Electrics what are these wires? any good for usb power? - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th February 2012, 14:24 Thread Starter
living the dream
 
Brungle's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR Silver
Join Date: 9th April 2009
Location: West Yorkshire GB
Posts: 1,021
Thanks: 222
Thanked 75 Times in 62 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Send a message via MSN to Brungle
what are these wires? any good for usb power?

Hello,

when I bought my civic (some time ago now!) it had a nokia hands free kit fitted (brodit holder/charger). I've always had an iphone since owning the car so never used it (besides in an ex with built in hands free!). It used to beep when starting the engine etc so I unplugged the little nokia/brodit control box that was wedged under the glovebox compartment. I've since lost this little box and was a little bored today and wondered if I could use the remaining wires to power a USB extension lead so I've got a permanent iphone charger?

I just need a bit of help with the wires, I've attached pictures.

I understand I need 5v for the usb extension lead.. I've got a multimeter (although I can't remember how to use it.. )

can someone identify what all these wires are?! one looks like the power lead for the box I removed but I dont know what voltage it is as I could potentially just split that and wire my blue usb extension to it?

thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Photo 10-02-2012 11 13 46.jpg (155.3 KB, 220 views)
File Type: jpg Photo 10-02-2012 13 02 27.jpg (102.5 KB, 65 views)
File Type: jpg Photo 10-02-2012 13 02 57.jpg (88.2 KB, 64 views)
File Type: jpg Photo 10-02-2012 13 07 28.jpg (173.5 KB, 63 views)
Brungle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th February 2012, 14:50
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 13,117
Thanks: 1,272
Thanked 2,657 Times in 2,260 Posts
iTrader: (94)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Syx
Depending on what the box did, it'll either be a 12v or a 5v feed.
I'd get a multimeter on it and check before hooking up your phone though...

Chances are someone on here will have the answer.
Syx is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th February 2012, 14:56
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Do you know where the wires start/terminate? In another box? Back of the HU?

If you can trace them back, the should help identify them..

Last edited by Bog; 10th February 2012 at 14:58.
Bog is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th February 2012, 15:06 Thread Starter
living the dream
** Thread starter **
 
Brungle's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR Silver
Join Date: 9th April 2009
Location: West Yorkshire GB
Posts: 1,021
Thanks: 222
Thanked 75 Times in 62 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Send a message via MSN to Brungle
thanks for quick responses.

I what setting would I need my multimeter on please? I've not use it for ages. would I need to strip the wires back or just probe the end of the black power plug?

I've not traced the wires behind the HU as I was hoping to avoid removing the dash at the moment until I get around to purchasing the xcarlink and the video switcher box. basically the wires that are on the floor in my pictures above lead behind the head unit somewhere.

cheers
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Photo%2010-02-2012%2014%2000%2028.jpg (128.2 KB, 21 views)
Brungle is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th February 2012, 15:09
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 13,117
Thanks: 1,272
Thanked 2,657 Times in 2,260 Posts
iTrader: (94)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Syx
DCV 20. You're going to have to identify the + and - connections on the power connector and then probe one to VΩmA and the other to COM.
Syx is offline  
Thanks to Syx from:
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th February 2012, 15:22 Thread Starter
living the dream
** Thread starter **
 
Brungle's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR Silver
Join Date: 9th April 2009
Location: West Yorkshire GB
Posts: 1,021
Thanks: 222
Thanked 75 Times in 62 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Send a message via MSN to Brungle
thanks for that.

right I probed the black wire and nothing, it looks like an audio jack though! there must be another little box behind the HU!

the good news is that I probed the square block (red and black wires) and its reading about 11-12v, so I need to get buy a 12v to 5v stepdown gadget in order to have USB power?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Photo%2010-02-2012%2014%2016%2004.jpg (131.4 KB, 22 views)
Brungle is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th February 2012, 15:25
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 13,117
Thanks: 1,272
Thanked 2,657 Times in 2,260 Posts
iTrader: (94)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Syx
Have a look for 12v phone chargers (if that's what you want) or 12v USB adaptors. I've got a sneaking suspicion they're mostly going to be cigarette socket type-things but can be easily made to fit your needs.
Syx is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th February 2012, 15:35
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syx View Post
Have a look for 12v phone chargers (if that's what you want) or 12v USB adaptors. I've got a sneaking suspicion they're mostly going to be cigarette socket type-things but can be easily made to fit your needs.
+1 But get a good quality one as the cheaper ones can cause buzz/interference when audio through aux in (I've got a griffin one and that's fine) and 2A rated... this will then be able to charge an iPhone/Smartphone better.
Bog is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th February 2012, 15:38 Thread Starter
living the dream
** Thread starter **
 
Brungle's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR Silver
Join Date: 9th April 2009
Location: West Yorkshire GB
Posts: 1,021
Thanks: 222
Thanked 75 Times in 62 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Send a message via MSN to Brungle
I just had a quick look around the house and found this, could I butcher this to work?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (155.7 KB, 30 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (92.9 KB, 35 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (93.9 KB, 35 views)
Brungle is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th February 2012, 15:43
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
yep, that looks good... 2A and seems to be suppressed....
Bog is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th February 2012, 16:06
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 13,117
Thanks: 1,272
Thanked 2,657 Times in 2,260 Posts
iTrader: (94)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Syx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bog View Post
+1 But get a good quality one as the cheaper ones can cause buzz/interference when audio through aux in (I've got a griffin one and that's fine) and 2A rated... this will then be able to charge an iPhone/Smartphone better.
Excellent point.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brungle View Post
I just had a quick look around the house and found this, could I butcher this to work?
Looks good to me!
Syx is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th February 2012, 17:30 Thread Starter
living the dream
** Thread starter **
 
Brungle's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR Silver
Join Date: 9th April 2009
Location: West Yorkshire GB
Posts: 1,021
Thanks: 222
Thanked 75 Times in 62 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Send a message via MSN to Brungle
thanks guys. I got wired in so I've now got a permanent iphone charger wired into the glove box!

I'll route it to side of gearstick once I've got a decent cradle, any suggestions?

I did notice that the adapter 12v to 5v (has an LED on) its drawing power when the ignition is off though (ie, its always lit up). Although its only a tiny LED it shouldn't drain the battery should it?
Brungle is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th February 2012, 18:37
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
I have the brodit mount like the one in this pic...



and one of these...



ADJUSTABLE WINDSCREEN MOUNT HOLDER FOR Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 X10 Pro X10 Mini | eBay

I unscrewed the rear suction part and stuck the front part to the brodit mount... So I can swivel the phone 360 degrees

Ill post some pics of mine tomorrow when it's light..
Bog is offline  
Thanks to Bog from:
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 11th February 2012, 18:36 Thread Starter
living the dream
** Thread starter **
 
Brungle's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR Silver
Join Date: 9th April 2009
Location: West Yorkshire GB
Posts: 1,021
Thanks: 222
Thanked 75 Times in 62 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Send a message via MSN to Brungle
Cool would nice to see your setup!
Brungle is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 12th February 2012, 16:37 Thread Starter
living the dream
** Thread starter **
 
Brungle's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR Silver
Join Date: 9th April 2009
Location: West Yorkshire GB
Posts: 1,021
Thanks: 222
Thanked 75 Times in 62 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Send a message via MSN to Brungle
Hehe I drained my battery. Guess I should install some kind of switch!
Brungle is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 18th April 2012, 21:35
iVTEC, do you?
 
egomaniac's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 CTR, Red
Join Date: 12th November 2007
Location: Newcastle, UK GB
Posts: 428
Thanks: 4
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
iTrader: (2)
I thought the car switched off the cig lighter after it is turned off?
egomaniac is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 18th April 2012, 21:38
iVTEC, do you?
 
egomaniac's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 CTR, Red
Join Date: 12th November 2007
Location: Newcastle, UK GB
Posts: 428
Thanks: 4
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
iTrader: (2)
sorry, my mistake.

not a cig lighter feed.
egomaniac is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fitting gauges, help were to put wires owls121 Type-R 7 2nd December 2011 09:27
187 Wheel Horse Power - Good or not? Nat General Discussion (8G) 6 1st December 2011 21:08
Speakers Wires into front doors ?? How ?? ianmartin Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 4 7th June 2011 12:14
Electrics Extending wires markygfaebburn Electronics (8G) 5 28th August 2010 12:52
Funky Power Good prices on mugen Stuff Horizon Mugen 0 31st March 2010 15:44

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome