Alarm Immobiliser Unit, where is it ? - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 16th July 2007, 15:00 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 21st May 2007
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Immobiliser Unit, where is it ?

Don't know if this is the correct forum to post this but mods please feel free to move it neccessary

I bought (Honda dealer 150 miles from where i live) my 06 plate 1.8 Sport at the end of May and when i collected it, just as i was driving away i realised that i had only been given 1 Key. I asked for the other key, was told that it had been mislaid and that a new key would be ordered and would be sent to me.

The programming would be organised locally (FOC of course) so i wasn't concerned (annoyed but not concerned). After 3 phone calls the duplicate key arrived so i arranged with my local dealer to have the key programmed.

Turned up, couldn't be done, possible fault with the laptop thingy they use. Have to come back after machine sent to Honda for Recalibrating.

Got phone call, machine back, pop up , key still can't be programmed, apparently on the laptop, engine management is accessible with the new key but not the immobiliser.

The dealer now thinks the immobiliser unit in my car may be faulty, got to go back this week and leave it for the day, but i am confused. Obviously the existing key works ok, so why should a new one not ?

My other concern is that the Technician (mechanic) said that they had to work out where the immobiliser unit was as they had never "done that on a Civic before"

So does anyone please know where it is so i can point them in the right direction

I thought i'd left all this behind when i sold the Audi

Thanks

Dave
davek9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 16th July 2007, 16:02
PTR
 
PTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th October 2006
Location: Hungary HU
Posts: 676
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by davek9 View Post
I thought i'd left all this behind when i sold the Audi
hey it is not a "Honda fault" that someone lost the key!

I will check it in the manual for you where the immo is.
It can happen that it is not a smaller box like at older cars, it can be part of the MICU or some "boss-ecu".
PTR is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 16th July 2007, 18:47
PTR
 
PTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th October 2006
Location: Hungary HU
Posts: 676
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
so as promised:
it is right next to the ignition switch behind the cover
PTR is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 16th July 2007, 18:53 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 21st May 2007
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi, many thanks for that i'll drop into the conversation where it is

To be honest i wonder if it's the new key that has a fault, will find out i guess later in the week.

Thanks again

Dave
davek9 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 16th July 2007, 22:22
Supporter
 
Skippy's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 ES
Join Date: 27th April 2007
Location: Midlands GB
Posts: 767
Thanks: 156
Thanked 90 Times in 77 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PTR View Post
so as promised:
it is right next to the ignition switch behind the cover
Is that the immobiliser or just a transponder reader that feeds into the ECU?

Also, as the dealer doesn't appear to have done much with keys for new Civics, might it be their ability to program rather than the unit? It seems odd that one key is fine and the new one isn't that's all.

At least it's under warranty. I remember hearing about a Fiat owner loosing the master key for her car and being charged for a new ECU, ignition barrel and drivers door! - About 1500!
Skippy is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th July 2007, 00:09
PTR
 
PTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th October 2006
Location: Hungary HU
Posts: 676
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skippy View Post
Is that the immobiliser or just a transponder reader that feeds into the ECU?
Both! the reader ring mounted on a plastic box and in this is the immo.
PTR is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th July 2007, 10:04
Supporter
 
Skippy's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 ES
Join Date: 27th April 2007
Location: Midlands GB
Posts: 767
Thanks: 156
Thanked 90 Times in 77 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Does that box do circuit cuts? I would have thought that it just gives the ECU a go/no go code then lets the ECU stop the hot-wiring chav stealing your spaceship! If only electrocution was allowed in the UK...
Skippy is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th July 2007, 10:19
PTR
 
PTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th October 2006
Location: Hungary HU
Posts: 676
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
hey we better stop talking about this topic on an open forum...
I don't want to give ideas, infos for the car thefts
PTR is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th July 2007, 10:36
Supporter
 
Skippy's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 ES
Join Date: 27th April 2007
Location: Midlands GB
Posts: 767
Thanks: 156
Thanked 90 Times in 77 Posts
iTrader: (0)
True

However, I've had a quick look around and it appears to be a rolling-code transponder ECU based immobiliser. I can't think of a reliable way of bypassing one and (I'd like to think) I know what I'm doing with transponders.

Feel free to discuss security on the Golf and Focus!
Skippy is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th July 2007, 10:49
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by PTR View Post
hey we better stop talking about this topic on an open forum...
I don't want to give ideas, infos for the car thefts
What electrocuting Chavs? Seems a valid discussion to me
Bog is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th July 2007, 11:20
PTR
 
PTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th October 2006
Location: Hungary HU
Posts: 676
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skippy View Post

Feel free to discuss security on the Golf and Focus!


yep, we can discuss it here becuase if thefts want to steal a golf they are not going to look for infos on a Civic forum!
PTR is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 26th April 2010, 20:00
erz
 
erz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th April 2010
Location: Tallinn, EST EE
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hello,
I have almost the same problem, that after car had been stolen and found again, Honda dealer can't program the old key's. Do you know is it possible to change immobiliser to a used one?
Is it the same immobiliser on Accord and Civic?
Honda don't use a CAN connection I think.
erz is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 7th May 2010, 15:22
erz
 
erz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th April 2010
Location: Tallinn, EST EE
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Now I have a new steering lock and 2 keys, Immobiliser has been programmed and the car runs fine. No immobiliser change, lucky me
erz is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer IMPORTANT!!! Immobiliser Locks out when jump starting! tucker101uk Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 93 28th August 2018 10:51
Head Unit Aux head unit ITSRICKSCIVIC Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 1 12th July 2007 11:45
Alarm 1.4 SE - DSI; does it have a Thatcham Cat 1 Immobiliser? generationgav Electronics (8G) 12 22nd May 2007 18:59
Satnav CRV Sat Nav Unit wazz72 Electronics (8G) 2 7th January 2007 19:15
Little compartment under Head unit ? daiashthomas Cleaning 1 15th October 2006 20:06

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome