WLAN Passwords - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 20th December 2017, 20:47 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
Arsenal's Avatar
 
Car: 10G SLASH CTR, rallye red
Join Date: 26th October 2013
Location: Wolfach, DE DE
Posts: 315
Thanks: 29
Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Garage
Thumbs down WLAN Passwords

Can obviously not contain spaces.

We are very close to 2018 and manufacturers still place completely irresponsible restrictions on WLAN passwords.

WhattheheckHonda,really?
Arsenal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 21st December 2017, 09:10
250bhp.... finally :)
 
musegroove's Avatar
 
Car: 08 CTR, Milano Red
Join Date: 2nd September 2014
Location: manchester GB
Posts: 4,270
Thanks: 136
Thanked 430 Times in 410 Posts
iTrader: (8)
It's more for ease of use, yes it's oldhat now but policies or coding habits tend to stick around for a long time.

Main reason for no spaces that I can think of:
- Leading or trailing spaces tend to get trimmed, bad programming if it's done on a password field but happens
- Spaces can be parsed differently by different prgramming languages, some convert them to a set of characters like " " or ' ' or   or a new line entirely etc meaning the hash will be completely wrong on different platforms, again mainly down to bad programmers
- Customer support would be a nightmare, I used to have my customers write their passwords when repairing their machine and if spaces were a factor I can imagine it being a pain
- I was also taught that the spacebar key is a different sound to the rest of the keys which "helps" give away portions of your password. Again oldhat however.

TLDR out of date programming practices
musegroove is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 21st December 2017, 12:43 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Arsenal's Avatar
 
Car: 10G SLASH CTR, rallye red
Join Date: 26th October 2013
Location: Wolfach, DE DE
Posts: 315
Thanks: 29
Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Garage
The sound of a spacebar on a touchscreen is certainly a factor .

And it's also not a limitation of the underlying Android system. I'm writing embedded software (much smaller devices) and I know a lot of the stuff around, but security is a part where almost everyone needs to improve upon (my company as well).

I'm just amazed by the fact that a stock Android would have no trouble doing this correctly, so Honda must have ACTIVELY changed the way passwords are handled to get to the point, that space is not accepted.

Well I can of course change my password, but it was such a nice, grammatically correct sentence that it was easy to remember and hard to hack.
Arsenal is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 10th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2017 - ) > Electronics and ICE (10G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Passwords.......... spanish boy Any non Civic chat here please! 1 27th April 2012 13:43

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome