Traffic Sign Recognition - Civinfo
 8Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 68 (permalink) Old 27th January 2018, 06:20 Thread Starter
 
TomPoyntz's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 Civic Sport Plus
Join Date: 10th October 2011
Location: Stroud, Uk GB
Posts: 205
Thanks: 56
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Traffic Sign Recognition

Sometimes when my car shows the speed limit based on the last speed limit sign it detected, there is a white horizontal line on the bottom of the speed limit sign picture.

Does anyone know what that horizontal line represents? I couldn't see an explanation in the manual.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
TomPoyntz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 68 (permalink) Old 27th January 2018, 08:18
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 2,926
Thanks: 87
Thanked 222 Times in 214 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Do you mean the double line when it hasn't had an update for a while? I guess not and I haven't seen what you describe. but keep an eye out for it.
M8TJT is offline  
post #3 of 68 (permalink) Old 27th January 2018, 08:36 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
TomPoyntz's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 Civic Sport Plus
Join Date: 10th October 2011
Location: Stroud, Uk GB
Posts: 205
Thanks: 56
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by M8TJT View Post
Do you mean the double line when it hasn't had an update for a while? I guess not and I haven't seen what you describe. but keep an eye out for it.
No. Not that one.

It's a thinker white line just underneath the speed limit icon.

The speed limit icon will be correct, and will match the last detected speed limit sign, but there will be a thick horizontal white line beneath it.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
TomPoyntz is offline  
 
post #4 of 68 (permalink) Old 27th January 2018, 10:53
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 2,926
Thanks: 87
Thanked 222 Times in 214 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomPoyntz View Post
It's a thinker white line just underneath the speed limit icon.
Is this the one you mean

the thinker.jpg

No, I haven't seen it, but I'll keep my eye out.
Trouble is, even if I see it, I won't know what it's for. Have you tried asking Honda?
Ron240 likes this.

Last edited by M8TJT; 27th January 2018 at 10:55.
M8TJT is offline  
post #5 of 68 (permalink) Old 27th January 2018, 10:53 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
TomPoyntz's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 Civic Sport Plus
Join Date: 10th October 2011
Location: Stroud, Uk GB
Posts: 205
Thanks: 56
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Lol

Oops

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
TomPoyntz is offline  
post #6 of 68 (permalink) Old 27th January 2018, 11:05
Supporter
 
atom3624's Avatar
 
Car: 10G Civic Prestige
Join Date: 18th December 2014
Location: Back to Cold, Wet and Windy Blighty!! GB
Posts: 1,845
Thanks: 320
Thanked 288 Times in 247 Posts
iTrader: (1)
I can enter Liverpool and travel along Edge Lane, after the M62 finishes, which is a 30mph limit (even if the default for everyone is 40!!), and it sometimes indicates national speed limit
- don't think Plod would accept an argument for that one, even if I was in a hurry!!

Some of the electronics - discussed in other posts - just don't seem to integrate all of the time.

Al.
atom3624 is offline  
post #7 of 68 (permalink) Old 27th January 2018, 12:00
Supporter
 
Arsenal's Avatar
 
Car: 10G SLASH CTR, rallye red
Join Date: 26th October 2013
Location: Wolfach, DE DE
Posts: 315
Thanks: 29
Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Garage
The white line indicates (at least over here) that there was a condition sign (white one) below the speed limit. So for example you have a speed limit that only applies when it is wet. In Germany you have the speed limit sign an below a white sign which says "Bei Nässe". Then the car will show the speed limit with a white line below it appears on the screen.

Last edited by Arsenal; 27th January 2018 at 14:05. Reason: here not hear
Arsenal is offline  
Thanks to Arsenal from:
post #8 of 68 (permalink) Old 27th January 2018, 13:28
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 2,926
Thanks: 87
Thanked 222 Times in 214 Posts
iTrader: (1)
But OP lives in UK and I have never seen a 'conditional' speed limit in UK. That's not saying 100% that we don't have them.
I'm sure that someone will be along shortly to prove me wrong though.


Update: Next post by OP seems to prove me wrong as suspected. Hadn't thought of that one.

Last edited by M8TJT; 27th January 2018 at 13:53. Reason: Update
M8TJT is offline  
post #9 of 68 (permalink) Old 27th January 2018, 13:45 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
TomPoyntz's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 Civic Sport Plus
Join Date: 10th October 2011
Location: Stroud, Uk GB
Posts: 205
Thanks: 56
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
It could be 20mph when the orange lights flash. That would certainly apply to the place where I see this. It's on a stretch of road by a school.

Sounds like the line does denote a conditional speed limit then. Thanks Arsenal.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Arsenal likes this.
TomPoyntz is offline  
post #10 of 68 (permalink) Old 27th January 2018, 14:09
 
Steve_m's Avatar
 
Car: 2019 Civic 5D 1.5 Sport+
Join Date: 9th September 2007
Posts: 850
Thanks: 1
Thanked 264 Times in 219 Posts
iTrader: (0)
The condition is only shown as a white line on the small icon signs, if you change the main drivers information display to the TSR screen it will show you what the condition is e.g. Rain or time, unfortunately there are a lot of UK sign arrangements that the camera can be misinterpreted as the layout is similar to European sign layout and because of dirty signs or other obstructions it misdetects.
An example of this is a speed limit sign with a white speed camera sqare sign under it
Unfortunately TSR is not fool proof and is only from the image that the camera can see.
Arsenal likes this.
Steve_m is offline  
post #11 of 68 (permalink) Old 27th January 2018, 14:42
Supporter
 
Arsenal's Avatar
 
Car: 10G SLASH CTR, rallye red
Join Date: 26th October 2013
Location: Wolfach, DE DE
Posts: 315
Thanks: 29
Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Garage
I noticed it shows a lot of signs which don't belong to my road.

Driving in cities I often get the 30 signs from roads going away from mine - on Autobahn you get the speed limits which are for the braking lane.
You can't trust it - there is a lot of work to be done in that area for autonomous vehicles...
Arsenal is offline  
post #12 of 68 (permalink) Old 27th January 2018, 15:17
 
Steve_m's Avatar
 
Car: 2019 Civic 5D 1.5 Sport+
Join Date: 9th September 2007
Posts: 850
Thanks: 1
Thanked 264 Times in 219 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arsenal View Post
there is a lot of work to be done in that area for autonomous vehicles...

I'm certain autonomous car wont rely on just using cameras to read road signs, they will actively talk to the road infrastructure and communicate with other vehicle to be able to make safe operation and also create close vehicle travelling.
Steve_m is offline  
post #13 of 68 (permalink) Old 27th January 2018, 17:42 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
TomPoyntz's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 Civic Sport Plus
Join Date: 10th October 2011
Location: Stroud, Uk GB
Posts: 205
Thanks: 56
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Once, mine picked up a train speed limit sign as we passed close to a railway track. It then indicated to me a speed limit of 120mph!
TomPoyntz is offline  
post #14 of 68 (permalink) Old 27th January 2018, 17:43
Supporter
 
atom3624's Avatar
 
Car: 10G Civic Prestige
Join Date: 18th December 2014
Location: Back to Cold, Wet and Windy Blighty!! GB
Posts: 1,845
Thanks: 320
Thanked 288 Times in 247 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Nice!!

Need to tell Clarkson about that one!!

Al.
TomPoyntz likes this.
atom3624 is offline  
post #15 of 68 (permalink) Old 28th January 2018, 05:29
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Sounds like a right to me.

Just use your eyes and highway code.

Does it really display the last read sign till it sees another? If so, what happens in towns where there are no 30 signs because the old lamp post rule applies ?
Kremmen is offline  
post #16 of 68 (permalink) Old 28th January 2018, 06:54
 
civicbuff's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 1.0 CVT Polished Metal
Join Date: 19th December 2012
Location: Trowbridge, UK GB
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
It should hold on to the 30 sign as you enter the built up area even though there are no repeaters.

I certainly wouldn't rely on the system and would never use it with the "Intelligent (?) Speed Limiter" as per page 500 of the manual. In one village I went through it read the 30 sign as 80!
civicbuff is offline  
post #17 of 68 (permalink) Old 28th January 2018, 07:49
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
I was taking the above post that said it shows the last read sign. I was thinking about a 40 sign say being the last sign before entering a 30 zone with no 30 signs, quite common.

Especially when turning off into a side street.

I reckon I'm getting this wrong or there would be loads of reported errors.
Kremmen is offline  
post #18 of 68 (permalink) Old 28th January 2018, 08:56
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 2,926
Thanks: 87
Thanked 222 Times in 214 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by civicbuff View Post
It should hold on to the 30 sign as you enter the built up area even though there are no repeaters.
But it doesn't

Quote:
Originally Posted by civicbuff View Post
In one village I went through it read the 30 sign as 80!
I have had that too.

No K. After a while, if it hasn't seen any repeaters as in a 30 or NSL zone, the display goes to a double dash but it seems to read 40/50 etc repeaters no trouble, so hangs on to the speed display until a limit change. Can't say how long it hangs on if it hasn't seen a repeater or how long it hangs on to NSL sign after exiting a limit. as I haven't noticed.
I'll pay more attention next time I go out and report back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
I was thinking about a 40 sign say being the last sign before entering a 30 zone with no 30 signs, quite common.
Then how does the driver know he's in a 30 zone using his eyeballs?

Last edited by M8TJT; 28th January 2018 at 08:59.
M8TJT is offline  
post #19 of 68 (permalink) Old 28th January 2018, 09:39
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Round my way the main urban A4020 for example is 40 mph for quite a few miles where it's dual carriageway. But as soon as you turn off into side streets it's 30 but they are not signposted as such.
Kremmen is offline  
post #20 of 68 (permalink) Old 28th January 2018, 09:50
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 2,926
Thanks: 87
Thanked 222 Times in 214 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Presumably you are sure about that? How can the 'do' you for speeding if they haven't posted the limit?
M8TJT is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 10th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2017 - ) > Electronics and ICE (10G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voice Recognition Anbrian General Discussion (9G) 7 24th June 2015 21:14
voice recognition eils82 Previous Civics 1 28th January 2015 13:20
Electrics Voice Recognition Wattsy08 Electronics (8G) 1 25th October 2013 21:13
Voice recog Voice recognition macca_g Electronics (8G) 20 10th December 2009 00:25
Voice recog Really Slow Voice Recognition twojoes Electronics (8G) 11 26th July 2007 20:35

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome