Concealed USB Power to SatNav - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 12th November 2013, 01:07 Thread Starter
 
nkoulban's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 Civic VTiL
Join Date: 14th July 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia AU
Posts: 51
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Concealed USB Power to SatNav

My 2013 1.8 does not have satnav so I used a Garmin portable unit. My main beef with portable units is the power cable that dangles across the dash... so I decided to do something about it.

I purchased a long USB cable with a female USB B at one end. I routed the cable so it neatly pops up at the base of the A pillar. The rest of the cable went hown the side of the dash, under the dash, along the bottom edge of the console. The cable went through an opening in the base of the lidded console to plug into the power outlet.

When I now use my SatNav, I put it on the windscreen with its Garmin suction cup, and I plug a short USB lead into the female USB power outlet discretely placed at the base of the A pillar. It works welll, looks clean and involves no drilling or removal of panels.

Happy to post pics if there is anyone interested.
nkoulban is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 12th November 2013, 01:21
 
Join Date: 19th September 2013
Location: Germany DE
Posts: 62
Thanks: 3
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkoulban View Post
Happy to post pics if there is anyone interested.
I'm interested since I'm planning to do the same, once I buy my Civic.
mondgesicht is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 12th November 2013, 06:51
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Picture #10

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/gallery...-pictures.html

I've only got a short lead from the unit to the nearest gap. Wire then goes down the gap between body and dash, lovely snug fit, and plugs into the fuseboard via a third party transformer unit.
Kremmen is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 12th November 2013, 12:30 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
nkoulban's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 Civic VTiL
Join Date: 14th July 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia AU
Posts: 51
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Looks good Krem.
nkoulban is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 12th November 2013, 12:31 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
nkoulban's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 Civic VTiL
Join Date: 14th July 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia AU
Posts: 51
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I'll get snapping and post the pics.
nkoulban is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 14th November 2013, 07:37 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
nkoulban's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 Civic VTiL
Join Date: 14th July 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia AU
Posts: 51
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Not Able to Post Pics

Sorry all, i can't work out how to post Pics. Any help or advice welcomed.

UPDATE: Images in post below.

Last edited by nkoulban; 14th November 2013 at 08:55.
nkoulban is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 14th November 2013, 08:53 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
nkoulban's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 Civic VTiL
Join Date: 14th July 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia AU
Posts: 51
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Images of USB Install





nkoulban is offline  
Thanks to nkoulban from:
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 14th November 2013, 17:29
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Nice install
Bog is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 15th November 2013, 07:10
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Kremmen is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 15th November 2013, 10:32 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
nkoulban's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 Civic VTiL
Join Date: 14th July 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia AU
Posts: 51
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
Oh, I see what you've done. Almost teh same as me only you routed a longer lead.

I used one of these to shorten it and just route down to the fusebox:

Hardwire / Barewire Power Cable for TomTom ONE 130 130S ONE XL XL-S 330 330S GO 930 920 730 720 530 520 Navigon 2100 5100 7100 Magellan Maestro 3200 3210 3220 3250 4200 4210 4220 4250 5310 Roadmate 1200 1400 1412 1430 GPS: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics

It does now say Tomtom but it was listed as Garmin when I bought it.
Your install is even cleaner... nice job.
nkoulban is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 15th November 2013, 11:23
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Only snag with mine is that you need a multimeter to find an ignition switched power source.

Since my Garmin photo I've upgraded it to a high spec model with lifetime maps and traffic. The traffic I'm getting via Garmin's SmartLink Android app. Works very well and is far more up to date than the built in RDS TMC.
Kremmen is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 15th November 2013, 15:53
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Option connector in MICU1 has an ignition power source.



Grayfox is offline  
Thank You to Grayfox from 2 Users:
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 15th November 2013, 16:29
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks

I found a suitable donor via the multimeter. The option connector would have been a better bet though. Maybe next Summer when it warms up I'll crawl back under the dash and change it.
Kremmen is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 26th February 2014, 19:43
 
Join Date: 26th February 2014
Location: WOLVERHAMPTON GB
Posts: 95
Thanks: 9
Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Thanks for the guides. I'm looking to do the same with my Civic when I pick it up this weekend.

Do you know the length of USB you used to reach from the A Pillar to the cubby?

Also looking at Kremmens option, where do you put the transformer? Is it just rattling around behind a piece of trim?
Bobbajob is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 27th February 2014, 07:48
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I've used some heavy duty Velcro from B&Q, the stuff that is 2" wide. Otherwise, as you say it will rattle around.
Kremmen is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
from non satnav to satnav conversion madjase Electronics (8G) 4 17th March 2015 00:17
Amplifier rear power outlet ok for amp power? judgey Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 3 1st August 2013 14:51
9G SatNav Kremmen Electronics and ICE (9G) 54 11th October 2012 00:12
Head Unit Power rating of Head Unit (satnav model) FWH Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 12 18th August 2011 19:42
Satnav Satnav no power jen4now Electronics (8G) 8 25th November 2010 07:59

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome