Satnav Issues with headunit and SatNav - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 3rd February 2012, 21:59 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
Lone_Ranger's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 CDTI EX
Join Date: 11th November 2009
Location: London, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 215
Thanks: 11
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (6)
Issues with headunit and SatNav

Hi all, been a while since i been on the forum.

Experiencing a few issues.

Audio button on headunit doesnt work. however in the diagnostic menu, the audio button does work when doing the buttons test.

Manually changing the brightness doesnt do anything, annoying as i have auto lights and during the early mornings when its a bit dark the screen is hard to see as its automatically on low brightness level (it shows its on full when you turn the knob)

SatNav voice has dissapeared, now im sure i havent turned the voice off.
when i went into the diagnositics menu and did a test, it gave this:



I have installed a dension 300, which i did last year. thats been working fine but again recently it's stopped detecting the usb drive.

Last edited by Lone_Ranger; 3rd February 2012 at 22:12.
Lone_Ranger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 5th February 2012, 02:51
Supporter
 
kenP's Avatar
 
Car: 2014 1.6 i-Dtec SR, Red
Join Date: 12th January 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK GB
Posts: 853
Thanks: 0
Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I don't know about your other issues but with the brightness it is probably on the Auto setting which switches the sat nav display between day/night depending on whether the lights are on.

I have found this setting totally useless as the brightest night time setting is often too dim even in the dark, I have set mine up to stay on the day setting all the time and adjust the brightness to suit.
kenP is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 5th February 2012, 08:19
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
The red is showing problems with connection... Have checked the plugs at the back of the sat nav are secure?
Bog is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 5th February 2012, 20:55 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Lone_Ranger's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 CDTI EX
Join Date: 11th November 2009
Location: London, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 215
Thanks: 11
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenP View Post
I don't know about your other issues but with the brightness it is probably on the Auto setting which switches the sat nav display between day/night depending on whether the lights are on.

I have found this setting totally useless as the brightest night time setting is often too dim even in the dark, I have set mine up to stay on the day setting all the time and adjust the brightness to suit.
Brightness is full even in the settings menu, and even in the day mode, as long as the headlights are on, the screen dims to the lowest brightest setting. i cant actually change the brightness during the day either.
Lone_Ranger is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 5th February 2012, 20:56 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Lone_Ranger's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 CDTI EX
Join Date: 11th November 2009
Location: London, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 215
Thanks: 11
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bog View Post
The red is showing problems with connection... Have checked the plugs at the back of the sat nav are secure?
Do I have to take the headunit out?
Lone_Ranger is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 16th February 2012, 20:35 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Lone_Ranger's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 CDTI EX
Join Date: 11th November 2009
Location: London, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 215
Thanks: 11
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (6)
my car battery suddenly died after not driving it for a day and half. odd considering how much the drive it. and at most i go 2 days without driving and its fine.
anyways, i replaced it with a new one, and guess what!

the sat nav error messages have gone, so has the brightness issue.
im probably guessing the mp3 issue too however i havent checked.

could it be because the battery was disconnected and reseting something?? i did take out the fuse for radio last week but didnt make a difference.
or was it do with the power from the battery not being enough and causing things to fail?
Lone_Ranger is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 16th February 2012, 23:13
Supporter
 
kenP's Avatar
 
Car: 2014 1.6 i-Dtec SR, Red
Join Date: 12th January 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK GB
Posts: 853
Thanks: 0
Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (0)
The old computer fix, turn it off and turn it back on again.
kenP is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 17th February 2012, 14:19
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lone_Ranger View Post
my car battery suddenly died after not driving it for a day and half. odd considering how much the drive it. and at most i go 2 days without driving and its fine.
anyways, i replaced it with a new one, and guess what!

the sat nav error messages have gone, so has the brightness issue.
im probably guessing the mp3 issue too however i havent checked.

could it be because the battery was disconnected and reseting something?? i did take out the fuse for radio last week but didnt make a difference.
or was it do with the power from the battery not being enough and causing things to fail?
Good news... whatever it was lol
Bog is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 18th February 2012, 14:01 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Lone_Ranger's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 CDTI EX
Join Date: 11th November 2009
Location: London, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 215
Thanks: 11
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (6)
UPDATE... drove the car yesterday, brightness adjusting fine, usb mp3 worked fine, sat nav voice worked fine, checked diagnostic and all seemed fine.
parked up at destination, 7 or so hours later... problems are all back.
Lone_Ranger is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrades headunit mike1988 Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 1 31st December 2011 17:48
Head Unit FN2 Headunit owen86 Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 1 15th July 2011 10:53
Head Unit Install Honda OEM satnav or Double din headunit? ballisma Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 5 28th February 2010 03:40
Built in CD Standard Honda Civic Headunit (none satnav) kev909_2k Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 2 11th March 2009 21:54
Head Unit new headunit Monopoli Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 6 13th November 2008 20:18

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome