GPS speed - Civinfo
 6Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 14:30 Thread Starter
 
ikbenben's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 1.5T Sport +
Join Date: 11th April 2012
Location: Belgium BE
Posts: 485
Thanks: 19
Thanked 54 Times in 50 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
GPS speed

Does anybody know how you can see the gps speed on the standard Garmin gps? I don't find any way and think it isn't possible.
ikbenben is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 15:10
Supporter
 
eagerv's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 1.5 S-Design GT Blue
Join Date: 18th May 2017
Location: SE Ireland IE
Posts: 234
Thanks: 18
Thanked 32 Times in 29 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikbenben View Post
Does anybody know how you can see the gps speed on the standard Garmin gps? I don't find any way and think it isn't possible.
Can't comment on the new Civic, but would be surprised if it was available. Never seen it on any other manufacturer with installed system in Europe. I suppose they don't want to be held liable for the inaccuracies with GPS. Particularly in bad reception areas which granted are rare now.

Wonder if it's available on Apple Carplay or Android auto? Probably not.

Last edited by eagerv; 30th May 2017 at 15:15. Reason: speling
eagerv is offline  
post #3 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 15:33
 
foddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 31st August 2006
Location: St Albans GB
Posts: 67
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagerv View Post
Can't comment on the new Civic, but would be surprised if it was available. Never seen it on any other manufacturer with installed system in Europe. I suppose they don't want to be held liable for the inaccuracies with GPS. Particularly in bad reception areas which granted are rare now.

Wonder if it's available on Apple Carplay or Android auto? Probably not.
If you use the three-finger combination, there's a GPS information page. I've not looked at it while driving, though, so I don't know if it has the current speed. On the 8G it wasn't on the first GPS page, but you had to go to a second one by holding down the menu key, so it may be similar.
foddy is offline  
 
post #4 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 16:11 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
ikbenben's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 1.5T Sport +
Join Date: 11th April 2012
Location: Belgium BE
Posts: 485
Thanks: 19
Thanked 54 Times in 50 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
You can change the dashboard and add some extra's like direction (N,S,W,E), time to destination, and stuff like that, but I didn't find GPS speed. I realy want to know because I like to see what my real speed is.
It's not available in Google Maps on Android Auto, searched already.

@foddy

what do you mean by three-finger combination?
ikbenben is offline  
post #5 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 16:19
 
foddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 31st August 2006
Location: St Albans GB
Posts: 67
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikbenben View Post
@foddy

what do you mean by three-finger combination?
You hold three buttons down, and it takes you into the diagnostics & configuration menu. I wasn't going to mention which buttons as it's clearly not intended for end-users and I don't want to feel responsible when someone breaks their new car.

That said, the details are in the TSB for correcting phonebook importing errors, which is a Google away, should anyone want details ...
foddy is offline  
post #6 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 16:21
Supporter
 
eagerv's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 1.5 S-Design GT Blue
Join Date: 18th May 2017
Location: SE Ireland IE
Posts: 234
Thanks: 18
Thanked 32 Times in 29 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikbenben View Post
You can change the dashboard and add some extra's like direction (N,S,W,E), time to destination, and stuff like that, but I didn't find GPS speed. I realy want to know because I like to see what my real speed is.
It's not available in Google Maps on Android Auto, searched already.

@foddy

what do you mean by three-finger combination?

Yes they have cleaned up a lot of the connectable car systems. I don't think you can view Google Maps in satellite view? A pity because it would look cool.

Can you get altitude? Find that handy on my present VAG system.
eagerv is offline  
post #7 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 16:33 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
ikbenben's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 1.5T Sport +
Join Date: 11th April 2012
Location: Belgium BE
Posts: 485
Thanks: 19
Thanked 54 Times in 50 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by foddy View Post
You hold three buttons down, and it takes you into the diagnostics & configuration menu. I wasn't going to mention which buttons as it's clearly not intended for end-users and I don't want to feel responsible when someone breaks their new car.

That said, the details are in the TSB for correcting phonebook importing errors, which is a Google away, should anyone want details ...
I don't want to mess things up within the diagnostics menu. If it's easy ok, but otherwise...

Quote:
Originally Posted by eagerv View Post
Can you get altitude? Find that handy on my present VAG system.
Altitude is one of the things you can see (pointless for me, I want to see speed )
eagerv likes this.
ikbenben is offline  
post #8 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 16:37
 
foddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 31st August 2006
Location: St Albans GB
Posts: 67
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
The speedo intentionally reads faster than actual speed do give a margin of error. If you could read the GPS speed at the same time, it would be confusing - particularly as GPS variability would mean that sometimes the speed was showing lower than your actual speed. It's entirely understandable that it's not shown as standard.

My car's speedo reads about 6% faster than my phone's GPS shows me. Apart from learning what this difference is, I don't think there's much need for the GPS speed to be shown constantly.
foddy is offline  
post #9 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 16:46 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
ikbenben's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 1.5T Sport +
Join Date: 11th April 2012
Location: Belgium BE
Posts: 485
Thanks: 19
Thanked 54 Times in 50 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
I know that the dial speed is lower then the gps speed, but I want to know how much exactly. Sometimes I drive on routes with speed trajectory control (SPECS if I'm right??) and I find it very handy which speed I drive exactly on that moment. It's not that I will drive constantly with the GPS speed dial on.

I think the margin of error is larger on my 10G then it was on my 8G.
ikbenben is offline  
post #10 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 16:48
 
foddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 31st August 2006
Location: St Albans GB
Posts: 67
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikbenben View Post
I know that the dial speed is lower then the gps speed, but I want to know how much exactly. Sometimes I drive on routes with speed trajectory control (SPECS if I'm right??) and I find it very handy which speed I drive exactly on that moment. It's not that I will drive constantly with the GPS speed dial on.

I think the margin of error is larger on my 10G then it was on my 8G.
Definitely worth doing - although I've only checked with a phone app while my wife was driving. For me:

8G: 9%
10G: 5-6%

I'm having to get used to driving a few mph "slower".
foddy is offline  
post #11 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 16:55 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
ikbenben's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 1.5T Sport +
Join Date: 11th April 2012
Location: Belgium BE
Posts: 485
Thanks: 19
Thanked 54 Times in 50 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Well, today I drove at 131km/h on CC and a mate of mine drove behind me with his Skoda Octavia with CC on 130km/h. He had to trun it of because he was constanly getting closer. So I'm pretty sure mine is not that accurate.
ikbenben is offline  
post #12 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 18:32
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Honda, since the 8G at least, have always under read by some margin. My MY09 8G wasn't anywhere near as bad as my MY07, that was almost 10% out.

My 9G is fine, only 1% or 2% at most compared to my Garmin.
Kremmen is offline  
post #13 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 19:52
 
Car: Civic 1.6 i-DTEC 2015
Join Date: 16th September 2016
Location: West Norfolk UK GB
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
Honda, since the 8G at least, have always under read by some margin. My MY09 8G wasn't anywhere near as bad as my MY07, that was almost 10% out.

My 9G is fine, only 1% or 2% at most compared to my Garmin.
FYI, according to my Garmin sat-nav, at 30mph my 9G is nearly 3mph out, at 50 its 4, and at 70 nearly 5mph out.
I guess they may all be slightly different.
Oldandconfused is offline  
post #14 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 20:08
Banned
 
Join Date: 3rd April 2017
Posts: 230
Thanks: 8
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
Honda, since the 8G at least, have always under read by some margin. My MY09 8G wasn't anywhere near as bad as my MY07, that was almost 10% out.

My 9G is fine, only 1% or 2% at most compared to my Garmin.
Over read,not under.

The Civic has got the most inaccurate (fast) speedo ive seen in years.Most manufacturers set at 2-3mph fast,not Honda............
1civic is offline  
post #15 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 20:49
Enjoying life
 
flashy's Avatar
 
Car: '06 Cosmic Grey EP3 prem CTR
Join Date: 30th June 2015
Location: Swindon ENGLAND
Posts: 8,420
Thanks: 378
Thanked 659 Times in 622 Posts
iTrader: (13)
My car reads 60mph when it's actually 58mph. It's a Honda.
flashy is offline  
post #16 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 20:54
Banned
 
Join Date: 3rd April 2017
Posts: 230
Thanks: 8
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashy View Post
My car reads 60mph when it's actually 58mph. It's a Honda.

Yes theres always one

Everyone elses however.........
1civic is offline  
post #17 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 20:57
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 850 Times in 675 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Easy way to do see gps speed on the Honda Garmin systems is when on the Home screen (the one with big 'where to' and map icons, press and hold the signal bars on top left of screen...

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
eagerv likes this.
Bog is offline  
Thanks to Bog from:
post #18 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 20:58
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 850 Times in 675 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashy View Post
My car reads 60mph when it's actually 58mph. It's a Honda.
Same on my CRV

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
Bog is offline  
post #19 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 20:59
Banned
 
Join Date: 3rd April 2017
Posts: 230
Thanks: 8
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (0)
1civic is offline  
post #20 of 33 (permalink) Old 30th May 2017, 21:15
Enjoying life
 
flashy's Avatar
 
Car: '06 Cosmic Grey EP3 prem CTR
Join Date: 30th June 2015
Location: Swindon ENGLAND
Posts: 8,420
Thanks: 378
Thanked 659 Times in 622 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1civic View Post
Yes theres always one

Everyone elses however.........
Maybe it's just you? Perhaps you have 14" wheels.
flashy is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 10th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2017 - ) > Electronics and ICE (10G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPS Speed Detectors cavalrystu Any non Civic chat here please! 2 27th January 2014 10:28
[HOW TO] Hidden Inforad GPS Speed Camera Dectector basegreen This is How To ... (Guides Only) (8G) 35 15th January 2014 17:15
Safety Cameras Talex GPS Speed Camera Detector Rich 11 Electronics (8G) 50 22nd October 2008 15:33
Satnav GPS Speed (Helppp) gm1980 Electronics (8G) 10 28th May 2008 14:47

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome