Sat nav traffic always green - Civinfo
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Kremmen
  • 1 Post By wildbill
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 11th January 2018, 08:00 Thread Starter
 
Car: Honda Civic Gen10 1.5 Sport
Join Date: 20th December 2013
Location: Rushden, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Sat nav traffic always green

Does anyone have the traffic status on the sat nav go red. I had an older 9gen which worked correctly. But my 10gen is always green and I can be in very very slow traffic. But the status never changes from green. Traffic is set to trafficmaster and is saying itís got a signal. Am I missing something.
cra2y80y is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 11th January 2018, 08:12
Ex-Pat Geordie!
 
nturnb's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic S Navi I-dtec
Join Date: 17th November 2013
Location: Irvine, Ayrshire GB
Posts: 2,188
Thanks: 119
Thanked 223 Times in 204 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by cra2y80y View Post
Does anyone have the traffic status on the sat nav go red. I had an older 9gen which worked correctly. But my 10gen is always green and I can be in very very slow traffic. But the status never changes from green. Traffic is set to trafficmaster and is saying itís got a signal. Am I missing something.
Mine can go from Green to Amber and then Red. Depends on how current and accurate the Traffic Master data is. Sometimes it can be Green and the traffic is horrendous.. Sometime Amber and the road is quite clear. I just take it with a pinch of salt and use the good old MKI Eyeball.
nturnb is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 11th January 2018, 09:36
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Trafficmaster data can be 15 to 30 mins old.

It goes from their beacons to TMC HQ, then sent to the participating radio stations, then transmitted out.

I used to travel the M25 western section daily. The TMC system used to tell me that the tail of the traffic was at junction 15, clockwise, in the evening peak. My Garmin with digital traffic, updated every minute via Inrix, told me that the tail of the traffic was actually junction 12 or 13, some 5 to10 miles nearer.
Garmin digital was always correct and TMC was completely wrong.

This wasn't just a few days but almost daily.
Kremmen is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 11th January 2018, 11:49
Supporter
 
CivicCliff's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 EX 1.0 Manual
Join Date: 15th April 2013
Location: Herts GB
Posts: 499
Thanks: 93
Thanked 59 Times in 52 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
I've noticed other traffic data providers listed in one of the Garmin navigation settings menus. I think they are listed under 'subscriptions' or similar. Does anyone know what these are?

Can the unit get better traffic data than Trafficmaster if it's connected to the internet via wifi/mobile hotspot?

I've recently been using Apple Maps navigation via CarPlay and it was actually very good, and the traffic data was very accurate - the only issue is that you don't get the navigation prompts on the instrument cluster screen, it did however have lane assistance on the main screen. It's nice to have two integrated navigation options.
CivicCliff is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 11th January 2018, 12:56
 
peniole's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26th September 2011
Location: Bonn DE
Posts: 359
Thanks: 15
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Dealer told me during a test drive that the new 10th gen unit can receive digital traffic if your phone is sharing it's data connection with the car on wifi. I haven't seen any documentation of that though. Would be nice if someone could confirm this.
peniole is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 11th January 2018, 15:12
 
Steve_m's Avatar
 
Car: 2019 Civic 5D 1.5 Sport+
Join Date: 9th September 2007
Posts: 850
Thanks: 1
Thanked 264 Times in 219 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CivicCliff View Post
I've noticed other traffic data providers listed in one of the Garmin navigation settings menus. I think they are listed under 'subscriptions' or similar. Does anyone know what these are?

They are the other European countries that Honda pay the TMC subscription for, they are not applicable to UK.


Trafficmaster TMC is the only traffic the Garmin Navi uses in the UK, it cant connect via a supplied internet connection to any digital traffic.
Steve_m is offline  
Thanks to Steve_m from:
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 11th January 2018, 15:53
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
I wonder why only TMC?

My Garmin 2699 for example receives Inrix digital traffic via the unit itself (with compatible TA cable, the aerial), or, it can receive viaMichelin traffic data via my phone when connected to Garmin Smartlink.

viaMichelin isn't as good as Inrix, I've tried both extensively.
Kremmen is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 11th January 2018, 16:05
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 2,926
Thanks: 87
Thanked 222 Times in 214 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Even with a DAB radio fitted, they can't get their act into gear and provide sensible traffic from Inrix.
M8TJT is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 11th January 2018, 17:49
 
Steve_m's Avatar
 
Car: 2019 Civic 5D 1.5 Sport+
Join Date: 9th September 2007
Posts: 850
Thanks: 1
Thanked 264 Times in 219 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
I wonder why only TMC?
.

Best coverage across all of Europe and also cost, TMC is free in many countries (Honda pays the fees per car for UK, France and Italy)
Steve_m is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 12th January 2018, 05:25
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Thanks


I guess Garmin must pay Inrix/viaMichelin and that deal doesn't extend to OEM systems.

That's a shame because the 'digital' traffic is vastly superior. Especially as TMC is limited to motorways and main A roads whereas digital seems to be all roads. I've had accurate traffic info on minor B and unclassified roads before now.
Kremmen is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 12th January 2018, 07:34
Ex-Pat Geordie!
 
nturnb's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic S Navi I-dtec
Join Date: 17th November 2013
Location: Irvine, Ayrshire GB
Posts: 2,188
Thanks: 119
Thanked 223 Times in 204 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Coming into work this morning the SatNav told me that there was a 2 minute delay after J29 on the M 8 at the turn off for the Erskine Bridge, it was the most quiet I've seen all week and sailed through, well not literally? On the other hand, there's mornings there is no traffic message and the queue is shocking.
nturnb is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 12th January 2018, 07:35
Ex-Pat Geordie!
 
nturnb's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic S Navi I-dtec
Join Date: 17th November 2013
Location: Irvine, Ayrshire GB
Posts: 2,188
Thanks: 119
Thanked 223 Times in 204 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by nturnb View Post
Coming into work this morning the SatNav told me that there was a 2 minute delay after J29 on the ** at the turn off for the Erskine Bridge, it was the most quiet I've seen all week and sailed through, well not literally? On the other hand, there's mornings there is no traffic message and the queue is shocking.
Mods, why does this edit out M Eight in digits? hardly a swear word and a bit petty...
nturnb is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 12th January 2018, 08:06
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
M 8 gets converted to, or tries to convert it to the image, text speak for 'mate', and fails.

Just remember to put a gap in.

I'll edit it.
nturnb likes this.
Kremmen is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 15th January 2018, 04:07
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Ford, and presumably it's sister brands, are bringing Waze traffic to it's latest head units:

https://techcrunch.com/2018/01/11/fo...-waze-support/

TMC with it's major road limitations really is yesterday. Better than nothing though.
Kremmen is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 15th January 2018, 07:29
Ex-Pat Geordie!
 
nturnb's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic S Navi I-dtec
Join Date: 17th November 2013
Location: Irvine, Ayrshire GB
Posts: 2,188
Thanks: 119
Thanked 223 Times in 204 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
Ford, and presumably it's sister brands, are bringing Waze traffic to it's latest head units:

https://techcrunch.com/2018/01/11/fo...-waze-support/

TMC with it's major road limitations really is yesterday. Better than nothing though.
I've used WAZE and it's not too shabby considering it's free. Plus traffic updates are instant as there is user input if there are hold ups. Not too sure about the safety aspect of people reporting traffic while they are driving though.
nturnb is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 15th January 2018, 20:20
 
Car: 2017 Civic Sport 1.5 Turbo
Join Date: 19th November 2017
Location: Edinburgh, UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
I've been using WAZE via Android Auto since September, and much prefer it over the built in Garmin NAV on the 10G.
You get up to date live traffic, speed camera's, and a more up to date map.
nturnb likes this.

Last edited by wildbill; 15th January 2018 at 20:22.
wildbill is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 18th January 2018, 16:10
Supporter
 
Arsenal's Avatar
 
Car: 10G SLASH CTR, rallye red
Join Date: 26th October 2013
Location: Wolfach, DE DE
Posts: 315
Thanks: 29
Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Garage
I use Google Maps with Android Auto, it navigated me around some largeish traffic jams in the past and I could see it did it better than the other systems around me (they took one ramp earlier and then the people were still stuck).

I've tried WAZE and I don't like it because it makes a game out of it (sort of) and I'm travelling alone most of the time, so no one can add all those things in there.

I'm using an LTE Hotspot in my car (if someone finds a WLAN called Carsenal, you are pretty close to my car) with a data only SIM which comes rather cheap (5 Ä per month or something like that) for all my data need during my journeys. My normal phone has a measly 200 MB traffic limit - which is fine for normal months but not for journeys.
Arsenal is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 10th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2017 - ) > Electronics and ICE (10G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to fit OEM sat nav to non sat nav models Matt416 Type-R 4 5th October 2016 09:33
Add-on nav buy sat nav version or normal and buy double din sat nav marklola Electronics (8G) 6 15th April 2016 11:18
Traffic Updates - 2012 Honda Civic with Sat Nav poor1 General Discussion (8G) 14 25th August 2015 22:35
HDD Sat Nav - Traffic Event detour TheCorm Electronics and ICE (9G) 4 14th July 2013 16:13

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome