Now with Pioneer AVIC satnav ! - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 43 (permalink) Old 11th July 2013, 00:41 Thread Starter
bjn
 
bjn's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 Civic Sport auto, red
Join Date: 15th May 2008
Location: Copenhagen, DK DK
Posts: 145
Thanks: 13
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Now with Pioneer AVIC satnav !

At last I installed my new Pioneer SatNav system in our car.
It sounds good and works great with both Bluetooth phone and audio streaming. The microphone was installed hidden in the light box in the ceiling where the original microphone should have been. The Sat antenna was placed under the dashboard "on top of the heat ducts" on a small metal plate.
All work fine with control from the steering wheel, dimmer, etc. the only thing missing is the normal radio information in the iMide display. The Pioneer unit has CAN-Bus connection, so we just need a company to made the right interface for it
Piece of cake!
The installation took a few hours thanks to Vti07's fine explanation of how the dashboard had to be separated
http://www.civinfo.com/forum/how-9g/...ove-radio.html

And by the way! navigation is also ok
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_3959.jpg (238.4 KB, 903 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3962.jpg (241.6 KB, 522 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3960.jpg (159.1 KB, 458 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3956.JPG (162.4 KB, 454 views)
File Type: jpg rød civic.jpg (228.1 KB, 433 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3967.jpg (123.6 KB, 396 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3966.JPG (134.0 KB, 368 views)
bjn is offline  
Thank You to bjn from 2 Users:
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 43 (permalink) Old 11th July 2013, 05:23
 
Join Date: 13th July 2012
Location: Napier, New Zealand NZ
Posts: 51
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Congratulations! It looks good What model Pioneer is it? Where did you purchase the facia kit?
kendallj is offline  
post #3 of 43 (permalink) Old 11th July 2013, 08:22
 
darkflemish's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 Civic 1.6 Sport, Milano
Join Date: 16th May 2013
Location: Beveren, Belgium BE
Posts: 815
Thanks: 65
Thanked 110 Times in 101 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Nicely done

But 7.8 km/100km is a little bit too high, I think

Greetings,
Dark Flemish
darkflemish is offline  
 
post #4 of 43 (permalink) Old 11th July 2013, 20:00 Thread Starter
bjn
** Thread starter **
 
bjn's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 Civic Sport auto, red
Join Date: 15th May 2008
Location: Copenhagen, DK DK
Posts: 145
Thanks: 13
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkflemish View Post
Nicely done

But 7.8 km/100km is a little bit too high, I think

Greetings,
Dark Flemish
7.8 km / l is fine considering how I drive. I dont have that "economy conscious" in daily life (sorry!)
There are also two other factors more into play, the car runs only in a big city (in spite of the fine "green" environment is photographed in), and then the automatic transmission.
It is precisely because of the great deal of city driving it is selected with automatic.

My previous company car was a manual 110 hp diesel that was specified to 24.7 km / l, it was running under the same conditions less than 10 km / l and it had to be frequently regenerated because it stopped in the exhaust / particle filter due to "life" in the city .

So with all three factors significantly taken into account, it is ok with the Civics "almost" 13 km / l on average.

Last edited by bjn; 11th July 2013 at 20:11.
bjn is offline  
post #5 of 43 (permalink) Old 11th July 2013, 20:09 Thread Starter
bjn
** Thread starter **
 
bjn's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 Civic Sport auto, red
Join Date: 15th May 2008
Location: Copenhagen, DK DK
Posts: 145
Thanks: 13
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kendallj View Post
Congratulations! It looks good What model Pioneer is it? Where did you purchase the facia kit?
The unit itself is called Pioneer AVIC-F40BT (got it a little cheaper because it is or will soon be replaced by a F50BT in a moment I think).

The radio frame / facia I bought original from my Honda dealer for approx. € 45, brackets cost about € 52, it's cheaper than the frame I could buy from Pioneer! The control unit for wheel operation is bought in a shop with the car stereo.

So all in all, the pieces are not so expensive and only took 3 days from ordering
bjn is offline  
post #6 of 43 (permalink) Old 11th July 2013, 23:34
 
gloom's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 Civic 1.8, White Pearl
Join Date: 11th February 2010
Location: Stockholm, SE SE
Posts: 619
Thanks: 11
Thanked 45 Times in 38 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkflemish View Post
Nicely done

But 7.8 km/100km is a little bit too high, I think

Greetings,
Dark Flemish
Mine is currently at 9.1l /100km two days after fill up LOL.
Usually ends up at about 7-7.5 when refuel is due with only city driving and small trips

(But in between the long journeys I tend to rev alot heh)
gloom is offline  
post #7 of 43 (permalink) Old 11th July 2013, 23:38
 
gloom's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 Civic 1.8, White Pearl
Join Date: 11th February 2010
Location: Stockholm, SE SE
Posts: 619
Thanks: 11
Thanked 45 Times in 38 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjn View Post
The unit itself is called Pioneer AVIC-F40BT (got it a little cheaper because it is or will soon be replaced by a F50BT in a moment I think).

The radio frame / facia I bought original from my Honda dealer for approx. € 45, brackets cost about € 52, it's cheaper than the frame I could buy from Pioneer! The control unit for wheel operation is bought in a shop with the car stereo.

So all in all, the pieces are not so expensive and only took 3 days from ordering
I have left sided steering aswell so I'm wondering if you bought the brackets from the Honda dealer aswell or only the Facia?

I'm guessing your stereo cuts out when the start/stop function restarts your engine? Or maybe you don't have that function with Auto box?
gloom is offline  
post #8 of 43 (permalink) Old 12th July 2013, 00:48 Thread Starter
bjn
** Thread starter **
 
bjn's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 Civic Sport auto, red
Join Date: 15th May 2008
Location: Copenhagen, DK DK
Posts: 145
Thanks: 13
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gloom View Post
I have left sided steering aswell so I'm wondering if you bought the brackets from the Honda dealer aswell or only the Facia?

I'm guessing your stereo cuts out when the start/stop function restarts your engine? Or maybe you don't have that function with Auto box?
Brackets and radio facia is original honda equipment and purchased from my Honda dealer, you can get a kit from Pioneer but it is a "Chinese" lok-a-like kit with poor color matching, and surprisingly it is more expensive.

Yes, the radio goes off and on again when you start the engine like the original radio did.
bjn is offline  
post #9 of 43 (permalink) Old 12th July 2013, 01:07
Supporter
 
civicnewbie's Avatar
 
Car: 2014 Aygo
Join Date: 18th December 2011
Location: Glasgow SCOTLAND
Posts: 3,159
Thanks: 332
Thanked 847 Times in 734 Posts
iTrader: (12)
Sorry have i just wandered into the international ICE section?
civicnewbie is offline  
post #10 of 43 (permalink) Old 12th July 2013, 11:08 Thread Starter
bjn
** Thread starter **
 
bjn's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 Civic Sport auto, red
Join Date: 15th May 2008
Location: Copenhagen, DK DK
Posts: 145
Thanks: 13
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by civicnewbie View Post
Sorry have i just wandered into the international ICE section?
Dont be sorry........
bjn is offline  
post #11 of 43 (permalink) Old 12th July 2013, 14:46
 
Join Date: 13th July 2012
Location: Napier, New Zealand NZ
Posts: 51
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjn View Post
...The radio frame / facia I bought original from my Honda dealer..
I wonder if you could help me out - could you measure the outer dimensions (height and width) of the frame please?

KJ
kendallj is offline  
post #12 of 43 (permalink) Old 12th July 2013, 22:41 Thread Starter
bjn
** Thread starter **
 
bjn's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 Civic Sport auto, red
Join Date: 15th May 2008
Location: Copenhagen, DK DK
Posts: 145
Thanks: 13
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kendallj View Post
I wonder if you could help me out - could you measure the outer dimensions (height and width) of the frame please?

KJ
You get metric size .... measured as a "square"
width: 407 millimeters
height: 230 millimeters

However, the size is the same as the original radio facia?

Are you going to build your own car or radio unit

Last edited by bjn; 12th July 2013 at 22:43.
bjn is offline  
post #13 of 43 (permalink) Old 13th July 2013, 05:09
 
Join Date: 13th July 2012
Location: Napier, New Zealand NZ
Posts: 51
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjn View Post
You get metric size .... measured as a "square"
width: 407 millimeters
height: 230 millimeters

However, the size is the same as the original radio facia?

Are you going to build your own car or radio unit
LOL - Sorry I mean't the frame around the Pioneer unit bezel

I'm ordering a 9G next month, and as the New Zealand models don't have a Sat Nav option, I'm planning my upgrade mods now!

Thanking you again for your trouble.

KJ
kendallj is offline  
post #14 of 43 (permalink) Old 13th July 2013, 08:41
 
sakis9282's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 1.4 sport white orchid
Join Date: 26th December 2012
Location: Greece. Drama-Thessaloniki GR
Posts: 457
Thanks: 3
Thanked 66 Times in 40 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Bjn: Does the search button from the steering wheel work now?
sakis9282 is offline  
post #15 of 43 (permalink) Old 13th July 2013, 12:03 Thread Starter
bjn
** Thread starter **
 
bjn's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 Civic Sport auto, red
Join Date: 15th May 2008
Location: Copenhagen, DK DK
Posts: 145
Thanks: 13
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sakis9282 View Post
Bjn: Does the search button from the steering wheel work now?
from the steering wheel You can set the volume, "go to next" or backwards and You can select source (like iPod, FM, AM, Bluetooth audio streaming etc) as before.

The only thing still missing is the radio status on the iMid-display, but it's not necessary because you have all the information on the radio (the original had no display at all).

That said, there are CAN bus out of the Pioneer radio. lacking only an interface between the iMid-display and the Pioneer radio (construct that.... someone please )
Not that it lacks but it is "nice to have"!.

Last edited by bjn; 13th July 2013 at 12:09.
bjn is offline  
post #16 of 43 (permalink) Old 13th July 2013, 12:07 Thread Starter
bjn
** Thread starter **
 
bjn's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 Civic Sport auto, red
Join Date: 15th May 2008
Location: Copenhagen, DK DK
Posts: 145
Thanks: 13
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kendallj View Post
LOL - Sorry I mean't the frame around the Pioneer unit bezel

I'm ordering a 9G next month, and as the New Zealand models don't have a Sat Nav option, I'm planning my upgrade mods now!

Thanking you again for your trouble.

KJ
look at the specifications of the navigation systems you have in mind, then you have the answer
bjn is offline  
post #17 of 43 (permalink) Old 13th July 2013, 12:16 Thread Starter
bjn
** Thread starter **
 
bjn's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 Civic Sport auto, red
Join Date: 15th May 2008
Location: Copenhagen, DK DK
Posts: 145
Thanks: 13
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
iTrader: (0)
My Pioneer AVIC-F40BT and was equipped with a 2012 European map, so yesterday I received from Navteq, a new 2013 card I had ordered.
I took the opportunity when I still had to upgrade, to upgrade the radio firmware and bluetooth firmware part too (can be downloaded at Pioneer Europe and look for support and downloads).
Everything works really well!
bjn is offline  
post #18 of 43 (permalink) Old 13th July 2013, 13:02
 
Join Date: 13th July 2012
Location: Napier, New Zealand NZ
Posts: 51
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjn View Post
look at the specifications of the navigation systems you have in mind, then you have the answer
Have done that already - I'm interested in the 8" unit from Alpine and have the head unit display dimensions. I have access to a milling machine to cut out the opening wider but I was hoping you giving me the dimensions of the pioneer bezel surround frame would indicate how much I'm going to need to trim from the opening in the double-din facia.

KJ
kendallj is offline  
post #19 of 43 (permalink) Old 13th July 2013, 13:51
 
sakis9282's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 1.4 sport white orchid
Join Date: 26th December 2012
Location: Greece. Drama-Thessaloniki GR
Posts: 457
Thanks: 3
Thanked 66 Times in 40 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Do the usb and aux in the rest box work?
sakis9282 is offline  
post #20 of 43 (permalink) Old 13th July 2013, 16:26 Thread Starter
bjn
** Thread starter **
 
bjn's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 Civic Sport auto, red
Join Date: 15th May 2008
Location: Copenhagen, DK DK
Posts: 145
Thanks: 13
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sakis9282 View Post
Do the usb and aux in the rest box work?
No, in my car I've just left the USB/iPod & aux input connection for the radio, in the glove compartment.
I suspect that especially the original USB connector is also used for a possible upgrade of the iMid-display, but I do not know, maybe some other people here can tell?
I can't imagine that it would be done via the OBD connector.
bjn is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head Unit Pioneer AVIC-F930BT / AVIC-F940BT darrellpope Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 70 14th August 2013 09:03
Head Unit Pioneer AVIC-F940BT vs AVIC-F840BT pranay84 Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 40 20th June 2013 13:07
Head Unit Pioneer Avic 950 discus Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 19 27th February 2013 14:37
Head Unit Anyone own a Pioneer AVIC-F10BT? Beatdown Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 2 8th June 2010 15:48

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome