 2012 at 03:24.
Centauri39 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 20th January 2012, 08:22
...............Daedalus
 
mpn_daedalus's Avatar
 
Car: CW Type R No. 460
Join Date: 5th August 2010
Location: Norfolk, UK GB
Posts: 3,687
Thanks: 236
Thanked 445 Times in 413 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by R-2 View Post
I once left my car unlocked for a week and ended up with a flat battery.

Apparently if you don't lock your car it never fully goes into 'sleep' mode so some charge is constantly being drawn into the various car electrics. So leave it unlocked for long enough and it will eventually drain the battery.
+1

I've heard that the MICU won't go into standby until you lock the car and will still draw power from the battery.

Sent from my X10i using Tapatalk
mpn_daedalus is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 20th January 2012, 13:44 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 9th August 2009
Location: Germany DE
Posts: 197
Thanks: 2
Thanked 18 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Today, everything was ok.
After making this fault, I probably won't forget to lock the car
for quite while now... well, hopefully...
Centauri39 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flat battery Battery Flat :-( leigh Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 14 2nd September 2011 17:25
Flat Battery 159john General Discussion (8G) 12 21st February 2011 13:44
Battery flat again. marcus General Discussion (8G) 8 1st February 2011 13:10
Flat battery bonzo Type-R 24 26th January 2011 17:39
Battery Another flat battery.. again.. shieldy2k7 Electronics (8G) 1 9th October 2009 00:28

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome