Show us your dashcam set up - Civinfo
 69Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 80 (permalink) Old 31st January 2019, 17:21 Thread Starter
 
Riko's Avatar
 
Car: 2018 Civic hatch 1.0L CVT
Join Date: 25th January 2019
Location: Gent, Belgium BE
Posts: 135
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Show us your dashcam set up

Dashcam installation.

BlackVue DR900S-2CH (4K at front) yeah yeah, 4K is not necessary pehaps, but its my money

Only did the front, because didnt wanna bother with removing trim the same way I did for the front to get that long cable from front to rear.
If I am in the mood I might visit the dealer or a 'specialst' to install that cable for the rear camera.
Also a possible future option is an optional external LiFePO4 battery for the parking mode.















FergyCiv likes this.
Riko is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 80 (permalink) Old 31st January 2019, 17:34
Das
i-Vtec
 
Das's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 1.8 ES
Join Date: 3rd March 2018
Location: West Lothian SCOTLAND
Posts: 1,395
Thanks: 81
Thanked 166 Times in 163 Posts
iTrader: (7)
Garage
I hope they have made some good improvements on the Firmware and usability of this series. I have the 2 ch 650s and its a piece of *****. I would never ever ever recommend Blackvue to anyone.
Riko likes this.
Das is offline  
post #3 of 80 (permalink) Old 31st January 2019, 18:24 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Riko's Avatar
 
Car: 2018 Civic hatch 1.0L CVT
Join Date: 25th January 2019
Location: Gent, Belgium BE
Posts: 135
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Wow, didnt know it was that bad.

Its a brand that came up automatically when doing general research for (high end) dash cams....

Anyhow, just tested it out the box (literally plug and play) and it simply worked...
Didnt even install the app yet.

Now I did and it already downloaded a new firmware update, so I still have to connect it to the cam, but all seems good so far
Riko is offline  
 
post #4 of 80 (permalink) Old 31st January 2019, 18:49
1.5 VTEC TURBO
 
xenon04's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 Civic Sedan
Join Date: 22nd September 2008
Location: Teplice CZ
Posts: 129
Thanks: 17
Thanked 43 Times in 38 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Garage
cable same as Riko
camera Viofo A119S
Attached Images
File Type: jpg viofo.jpg (80.0 KB, 67 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0647.jpg (42.3 KB, 44 views)
Riko likes this.
xenon04 is online now  
post #5 of 80 (permalink) Old 31st January 2019, 19:47
Das
i-Vtec
 
Das's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 1.8 ES
Join Date: 3rd March 2018
Location: West Lothian SCOTLAND
Posts: 1,395
Thanks: 81
Thanked 166 Times in 163 Posts
iTrader: (7)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riko View Post
Wow, didnt know it was that bad.

Its a brand that came up automatically when doing general research for (high end) dash cams....
Yea I thought I was buying a high end one as well.

Heres my review I left on ebay with regards to it.

Quote:
I bought this DVR thinking I was buying a quality product.
The first mistake I made was buying the 16gb version. I already had two good quality class 10 Micro SD Cards so didn't think I needed any bigger a version. Hmmm.
First Issue was I was unable to download files from the DVR to my phone via the inbuilt Wifi. Contacted Blackvue to be told that this was more than likely due to me not using their Micro SD card. So put the Blackvue SD card in and I was able to download via Wifi. No issue ill just remove the card and use it in an adaptor in my laptop.
Second issue. The DVR started constantly started Restarting itself. I wonder....... A quick google and yup its because i'm not using the Blackvue SD card.....
Third issue. I have wound back the sensitivity settings to 15/15/15(out of 100/100/100) and still I get an "Event" going over the slightest of crack in the road. I dont own a Supercar, a Sports Car or even a Hot Hatchback, just a normal everyday run off the mill Honda Civic. You think its the SD Cards im using?
Issue 4. Even using the Blackvue MSD card if you want to view a file over the Wifi direct from the DVR the buffering is absolutely atrocious!!!! For those of us old enough to remember 56k internet, if you remember trying to watch a video using 56k its pretty similar, in fact no, its exactly the same as that.
Have Blackvue built some kind of Apple style Redundancy into this product, im not really sure. I really can not recommend this product. In fact I now wish I had bought a Viofo A119s instead, I really do.

Update: After driving away from my work I received a "Parking Impact Detected" but as I had already started driving I waited until I got home, only to find that the Event File had been overwritten as I use a Power Magic Pro and as the event was 4 hours previous it was automatically over written.
Because of this I have now revised my original 2 Stars to just One. Best avoided.
Das is offline  
post #6 of 80 (permalink) Old 31st January 2019, 19:50
Das
i-Vtec
 
Das's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 1.8 ES
Join Date: 3rd March 2018
Location: West Lothian SCOTLAND
Posts: 1,395
Thanks: 81
Thanked 166 Times in 163 Posts
iTrader: (7)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by xenon04 View Post
cable same as Riko
camera Viofo A119S
Which is which I wish I had bought and saved myself about £130.
Riko likes this.
Das is offline  
post #7 of 80 (permalink) Old 1st February 2019, 00:22
Sab
 
Sab's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Civic Si 1.8, Silver
Join Date: 1st August 2018
Location: London, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 52
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
I got the "TOGUARD Mirror Dash Cam 1080P Dual Lens 7 Inch IPS Touch Screen, Dash Cam Front and Rear View Waterproof Backup Camera 170°Wide Angle with G-sensor Parking Monitor Motion Detection" off Amazon for £45. Hardwired everything within the trims and connected the rearcam to a reverse light wire (so it automatically turns on when I shift to reverse). It's really helpful for me... I find it difficult to judge rear distances in this car.

Wasn't sure how to install the rearcam next to the numberplate though so I just screwed it into a trim inside at the back of the car. I'll put up some pictures tomorrow.
Steve Roberts likes this.
Sab is offline  
post #8 of 80 (permalink) Old 1st February 2019, 05:05
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Dashcams can be hit and miss. One of the best places for research is DashCamTalk.

The general consensus seems to be if you get a good Viofo then they provide a good crisp image but they have no real support if it breaks. If it does then they want you to post it back to China with the problems and delays that produces.

The Blackvue 900 has a 4k sensor and they are dreadful in low light conditions due to the smaller size of the sensor.
The other issue with 4k is the compression required to reduce the 4k massive raw filesize down to the expected circa 300 to 500Mb size of each 3 minute clip. Some manufacturers use H264 which just can't compress 4k satisfactorily whilst some use H265 that older PC's can't decode.

I'm currently running a Nextbase 380 which is a solid mount unit, unlike the current range that hang off a pendulum and cause vibration that produces blurry footage over less than perfect roads.

However, Nextbase are currently testing a new range, due out in a few months, hopefully, that all have a more solid mount and I'm looking to get their new 422 which I'm guessing will be a solid mounted quadHD sensor that compresses nicely.
Kremmen is offline  
post #9 of 80 (permalink) Old 1st February 2019, 08:18
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 2,926
Thanks: 87
Thanked 222 Times in 214 Posts
iTrader: (1)
The 900 is not generally dreadful in poor light K, but it is poor when compared with the BV 750. There are two reasons for this. The 750 uses a Sony sensor optimised for low light. Although the sensors are actual the same size in both cams, the 4k one has a much higher pixel density, so less light falls on each pixel.
Kremmen's comment on the compression used is correct.
M8TJT is offline  
post #10 of 80 (permalink) Old 1st February 2019, 08:50
Supporter
 
Steve Roberts's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 1.8 Si
Join Date: 29th January 2019
Location: Weston super Mare, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 62
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Roberts View Post
Look forward to seeing pics 👍
Sab I got the "TOGUARD Mirror Dash Cam 1080P Dual Lens 7 Inch IPS Touch Screen, Dash Cam Front and Rear View Waterproof Backup Camera 170°Wide Angle with G-sensor Parking Monitor Motion Detection" off Amazon for £45. Hardwired everything within the trims and connected the rearcam to a reverse light wire (so it automatically turns on when I shift to reverse). It's really helpful for me... I find it difficult to judge rear distances in this car.

Wasn't sure how to install the rearcam next to the numberplate though so I just screwed it into a trim inside at the back of the car. I'll put up some pictures tomorrow.
Steve Roberts is offline  
post #11 of 80 (permalink) Old 1st February 2019, 15:20
1.5 VTEC TURBO
 
xenon04's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 Civic Sedan
Join Date: 22nd September 2008
Location: Teplice CZ
Posts: 129
Thanks: 17
Thanked 43 Times in 38 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Garage
and my cable management detail
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled-1.jpg (145.0 KB, 69 views)
Riko likes this.
xenon04 is online now  
post #12 of 80 (permalink) Old 2nd February 2019, 08:58
Supporter
 
ineedabeer's Avatar
 
Car: 2018 1.5T Sport
Join Date: 21st October 2013
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 332
Thanks: 7
Thanked 37 Times in 35 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Nextbase 312gw here its been fine apart from the sucker on the mount which now refuses to stay stuck to the screen, overcame with some gorilla double sided gel tape.
nturnb likes this.
ineedabeer is offline  
post #13 of 80 (permalink) Old 2nd February 2019, 09:32
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 2,926
Thanks: 87
Thanked 222 Times in 214 Posts
iTrader: (1)
If you speak nicely to Nextbase over on DashcamTalk, or contact them directly with your tale of woe, they will send you their far superior adhesive mount. Possibly free.
Kremmen and nturnb like this.
M8TJT is offline  
post #14 of 80 (permalink) Old 2nd February 2019, 09:43
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Yep, the 3M based smaller mount is far better.

https://tvanddvdsurplus.co.uk/collec...12gw-and-512gw
Kremmen is offline  
post #15 of 80 (permalink) Old 2nd February 2019, 10:47
Supporter
 
ineedabeer's Avatar
 
Car: 2018 1.5T Sport
Join Date: 21st October 2013
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 332
Thanks: 7
Thanked 37 Times in 35 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks for the tip guys I will give nextbase a call
ineedabeer is offline  
post #16 of 80 (permalink) Old 2nd February 2019, 11:29
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 2,926
Thanks: 87
Thanked 222 Times in 214 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Let us know how you get on please. I got one gratis when mine kept falling off the window.
M8TJT is offline  
post #17 of 80 (permalink) Old 2nd February 2019, 13:56 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Riko's Avatar
 
Car: 2018 Civic hatch 1.0L CVT
Join Date: 25th January 2019
Location: Gent, Belgium BE
Posts: 135
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Cool

Next up, the notorious rear camera installation

At first when looking at tackeling the black rubber tube, I thought, this is going to either take a lot of time and frustration or some genuine Macgyver insights.

But to be honest, I managed to feed the cable through the black tube in about 5 minutes or so, no guiding cable, no lube, no nothing.
I think I was lucky that the connection point of the cable was rather thick, because that allowed me to push the cable bit by bit from the outside, and thus I worked my way slowely towards the other side




This method looked already like a bad idea with the pointy steel tip, to be pushed blindly into a tight rubber tube full of electrical cables, so we left that path









I did broke a green clip...




I contacted 5 differend Honda dealers around my neighborhood, but so far only one replied (its Saterday afternoon now here) stating they dont have such clips in stock
But they could be ordered...I would think a dealer has such clips in abundance....

I told him not to bother (I'll await reply of my own dealer and the 3 others, with any luck I can finish the job today)
Farqui and Das like this.

Last edited by Riko; 3rd February 2019 at 11:03.
Riko is offline  
post #18 of 80 (permalink) Old 2nd February 2019, 14:39
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 2,926
Thanks: 87
Thanked 222 Times in 214 Posts
iTrader: (1)
eBay. I think I bought 25 for peanuts. (broke a couple of mine too).
You will be shocked at the price Honda want for a iddy biddy bit of plastic.
M8TJT is offline  
post #19 of 80 (permalink) Old 2nd February 2019, 15:28 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Riko's Avatar
 
Car: 2018 Civic hatch 1.0L CVT
Join Date: 25th January 2019
Location: Gent, Belgium BE
Posts: 135
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
curious to find out...turns out 1 of the dealers I mailed has em....shops are closed now, so monday it is

edit: Sunday it is

Last edited by Riko; 2nd February 2019 at 15:52.
Riko is offline  
post #20 of 80 (permalink) Old 2nd February 2019, 20:29
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,801
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,146 Times in 3,842 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Well done routing the rear cable
Farqui is online now  
Reply

  Civinfo > 10th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2017 - ) > Electronics and ICE (10G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome