Head Unit video in - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 17th April 2014, 00:53 Thread Starter
Bye Bye Type R
 
phil99's Avatar
 
Car: 2014 1.6 iDtec SR
Join Date: 31st August 2009
Location: Telford WALES
Posts: 1,198
Thanks: 139
Thanked 77 Times in 76 Posts
iTrader: (1)
video in

What is the point of the video in input.
Does it display on nav screen when driving.
phil99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 17th April 2014, 19:11
 
Join Date: 4th January 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia AU
Posts: 493
Thanks: 4
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
iTrader: (0)
You can mirror your phone or something like a DVD player.
Tea-Aholic is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 17th April 2014, 19:40 Thread Starter
Bye Bye Type R
** Thread starter **
 
phil99's Avatar
 
Car: 2014 1.6 iDtec SR
Join Date: 31st August 2009
Location: Telford WALES
Posts: 1,198
Thanks: 139
Thanked 77 Times in 76 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea-Aholic View Post
You can mirror your phone or something like a DVD player.
Cheers bud, will it still work when handbrake is off
phil99 is offline  
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 18th April 2014, 03:35
 
Join Date: 4th January 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia AU
Posts: 493
Thanks: 4
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil99 View Post
Cheers bud, will it still work when handbrake is off
I would say I don't think it will work, but you can ground the wire behind the unit for this to work. I did this with mine and I can watch DVD/use AV video in while driving.
Tea-Aholic is offline  
Thanks to Tea-Aholic from:
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 18th April 2014, 11:25 Thread Starter
Bye Bye Type R
** Thread starter **
 
phil99's Avatar
 
Car: 2014 1.6 iDtec SR
Join Date: 31st August 2009
Location: Telford WALES
Posts: 1,198
Thanks: 139
Thanked 77 Times in 76 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea-Aholic View Post
I would say I don't think it will work, but you can ground the wire behind the unit for this to work. I did this with mine and I can watch DVD/use AV video in while driving.
Might need a how to on this one
phil99 is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 18th April 2014, 12:32
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea-Aholic View Post
I would say I don't think it will work, but you can ground the wire behind the unit for this to work. I did this with mine and I can watch DVD/use AV video in while driving.
You've done this with the honda premium navigation unit...

If you have please tell me how... Which plug and which wire??

I did not think possible because I thought it also sensed movement from the canbus.

OMG you've got me excited now.... lol

Please tell how ������

Last edited by Bog; 18th April 2014 at 12:41. Reason: As
Bog is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 18th April 2014, 15:34
 
Join Date: 4th January 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia AU
Posts: 493
Thanks: 4
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bog View Post
I did not think possible because I thought it also sensed movement from the canbus.

OMG you've got me excited now.... lol
I don't want to disappoint you, but I actually have a Pioneer unit installed to replace the original one.

There is a wire that is labeled handbrake or something, you need to provide power (ground) to this wire so that you can use the AV functions when the handbrake is down. See if anyone on here has tried, I don't have the factory system for me to look at.
Tea-Aholic is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 27th April 2014, 11:32
 
Naitsirk's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 1.6 iDTEC Lifestyle
Join Date: 28th March 2014
Location: Trondheim, NOR NO
Posts: 98
Thanks: 20
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Uhmm... So I have a Galaxy S3 Android phone, would it be possible to mirror the screen to the imid screen ? Was thinking that it would be nice to use the navi on the phone on the imid screen.
Naitsirk is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 27th April 2014, 17:16
 
Join Date: 4th January 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia AU
Posts: 493
Thanks: 4
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naitsirk View Post
Uhmm... So I have a Galaxy S3 Android phone, would it be possible to mirror the screen to the imid screen ? Was thinking that it would be nice to use the navi on the phone on the imid screen.
I don't know where the connector or whether the i-MID supports video in, I think I saw someone on the internet that made it work but it's apparently a hassle. It would be better just to get a double-DIN unit installed with video input.
Tea-Aholic is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 27th April 2014, 17:34
 
Naitsirk's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 1.6 iDTEC Lifestyle
Join Date: 28th March 2014
Location: Trondheim, NOR NO
Posts: 98
Thanks: 20
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)

Sent fra min GT-I9300 via Tapatalk
Naitsirk is offline  
post #11 of 20 (permalink) Old 27th April 2014, 19:16
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
If you have a Sat Nav equipped 9g (or one without the reversing camera being displayed on the iMID), the getting video onto the iMID is relatively easy... Only a couple of panels to remove to gain access to rear of iMID and connect a composite video input.

One of these days I'll get time to do a how to ��



Bog is offline  
post #12 of 20 (permalink) Old 27th April 2014, 19:28
 
sakis9282's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 1.4 sport white orchid
Join Date: 26th December 2012
Location: Greece. Drama-Thessaloniki GR
Posts: 457
Thanks: 3
Thanked 66 Times in 40 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naitsirk View Post
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=dP1pXgukHgI

Sent fra min GT-I9300 via Tapatalk
Can you explain this mirror method connection? How is it possible? My model doesn't have an OEM navi.
sakis9282 is offline  
post #13 of 20 (permalink) Old 28th April 2014, 09:58
 
Join Date: 4th January 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia AU
Posts: 493
Thanks: 4
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bog View Post
If you have a Sat Nav equipped 9g (or one without the reversing camera being displayed on the iMID), the getting video onto the iMID is relatively easy... Only a couple of panels to remove to gain access to rear of iMID and connect a composite video input.
Is the reverse camera just a composite cable? I want to plug this in my Pioneer instead of the i-MID, although having it higher on the i-MID is actually easier to see.
Tea-Aholic is offline  
post #14 of 20 (permalink) Old 28th April 2014, 22:56
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Basic principle is here:

This is for US model, but these 2 pics have the basic info.





BTW, simple putting 12v into #14 does not flip the image automaticaly on our Euro models (I wish it did, then it's a simple case of adding a switched 12v to flip it). Ours requires an input signal 3v on #21 for the iMID to 'See' the camera/video source... I have yet to test this works. For now, I just acess the 'camera/video in' this way...

This should work on all 9th Gen Civics with the i-MID display...

Press the MENU button on the steering wheel to access the vehicle menu:



Then press and hold SELECT and MENU at the same time for approx 20 seconds. You should then get the Service Diag Menu



From here you can select 'Camera'

You will then need to adjust the gridlines out of the way if just using for video...

Last edited by Bog; 28th April 2014 at 23:00.
Bog is offline  
post #15 of 20 (permalink) Old 30th April 2014, 17:52
ο φλού
 
babis's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 1.6 i-Dtec Sport
Join Date: 24th February 2013
Location: Athens,Greece GR
Posts: 184
Thanks: 55
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Eco display
@Bog ,

Have you try to "steal" camera signal,directy from the reverse camera location?
So as to avoid removing the panels?

For mirroring you need to place a miracast, a video converter ,a relay and give them power.
babis is offline  
post #16 of 20 (permalink) Old 30th April 2014, 22:46
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by babis View Post
@Bog ,

Have you try to "steal" camera signal,directy from the reverse camera location?
So as to avoid removing the panels?

For mirroring you need to place a miracast, a video converter ,a relay and give them power.
Not sure what you mean because I have the sat nav version so the reversing camera inputs to the larger sat nav screen... Not the iMID like other models, hence being able to input video to the spare connections on the iMID.
Bog is offline  
post #17 of 20 (permalink) Old 1st May 2014, 02:13
 
Join Date: 4th January 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia AU
Posts: 493
Thanks: 4
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bog View Post
Not sure what you mean because I have the sat nav version so the reversing camera inputs to the larger sat nav screen... Not the iMID like other models, hence being able to input video to the spare connections on the iMID.
I think he's asking if you can intercept the wires from the camera, meaning the camera at the back on the boot lid or something like that so you can input the video through the wiring without pulling the dash apart to access the connectors behind the iMID.

Probably good, but it would mean no camera and maybe splicing some wires?
Tea-Aholic is offline  
post #18 of 20 (permalink) Old 1st May 2014, 07:36
ο φλού
 
babis's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 1.6 i-Dtec Sport
Join Date: 24th February 2013
Location: Athens,Greece GR
Posts: 184
Thanks: 55
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea-Aholic View Post
I think he's asking if you can intercept the wires from the camera, meaning the camera at the back on the boot lid or something like that so you can input the video through the wiring without pulling the dash apart to access the connectors behind the iMID.

Probably good, but it would mean no camera and maybe splicing some wires?
Yes exactly. Since there is already a camera connected to imid, maybe you can avoid the removal of dash and place everything close to camera.
Something like the next diagram but instead of DVD player ,it will be a HDMI to RCA converter and a miracast .
uploadfromtaptalk1398922596094.jpg
babis is offline  
post #19 of 20 (permalink) Old 1st May 2014, 08:43
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
That will work perfectly.... On non sat nav versions, although trust me it's probably easier to tap in behind the iMID because all you have to do to gain access is unclip/pull forward slightly the instrument cowel at the top so that you can then pop off the top dash panel (below iMID and speedo)... You need to pull forward the instrument cowel/surround because the pointy bit at the top overlaps the top panel slightly by about 5mm.

Once top panel is off... You can access the two screws holding in the iMID... Remove these and it simply pulls forward and out ( after disconnecting the 3 wiring plugs)

Btw... One point you've all missed... I could not tap into the camera wire to the iMID at any point because it's not there in EX and EX-GT models, it goes into the rear of the double din Sat nav unit. I'm not sure why Honda did this, as I think I'd prefer the reversing camer image on the iMID even though it's a smaller screen.
Bog is offline  
post #20 of 20 (permalink) Old 1st May 2014, 09:52
 
Join Date: 4th January 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia AU
Posts: 493
Thanks: 4
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bog View Post
Btw... One point you've all missed... I could not tap into the camera wire to the iMID at any point because it's not there in EX and EX-GT models, it goes into the rear of the double din Sat nav unit. I'm not sure why Honda did this, as I think I'd prefer the reversing camer image on the iMID even though it's a smaller screen.
I have mine set up with the i-MID for the reversing camera with my Pioneer head unit doing nothing. It is easier to see with the camera higher up, although it is smaller. Does the Nav unit form the factory have a standard camera input or is it just wires like the i-MID? I think my Pioneer unit has the standard composite connector, not sure how I can plug the wires in if it's not a standard connector.
Tea-Aholic is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Video in? reevzi82 Electronics (8G) 2 3rd May 2012 19:21
Other Spa Video R555 Gallery (8G) 9 12th October 2011 16:25
Other Video iPod or iPod Touch video to satnav screen matg Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 6 4th October 2007 09:17

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome