Satnav sat nav - toll roads - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 1st September 2006, 14:53 Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
sat nav - toll roads

Has anyone noticed if the toll roads are included?


Cos I'm on the non-paying side of the bridge I can't check - but could someone from down south set a route for Cardiff when they get chance, and see if the 'minimise toll roads' option takes them up the M5 and across on the M50, instead of over the severn bridge?

please


not in the least bit urgent, it's not like I don't knw the severn bridge toll is there, but as it's been there forever if it's not on the sat nav, then possibly a shed load of others won't be either


I guess the other one to check could be the M6 toll - but I wouldn't know where to set the destination to in order to use it (or not)
TTDegs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 1st September 2006, 15:03
您看了
 
CivPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st May 2006
Location: Surrey/Hants ENGLAND
Posts: 456
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
One of the navigation routing options is "Minimise Toll roads" is it not? So that for me would mean yes, toll roads are included.

Look at the bottom route on Pottsey's image......
satnaverror.jpg
CivPilot is offline  
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old 1st September 2006, 15:11 Thread Starter
Super Moderator
** Thread starter **
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
yes - that's indeed what made me think of it


BUT - in the same way as it knows about Fast Food, but not any in this country, I'm wondering if it only knows about French peages...
TTDegs is offline  
 
post #4 of 35 (permalink) Old 1st September 2006, 15:51
Smell My Cheese!
 
richierich's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th May 2006
Location: Bicester, Oxfordshire ENGLAND
Posts: 1,888
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I can't comment on the M4, but I am certain the SatNav has warned me about the M6 toll and asked for confirmation to proceed with that routing. Or I am going mad and thinking about TomTom.

Although one thing I also seem to remember, but only vaguely, if you navigate to the continent it asks whether you are using channel tunnel/ferry.
richierich is offline  
post #5 of 35 (permalink) Old 1st September 2006, 17:24
 
Join Date: 3rd June 2006
Posts: 430
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Will it also warn if your journey takes you through the London Congestion Zone. TOMTOM does so and is very useful.
karlak is offline  
post #6 of 35 (permalink) Old 2nd September 2006, 13:06
 
Join Date: 26th June 2006
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
We drove down the M6 toll the other day and it recognised it as such.
dskinner is offline  
post #7 of 35 (permalink) Old 2nd September 2006, 13:37 Thread Starter
Super Moderator
** Thread starter **
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dskinner
We drove down the M6 toll the other day and it recognised it as such.
sounds promising, cheers!
TTDegs is offline  
post #8 of 35 (permalink) Old 2nd September 2006, 18:02
 
Join Date: 3rd June 2006
Posts: 430
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by karlak
Will it also warn if your journey takes you through the London Congestion Zone. TOMTOM does so and is very useful.
Can someone plane a route from where they are into Central London - Say St. Pauls Cathedral - to see if it warns of the London Congestion Charging.
karlak is offline  
post #9 of 35 (permalink) Old 2nd September 2006, 20:54
 
Join Date: 27th July 2006
Posts: 277
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
karlak - I would if I had my car !!
Newboy is offline  
post #10 of 35 (permalink) Old 2nd September 2006, 22:21
12th June 2006 1.8EX
 
WoolyCiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th May 2006
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1,119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by karlak
Quote:
Originally Posted by karlak
Will it also warn if your journey takes you through the London Congestion Zone. TOMTOM does so and is very useful.
Can someone plane a route from where they are into Central London - Say St. Pauls Cathedral - to see if it warns of the London Congestion Charging.
Yep sure does, posts a warning that the route includes congestion charge zones. As an aside to this I would like an option to 'Include Toll Roads' as I detest driving on the M6 past Birmingham and much prefer the M6 Toll, but trying to get the navi unit to use it is hard work if it takes you slightly out of your way.
WoolyCiv is offline  
post #11 of 35 (permalink) Old 3rd September 2006, 11:45
Supporter
 
Join Date: 6th August 2006
Location: England ENGLAND
Posts: 2,763
Thanks: 44
Thanked 65 Times in 56 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Looking at the five routings you can choose from, one is 'Minimise Toll roads'.

If you selected the 'Short Route' option I noticed this took you through the central London toll area, so I guess it automatically selects at least one of the routings via a toll road unless you specifically select the 'Minimise Toll Roads' option.
allan40alt is offline  
post #12 of 35 (permalink) Old 4th September 2006, 11:34
 
Ancient Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th May 2006
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 347
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by WoolyCivYep
sure does, posts a warning that the route includes congestion charge zones. As an aside to this I would like an option to 'Include Toll Roads' as I detest driving on the M6 past Birmingham and much prefer the M6 Toll, but trying to get the navi unit to use it is hard work if it takes you slightly out of your way.
Once you've selected the destination, you should be able to put the M6 Toll in as an intermediate location.
Ancient Nerd is offline  
post #13 of 35 (permalink) Old 4th September 2006, 23:00
12th June 2006 1.8EX
 
WoolyCiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th May 2006
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1,119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ancient Nerd
Quote:
Originally Posted by WoolyCivYep
sure does, posts a warning that the route includes congestion charge zones. As an aside to this I would like an option to 'Include Toll Roads' as I detest driving on the M6 past Birmingham and much prefer the M6 Toll, but trying to get the navi unit to use it is hard work if it takes you slightly out of your way.
Once you've selected the destination, you should be able to put the M6 Toll in as an intermediate location.
Thats the way I do it, would just like the option available then it would select it itself. I suppose I am a bit contrary to most drivers
WoolyCiv is offline  
post #14 of 35 (permalink) Old 25th September 2006, 13:02
 
Join Date: 9th September 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I've just got back from visiting in Brum. The Satnav seems to insist on using the M6 toll, even though it is not necessary. I prefer not to use the toll.

When you enter the destination it tells you that it is going to use the toll road, but it does not permit you to reject it, unlike on TomTom.

Can't say I'm that impressed with this satnav software. It's a pity you can't choose what s/w to use.
Skinhead is offline  
post #15 of 35 (permalink) Old 25th September 2006, 13:11
Supporter
 
Join Date: 6th August 2006
Location: England ENGLAND
Posts: 2,763
Thanks: 44
Thanked 65 Times in 56 Posts
iTrader: (0)
You can ask it to calculate 5 routes, one of which is 'Avoiding Toll Roads'.
allan40alt is offline  
post #16 of 35 (permalink) Old 25th September 2006, 13:22
 
Join Date: 9th September 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I'm sure the toll option on the 5 route types is "minimise toll" roads. (See CivPilot's photo in post #2)
Skinhead is offline  
post #17 of 35 (permalink) Old 25th September 2006, 13:32
 
Bungle's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd July 2006
Location: Medway, Kent ENGLAND
Posts: 1,359
Thanks: 3
Thanked 13 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Excuse me for sticking my nose where it doesn't belong, not having the EX model, but from what I am reading, the nav system doesn't seem so great.

Would I be right in thinking that portable (tomtom, garmin, etc) units are actually better and more versatile than the system fitted in the honda?

I know yours is much more practical and tidy being built in and linked to the HFT, but the POI databse and route options are seemingly poor.
Bungle is offline  
post #18 of 35 (permalink) Old 25th September 2006, 13:33
Supporter
 
Join Date: 6th August 2006
Location: England ENGLAND
Posts: 2,763
Thanks: 44
Thanked 65 Times in 56 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Oooh, sorry, I forgot I'd already replied. Silly me .
allan40alt is offline  
post #19 of 35 (permalink) Old 25th September 2006, 13:41
 
Join Date: 9th September 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Replying to Bungle: It's very nice having the satnav built into the car, not having to keep setting up an external system and then removing it from the car as they are very popular to thieves.

In the time I've had my car (two weeks) I'd say the TomTom was better. But I won't be putting it in my Civic as it would look stupid.

With all satnav systems you can't trust them entirely, you have to know about the route you are taking so you can make an informed choice. But it does appear that the Honda variant requires more handling than my TomTom Go 700 ever did.

Last edited by Skinhead; 25th September 2006 at 13:43.
Skinhead is offline  
post #20 of 35 (permalink) Old 25th September 2006, 14:18
 
Join Date: 14th May 2006
Posts: 382
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bungle View Post
Excuse me for sticking my nose where it doesn't belong, not having the EX model, but from what I am reading, the nav system doesn't seem so great.

Would I be right in thinking that portable (tomtom, garmin, etc) units are actually better and more versatile than the system fitted in the honda?

I know yours is much more practical and tidy being built in and linked to the HFT, but the POI databse and route options are seemingly poor.
I have never really had any problems with the route options and POI's that I use most (petrol stations, hotels etc) seem OK; the problems seem to be with fast food, restaurants, pubs etc.
As Skinhead says, the fact that it is built-in and therefore non-nickable is the greatest advantage, along with the other benefits you have from the display such as MP3 song listings.
pjelsworth is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M6 Toll northbound at about 6:00pm today cylon2007 Was it you? 2 19th October 2007 00:02
Re:-Poor Roads v001148 General Discussion (8G) 3 18th August 2007 13:44
Satnav Sat Nav and Minor Roads For Mash Get Smash Electronics (8G) 12 1st August 2007 21:50
Gritting the roads Bassa Any non Civic chat here please! 11 3rd November 2006 10:50

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome