loading music to premium audio - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 28th July 2013, 09:42 Thread Starter
 
Slider2's Avatar
 
Car: Civic 1.6 iDTEC EX
Join Date: 11th May 2013
Location: Scottish Borders, UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 473
Thanks: 54
Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
loading music to premium audio

Hi. I have a 1.6 dtec EX on order, which comes with the HDD audio.

I have a large collection of mp3 and WMA music files that I intend to store on the hard disk.

Question is, can I transfer these via a USB port using a USB stick.
Failing that can I burn to a DVD and transfer that way.
Slider2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 28th July 2013, 09:56
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Now the bad news ...........

The only way to put music on the HDD is to 'play' a standard audio CD. Whilst playing it loads it onto the HDD at about 4x

Save yourself the hassle and just load your music onto a USB stick, works far better IMO
Kremmen is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 28th July 2013, 10:09 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Slider2's Avatar
 
Car: Civic 1.6 iDTEC EX
Join Date: 11th May 2013
Location: Scottish Borders, UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 473
Thanks: 54
Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
very bad news indeed as the vast majority of my music is in digital only format. I had envisage loading all on to the HDD but looks like I am going to have to invest in a high capacity USB stick - questions the point of having the HDD really!
Slider2 is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 28th July 2013, 19:32
 
darkflemish's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 Civic 1.6 Sport, Milano
Join Date: 16th May 2013
Location: Beveren, Belgium BE
Posts: 815
Thanks: 65
Thanked 110 Times in 101 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slider2 View Post
very bad news indeed as the vast majority of my music is in digital only format. I had envisage loading all on to the HDD but looks like I am going to have to invest in a high capacity USB stick - questions the point of having the HDD really!

Not a big investment it is. +- 20Ä here for an USB stick of 32 Gb.

Success

Greetings,
Dark Flemish
darkflemish is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 28th July 2013, 22:51 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Slider2's Avatar
 
Car: Civic 1.6 iDTEC EX
Join Date: 11th May 2013
Location: Scottish Borders, UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 473
Thanks: 54
Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
yes, I know its not a lot of money - just the principle really. USN stick contains data, HDD stores data, surely it can't be so hard to create a system that transfers data from one to the other. Would be so much tidier is I could have stuck every thing on the HDD and played from there.
Slider2 is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 28th July 2013, 23:54
 
Helmigurt's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CTR GT, Polished Metal
Join Date: 20th May 2010
Location: Austria AT
Posts: 469
Thanks: 87
Thanked 88 Times in 73 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
It has more to do with drm concerns of the music industry than the technical capabilities of the system.
Helmigurt is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 29th July 2013, 07:36
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I did load quite a few CD's onto the HDD and it does work OK. If Gracenote has your CD listed you can see the track and album info. If not you can enter it manually (a pain).

what I didn't realise until I started playing via the HDD is that at the end of the album it doesn't progress to the next one but starts playing the same one again.
When I'm driving I don't want the distraction of selecting the next one manually.

The USB option however just plays all the content from start to finish, album after album, which is far better.
Kremmen is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 29th July 2013, 12:51
Supporter
 
Daniel19thfeb's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 2.2 EX GT (WOP)
Join Date: 2nd March 2009
Location: Chessington, UK GB
Posts: 90
Thanks: 10
Thanked 15 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
I did load quite a few CD's onto the HDD and it does work OK. If Gracenote has your CD listed you can see the track and album info. If not you can enter it manually (a pain).

what I didn't realise until I started playing via the HDD is that at the end of the album it doesn't progress to the next one but starts playing the same one again.
When I'm driving I don't want the distraction of selecting the next one manually.

The USB option however just plays all the content from start to finish, album after album, which is far better.
Kremm

On the audio buttons on the steering wheel Hold down the left or right hand button on your steering wheel and it will move to the next music folder which ever directional button your holding.
Daniel19thfeb is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 29th July 2013, 13:09
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks for the info

I've now gone back to USB as it performs exactly as I want it to. I'm not fussed about seeing album/track info as I know what I've recorded and I just want to listen to it.

Like others have mentioned, if I could load my MP3's to the HDD and it just played them one after another I'd use it.
Kremmen is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 29th July 2013, 13:15
Supporter
 
Daniel19thfeb's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 2.2 EX GT (WOP)
Join Date: 2nd March 2009
Location: Chessington, UK GB
Posts: 90
Thanks: 10
Thanked 15 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
Thanks for the info

I've now gone back to USB as it performs exactly as I want it to. I'm not fussed about seeing album/track info as I know what I've recorded and I just want to listen to it.

Like others have mentioned, if I could load my MP3's to the HDD and it just played them one after another I'd use it.
As would I but for some reason when loading from an audio CD onto HDD, it doesn't seem to record them in track order as per whats on the CD... this irritates me when I know in my mind the track order of a CD.
Daniel19thfeb is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 29th July 2013, 13:52
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmigurt View Post
It has more to do with drm concerns of the music industry than the technical capabilities of the system.
+1

As other said. not worth the time and effort. I loaded about 20 CD's (Mainly because I've not got around to getting them in digital format) and gave up.

As per the others, I now have a 32gb USB stick with most of my music/iTunes stuff on... more than enough
Bog is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 7th August 2013, 17:14
Supporter
 
TheCorm's Avatar
 
Car: Mercedes c350e Estate
Join Date: 7th May 2013
Location: West Sussex GB
Posts: 263
Thanks: 14
Thanked 24 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I guess it's not actually a HDD but just 16GB of memory in there with 10GB available for files, but I like others, just moved my 16GB USB drive from my old civic to the new one.

Strangely though, it didn't recognise all of the files like the old Civic, only 255 out of the 1400, turns out it has some kind of limit....so I put them into alphabetical folders.

Puzzles me why my 8th Gen was happy with them all in one folder and the 9th Gen isn't but with the more advanced interface having them in folders has proved useful anyway.
TheCorm is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 8th August 2013, 07:07
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
It's a shame the HDD wasn't implemented better. Whilst the whole unit has some new welcome features it could have been a whole lot better with some thought.

Single button for SatNav voice on/off
HDD plays like USB (album after album)
Switch air vents/SatNav position to raise it
Kremmen is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 10th August 2013, 09:03 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Slider2's Avatar
 
Car: Civic 1.6 iDTEC EX
Join Date: 11th May 2013
Location: Scottish Borders, UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 473
Thanks: 54
Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
DRM issue is a bit of a cop out really. Surely it's no different from loading mp3's directly on to the hard disk on a computer.

Anyone know the make/model of the premium audio unit? Pretty sure somebody somewhere will have discovered a work round or jailbreak
Slider2 is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 12th August 2013, 13:09
Supporter
 
TheCorm's Avatar
 
Car: Mercedes c350e Estate
Join Date: 7th May 2013
Location: West Sussex GB
Posts: 263
Thanks: 14
Thanked 24 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Anyone else like having to press OK to the warning info every time they use it?....I do....not all annoying......!!!!
TheCorm is offline  
post #16 of 16 (permalink) Old 12th August 2013, 13:30
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slider2 View Post
DRM issue is a bit of a cop out really. Surely it's no different from loading mp3's directly on to the hard disk on a computer.

Anyone know the make/model of the premium audio unit? Pretty sure somebody somewhere will have discovered a work round or jailbreak

I agree, but car makers are so scared of litigation.
Bog is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrades Premium Audio Gracenote Update Kremmen Electronics and ICE (9G) 6 7th September 2017 23:24
Does anybody else feel really let down by the 'Premium Audio System'? alidaf Electronics and ICE (9G) 17 6th April 2017 14:39
09 Accord premium audio = Acura TSX ELS ??? bobbybliss Honda Accord 8 12th September 2009 17:20
Technical USB not loading on power up KevT Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 4 28th June 2009 09:55

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome