Satnav NAV Update on 03/2013 Civic EX - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 26th June 2017, 11:18 Thread Starter
 
bondwithme's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th February 2009
Location: London ENGLAND
Posts: 40
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Question NAV Update on 03/2013 Civic EX

Hi,

My 2 local dealers are struggling with this. My nav unit says map updates and shows a usb symbol but 1 dealer states updates are via dvd the other via sd card. However on googling I find that the 2012 -2013 had a usb port in the glove box for the updates from a yellow usb stick? If this is correct where do you get the usb sticks from as my dealer doesn't have a clue.

Unfortunately I don't have the car at present to confirm anything
bondwithme is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 26th June 2017, 14:08
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Your 2 local dealers are ?

They should be fully aware that it is a DVD update and AFAIK there is no socket in the glovebox, never seen one in mine.

Here is the outline process for the 2013 Premium Audio system:

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/4754041-post24.html
Kremmen is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 26th June 2017, 14:12 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
bondwithme's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th February 2009
Location: London ENGLAND
Posts: 40
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
ok thank you but why is there a usb symbol on the map update option under info then?
bondwithme is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 26th June 2017, 15:51
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
No idea.

I've got exactly the same car (year, month, spec) and I've not had any map update nags for years so I can't remember what it showed.

I presume you do have the Premium Audio, like mine ?

First picture under 'In car entertainment'

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/garage....ehicle_id=2922
Kremmen is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 21st April 2018, 22:30
 
Join Date: 21st April 2018
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi, I just registered because I can't find any concrete info on this, so sorry for reviving this post.

I also want to update the satnav on a 13 plate Civic EX with the "Premium Audio" System.
In the System information, it says:

Database EUROPE Version IT202.01.04
Software Version 1.13.0000

Kremmen, the link you have given seems to be broken but I assume it takes you to the sticky at the top of the forum about a gracenote update? I think something has changed because it takes you to the Here page, where if you put the car details in, it says to go to the dealer.

I can see in that guide that you at some point downloaded that zip file (Honda_AL_EU_Nov2014_V3.ZIP). You wouldn't happen to have the latest version of that?

Thanks

Last edited by derekblankmccoy; 21st April 2018 at 23:00.
derekblankmccoy is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 22nd April 2018, 04:36
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Hi

I haven't tried that link for ages. I'm not surprised it's dead, I'll try again tomorrow on the PC and update the post.

The map update is dealer only and is circa 170 but the Gracenote update is free but all that updates is the music database so when you insert a CD it can display track info.
Kremmen is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 22nd April 2018, 14:17
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
The best I can find is:

https://hondanavi.navigation.com/pag...onda/Home.html

Whether one of these is compatible is anyones guess.


I haven't updated mine for years because I've never used the HDD to store music. I always use a USB stick.
Kremmen is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 22nd April 2018, 16:00
 
Join Date: 21st April 2018
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Ok thanks for clarifying that. And to be 100%, this is the headunit in question:


The Gracenote thing now makes sense, it's just that it was a bit confusing. The sticky says to go to the Navteq site with a link to "NAVTEQ - Maps for your Navigation System". Furthermore, the Gracenote site that exists now which you have linked to earlier mentions "Nokia Here" at the bottom of the page, further confusing things as to whether its maps or audio. But thanks for clarifying.

So at that price, it makes no sense to update what is at best a mediocre headunit. It's almost like they are purposefully trying to make people look for an aftermarket solution, which is what I'm thinking of doing. I'll start a new post fo that, thanks for the info.

Last edited by derekblankmccoy; 22nd April 2018 at 16:05.
derekblankmccoy is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 22nd April 2018, 16:55
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
The BIG issue with going 'off piste' is trying find and connect a unit that integrates with the headunit to display the Honda info, connect to the various steering wheel buttons, etc, etc.

The 8G had a dedicated solution but I'm not sure I've seen a 100% 9G solution, but check back as there may be a post I missed.


FYI the latest Gracenote version I have in stock is November 2014.
That is 'Honda_AL_EU_Nov2014_V3.zip' so the US versions probably won't work.
Kremmen is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2013 Civic Sat Nav vs Google Navigation 1tripz1 Electronics and ICE (9G) 7 17th June 2017 20:15
Satnav SDD Sat Nav Update 2013? Help Please Carson Electronics (8G) 2 11th September 2013 22:30
Sat nav on the 2013 civic Slee Electronics and ICE (9G) 3 6th May 2013 06:24

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome